Utah Courts

Pardon our dust! Our website is under construction.
If you can't find what you're looking for, try our new website search or contact our Web Navigator.


Parking closure information for Matheson Courthouse  /  Información sobre el cierre del estacionamiento de Matheson

 

Finding Legal Help

You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help. 

Como encontrar ayuda legal

Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.

UCJA Rule 4-701 (Code of Judicial Administration)

 

Rule 4-701. Failure to Appear.
Rule printed on December 6, 2022 at 6:05 am. Go to https://www.utcourts.gov/rules for current rules.
Effective: 5/12/2020

Intent:

To establish a procedure for handling cases in which the defendant fails to appear and fails to remit a fine.

Applicability:

This rule shall apply to cases in which the defendant’s appearance is not required.

Statement of the Rule:

(1) When a case is filed, the clerk may mail to the defendant a notice indicating the fine amount. If the defendant fails to appear or remit the fine amount within fourteen days after receiving a citation, the clerk may increase the fine amount by $50 and mail the defendant a delinquency notice.

(2) If the defendant fails to appear or remit the fine amount within forty days after receiving a citation, the court may increase the fine amount by $75 and issue a warrant for failure to appear.

(3) If the defendant is a juvenile, the court may issue a bench warrant or order to take the defendant into custody. If a bench warrant is issued, a special designation or "flag" shall be placed on the warrant indicating that the defendant is a juvenile.

(4) If a minor fails to appear in juvenile court on a charge which would constitute an infraction if committed by an adult:

(4)(A) The court shall not issue an Order for Detention.

(4)(B) The court may authorize the probation department to file an order to show cause.


The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.

Page Last modified: 3/29/2022

Return to the top of the page Return to Top

Facebook YouTube Twitter RSS


Close ×