Month: November 2022


Herriman and Riverton, UT—The Salt Lake County Judicial Nominating Commission has scheduled a meeting on November 30, 2022 to review applications for a justice court judge position that will serve Herriman and Riverton, Utah. The vacancy in Herriman results from the resignation of Judge Paul Farr in April. The vacancy in Riverton results from the retirement of Judge Greg Bown in July. The Commission will begin the meeting at 7:30 a.m. The meeting will be held at the Matheson Courthouse (450 South State Street, SLC, UT 84111).

The early portion of the meeting is scheduled for public comment about issues facing the Utah  judiciary and improvements to the system. Public comments will be accepted from 8:00 a.m. to 8:30 a.m. Following the public comment period, the meeting will be closed to allow commission members to review applications for the vacancy.

Individuals interested in appearing before the commission during the public comment portion of the meeting should contact Amy Hernandez at (801) 578-3809 or to request an appointment.

# # #

Continue Reading


Springville and Mapleton, UT—The Utah County Nominating Commission has selected four nominees for a judicial vacancy that will serve Springville and Mapleton, Utah. The position will replace Judge Sherlynn Fenstermaker who will retire in December.

Following are the nominees followed by place of employment and residence:

• Judge Randy Birch, J.D., Judge of Heber City Justice Court and Pleasant Grove Justice Court, resident of Heber City,

• Shaynie Hunter, J.D., attorney at law, resident of Elk Ridge,

• Judge Eric Jewell, J.D., Judge of Payson City Justice Court and the Santaquin, Genola, and Goshen Justice Court, resident of Payson, and

• Grant Sumsion, J.D., attorney at law, resident of Springville.

A comment period will be held through November 18, 2022. A final candidate will then be selected by Matt Packard, the mayor of Springville, and Dallas Hakes, the mayor of Mapleton, within 30 days. The selection must then be certified by the Utah Judicial Council. To submit written comments about the candidates, please contact Amy Hernandez at

# # #

Continue Reading