Utah Courts

Pardon our dust!
While we move to a new website design, some pages, like this one, will look like the old website.

If you can't find what you're looking for, try our new website search.

We appreciate your patience while we move everything to the new design.

Parking closure information for Matheson Courthouse  /  Información sobre el cierre del estacionamiento de Matheson


Finding Legal Help

You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help. 

Como encontrar ayuda legal

Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.

UCJA Rule 14-913 (Code of Judicial Administration)


Rule 14-913. Payment of reimbursement.
Rule printed on January 29, 2023 at 8:00 am. Go to https://www.utcourts.gov/rules for current rules.
Effective: 5/1/2019

(a) The Board may, from time to time, fix a maximum amount of reimbursement that is payable by the Fund. Initially, the maximum amount shall be $10,000 per claim and $25,000 total dollars within any given calendar year with regard to an individual lawyer or licensed paralegal practitioner.

(a)(1) There shall be a lifetime claim limit of $425,000 per lawyer or licensed paralegal practitioner.

(b) Claimant shall be reimbursed for losses in amounts to be determined by the Board after recommendations by the Committee. Reimbursement shall not include interest and other incidental and out-of-pocket expenses.

(c) Payment of reimbursement shall be made in such amounts and at such time as the Board approves and may be paid in lump sum or installment amounts. In the event that the Committee determines that there is a substantial likelihood that claims against the lawyer or licensed paralegal practitioner may exceed either the annual or lifetime claim limits, claims may be paid on a pro rata basis or otherwise as the Board and the Committee determine is equitable under the circumstances.

(d) If a claimant is a minor or an incompetent, the reimbursement may be paid to any proper and legally recognized person or authorized entity for the benefit of the claimant.

Advisory Committee Notes

Rule 14-913 Amendment Note: The Bar changed from a calendar year to a fiscal year (July 1 to June 30) in 1990.

The Board approved increasing the yearly per claim award limit from $10,000 to $20,000 and to eliminate the yearly per lawyer claim limit of $25,000 on December 1, 2000.

The Board voted to reinstate the yearly lawyer cap of $25,000 on June 8, 2001.

The Board voted to raise the yearly per lawyer cap to $50,000 from the previously reinstated $25,000 cap on December 7, 2001.

The Board voted to raise the yearly per lawyer cap to $75,000 on October 29, 2010.

The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.

Page Last modified: 3/29/2022

Return to the top of the page Return to Top

Facebook YouTube Twitter RSS

Close ×