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Katie Gregory - Questions regarding certain Utah Rules of Juvenile Procedure

From: Jantz Afuvai

To: Katie Gregory

Date: 2/19/2009 4:32 PM

Subject: Questions regarding certain Utah Rules of Juvenile Procedure

Hello,

I received your name from Susan Burke regarding questions that I have. I am from the Division of Juvenile Justice
Services and am on the Division's Policy & Procedure Committee.

We are in the process of revising our most confusing D1JS Policy - 05-15 (regarding) Requests by Law Enforcement.
The policy attempts to balance the rights of juveniles in our care and those of the public when Law Enforcement
requests to question (interview or interrogate) juveniles, during an investigation, who happen to be in our care. The
revised policy is focusing on preserving Constitution Rights of juveniles under the age of 14. The problem is confusion
regarding consent and waiving these rights for juveniles 14 or older.

The reason for this email is that our policy makes reference to Utah Rules of Juvenile Procedure, and the Rules
cited appear to contradict one another.

For example:

Rule 8 - Rights of minors while in detention, reads:

£*\o person other than a probation officer or a staff member of a detention facility shall be permitted to interview a child
_'ears of age or older in a detention facility regarding an offense chargeable against the child without the consent of

the child and the child’s parent, guardian or custodian after first advising said child of constitutional rights as described in

Rule 26 and such rights having been knowingly and voluntarily waived by the child.

Conversely, Rule 26 - Right of minors in delinquency proceedings & Rule 27A - Admissibility of statements given by
minors, respectively read:

Rule 26 -

(e) A minor 14 years of age and older is presumed capable of intelligently comprehending and waiving the minor's right
to counsel as above and may do so where the court finds such waiver to be knowing and voluntary, whether the minor's
parent, guardian or custodian is present. A child under 14 years of age may not waive such rights outside of the
presence of the child’s parent, guardian or custodian.

Rule 27A -
(a)(2) If the minor is 14 years of age or older, the minor is presumed capable of knowingly and voluntarily waiving the
minor's rights without the benefit of having a parent, guardian, or legal custodian present during questioning.

Hence the confusion. Rule 8 implies that consent is needed by a parent, guardian, or custodian prior to the juvenile (14
years of age or older only) waiving their Constitutional Rights if interrogated by Law Enforcement. Rules 26 and 27A
indicate otherwise and exclusively imply that the juvenile (14 years of age or older only) is presumed capable of waiving
these rights.

Do you know who I can talk to about this? We are wondering if the Rules, particularly Rule 8, can be amended to
reflect the same implications.

p==ditional contact information is as follows:

801 514-2353 Cell
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801 626-3397 Office

T you,

Jantz Afuvai
Division of Juvenile Justice Services (D1JS)
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N From: Paul Wake
To: Gregory, Katie; Verdoia, Carol
- Date: 4/24/2009 11:04 AM
Subject: Juvenile Rule 27A

Here's a rule we have:

Rule 27A. Admissibility of statements given by minors.

(a) If a minor is in custody for the alleged commission of an offense that would be a crime if committed
by an adult, any statement given by a minor in response to questions asked by a police officer is
inadmissible unless the police officer informed the minor of the minor's rights before questioning begins.
(a)(1) If the child is under 14 years of age, the child is presumed not adequately mature and experienced
to knowingly and voluntarily waive or understand a child's rights unless a parent, guardian, or legal
custodian is present during waiver.

(a)(2) If the minor is 14 years of age or older, the minor is presumed capable of knowingly and
voluntarily waiving the minor's rights without the benefit of having a parent, guardian, or legal custodian
present during questioning.

(b) The presumptions outlined in paragraphs (a)(1) and (a)(2) may be overcome by a preponderance of
the evidence showing the ability or inability of a minor to comprehend and waive the minor's rights.

I was reading it this week while trying to answer a detective's question about whether he could interview
a kid outside the presence of a parent, even if the parent wanted to be present. I noticed that 27A(a)(1)
says that for kids under 14, such kids are presumed incapable of waiving their rights and so any
confession obtained from such a kid probably won't be admissible unless the parents were present "at
waiver." That implies that when the kid waives the right to remain silent, the parent has to be there to
advise the kid, but it doesn't state that the parent has to be there during the questioning itself. However,
I then noticed that in 27A(a)(2), dealing with kids 14 and older being presumed capable of waiving their

P rights, it speaks of them being able to do so without having the parent being present "during
questioning." Those two clauses don't seem congruent. They also raise the possibility that someone
could argue that 27A(a)(1) has to be read in conjunction with 27A(a)(2), so that a parent should be
present during waiver and questioning. I'd guess that isn't the intent of the rule, but that "at waiver"
means "at waiver." What I'm wondering is whether the committee should discuss that to see if 27A(a)(2)
should say "at waiver" also instead of "during questioning"? If we have time at the next meeting, it might
be good to bring up.

