Utah Courts

Pardon our dust!
While we move to a new website design, some pages, like this one, will look like the old website.

If you can't find what you're looking for, try our new website search.

We appreciate your patience while we move everything to the new design.


Finding Legal Help

You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help. 

Como encontrar ayuda legal

Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.

URAP Rule 50 (Rules of Appellate Procedure)


Rule 50. Response; reply.
Rule printed on June 3, 2023 at 2:23 am. Go to https://www.utcourts.gov/rules for current rules.
Effective: 5/1/2022

(a) Response. Within 30 days after a petition for a writ of certiorari is served, any other party may file a response. If the petitioner pays the required filing fee or obtains a waiver of that fee after service, then the time for response will run from the date that obligation is satisfied. The response must comply with Rule 27 and, as applicable, Rule 49. A party opposing a petition may so indicate by letter in lieu of a formal response, but the letter may not include any argument or analysis.

(b) Page limitation. A response must be as short as possible and may not exceed 20 pages, excluding the table of contents, the table of authorities, and the appendix.

(c) Objections to jurisdiction. The court will not accept a motion to dismiss a petition for a writ of certiorari. Objections to the Supreme Court’s jurisdiction to grant the petition may be included in the response.

(d) Reply. A petitioner may file a reply addressed to arguments first raised in the response within 7 days after the response is served, but distribution of the petition and response to the court ordinarily will not be delayed pending the filing of any such reply unless the response includes a new request for relief, such as an award of attorney fees for the response. The reply must be as short as possible, may not exceed five pages, and must comply with Rule 27.

The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.

Page Last modified: 3/29/2022

Return to the top of the page Return to Top

Facebook YouTube Twitter RSS

Close ×