Finding Legal Help
You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help.
Como encontrar ayuda legal
Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.
URAP Rule 52 (Rules of Appellate Procedure)
Rule 52. Child welfare appeals.Rule printed on June 3, 2023 at 2:30 am. Go to https://www.utcourts.gov/rules for current rules.
(a) Time for appeal. A notice of appeal from an order in a child welfare proceeding, as defined in Rule 1(f), must be filed within 15 days of the entry of the order appealed from. If the juvenile court enters an order on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the date of entry will be deemed to be the first day following the juvenile court’s entry that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday.
(b) Time for appeal extended by certain motions.
(1) If a party timely files in the trial court any of the following, the time for all parties to appeal from the judgment runs from the entry of the dispositive order:
(A) A motion for judgment under Rule 50(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure;
(B) A motion to amend or make additional findings of fact, whether or not an alteration of the judgment would be required if the motion is granted, under Rule 52(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure;
(C) A motion to alter or amend the judgment under Rule 59 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; or
(D) A motion for a new trial under Rule 59 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure.
(2) A notice of appeal filed after announcement or entry of judgment, but before entry of an order disposing of any motion listed in paragraph (b), will be treated as filed after entry of the order and on the day thereof, except that the notice of appeal is effective to appeal only from the underlying judgment. To appeal from a final order disposing of any motion listed in paragraph (b)(1), a party must file a notice of appeal or an amended notice of appeal within the prescribed time measured from the entry of the order.
(c) Time for cross-appeal. If a timely notice of appeal is filed by a party, any other party may file a notice of appeal within 5 days after the first notice of appeal was filed, or within the time otherwise prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of this rule, whichever period last expires.
(d) Appeals of interlocutory orders. Appeals from interlocutory orders are governed by Rule 5.
The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.