Utah Courts

Pardon our dust! Our website is under construction.
If you can't find what you're looking for, try our new website search or contact our Web Navigator.


Parking closure information for Matheson Courthouse  /  Información sobre el cierre del estacionamiento de Matheson

 

Finding Legal Help

You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help. 

Como encontrar ayuda legal

Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.

UCJA Rule 11-566 (Code of Judicial Administration)

 

Rule 11-566. Resignation with discipline pending.
Rule printed on December 3, 2022 at 6:10 am. Go to https://www.utcourts.gov/rules for current rules.
Effective: 12/15/2020

(a) A Respondent may resign by voluntarily relinquishing the Respondent’s license before a pending Complaint is adjudicated only with the Supreme Court’s consent and upon such terms as the Supreme Court may impose for the public’s protection.

(b) The Respondent must submit a petition:

(1) admitting for purposes of the disciplinary proceedings the facts upon which the allegations of misconduct are based;

(2) admitting that the facts constitute grounds for discipline;

(3) stating that the Respondent’s resignation is freely and voluntarily tendered and that it is submitted without coercion or duress;

(4) verifying that the Respondent is fully aware of the implications of submitting the resignation;

(5) acknowledging that the discipline matter, the petition, and the sanction will be available to the public and that a notice of the resignation will be published in the Utah Bar Journal;

(6) agreeing to comply with these rules, including Rule 11-570 regarding notice to clients and return of clients’ property; and

(7) agreeing to comply with other Supreme Court orders.

(c) A copy of the petition must be submitted to the OPC. The OPC may, within 21 days, object to the petition. If the OPC consents to the petition, the Supreme Court will review the petition and enter an appropriate order. If the OPC files a timely objection, the matter will be set for hearing in the district court. Within 14 days after the hearing, the district court will transmit its findings of fact and conclusions of law to the Supreme Court to review and enter an appropriate order.

(d) If the Supreme Court accepts the resignation, it will enter an order specifying the effective date of the resignation. The order may include additional or alternative terms and conditions deemed appropriate, including conditions precedent to relicensure.

(e) A Respondent whose resignation is accepted must comply with Rule 11-591 and may not apply for relicensure until five years after the effective date of the resignation unless the Supreme Court orders otherwise in its order accepting the resignation.


The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.

Page Last modified: 3/29/2022

Return to the top of the page Return to Top

Facebook YouTube Twitter RSS


Close ×