Were any delinquency-related rules changed at the last meeting?

Paul Wake
Deputy Utah County Attorney
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Katie Gregory - Rule 8 & 27A

From: Judge Larry Steele

To: Susan Eisenman

Date: 8/17/2009 5:13 PM
Subject: Rule 8 & 27A

CC: Carol Verdoia; Paul Wake

Attachments: 02_12_Reqlnterview.pdf; 09_05ReqInterviewPolicy_Form.pdf; 02_08ReqInterview.pdf;
09_00ReqgInterview.pdf; 09_05ReqInterview.pdf

At our meeting Friday, I mentioned I would send you the "Police Interrogation Request" form that has been submitted
to me throughout the years for signature. I was unable to find it. It appears the form I remember has been replaced
recently by other forms. I was provided a total of 5 sample forms being used here and there - see attached. (I know -
much more than you bargained for.) The one with the policy included was provided to me as the current form. It
would be nice if the form was designed in such a simple way to guide everyone through the legal requirements. I think
that has been attempted.

27A(a) bugs me. It says "if @ minor is in custody" for a crime, you must advise him of his rights. So, if he is not in
custody, we do not have to advise him of his rights??? What do you think? Thanks for you time with the Rules Com.
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DIVISION OF YOUTH CORRECTIONS DETENTION CENTER
INTERROGATION REQUEST FORM

RULE 8: OF THE UTAH JUVENILE COURT PROCEDURES REQUIRES THAT NO PERSON OTHER THAN A PROBATION OFFICER OR A STAFF
MEMBER OF A DETENTION FACILITY BE PERMITTED TO INTERVIEW A MINOR UNDER 14 YEARS OF AGE WITHOUT THE MINOR'S PARENT,
GUARDIAN OR CUSTODIAN PRESENT UNLESS, THE PARENT OR GUARDIAN HAS GIVEN WRITTEN PERMISSION FOR THE INTERVIEW,....
THE PARENT HAS BEEN ADVISED OF THE MINORS CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS,......AND HAS WAIVED SUCH RIGHTS AND THE MINOR HAS
BEEN ADVISED OF HIS CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS, ..., AND HAS INTELLIGENTLY WAIVED SUCH RIGHTS.....

NO PERSON OTHER THAN A PROBATION OFFICER OR A STAFF MEMBER OF A DETENTION FACILITY BE PERMITTED TO INTERVIEW A

MINOR 14 YEARS OF AGF OR OLDER ,.....WITHOUT THE CONSENT OF THE MINOR AND THE MINORS PARENT, GUARDIAN OR CUSTODIAN
AFTER FIRST ADVISING SAID MINOR OF HIS CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS,...... AND SUCH RIGHTS HAVING BEEN INTELLIGENTLY WAIVED BY
THE MINOR......IF THE MINORS PARENT, GUARDIAN OR CUSTODIAN 16 NOT AVAILABLE, AUTHORIZATION SHALL BE OBTAINED FROM THE

COURT BEFORE INTERVIEWING A MINOR IN A DETENTION FACILITY.

RULE 26; OF THE UTAH JUVENILE COURT PROCEDURES REQUIRES THAT A MINOR AGE 14 YEARS OF AGE AND OLDER IS PRESUMED
CAPABLE OF INTELLIGENTLY COMPREHENDING AND WAIVING THE MINORS RIGHT TO COUNSEL,.....AND MAY DO SO WHERE THE COURT
FINDS SUCH WAIVER TO BE KNOWING AND VOLUNTARY, WHETHER THE MINOR’S PARENT, GUARDIAN OR CUSTODIAN 1S PRESENT, A
MINOR UNDER 14 YEARS OF AGE MAY NOT WAIVE SUCH RIGHTS_ QUTSIDE QF THE PRESENCE OF THE MINOR'S PARENT, GUARDIAN OR
CQUSTORIAN, S ‘

RULE 26 PROVIDES FULL DUE PROCESS RIGHTS FOR JUVENILES.... TO REMAIN SILENT AND TO BE ADVISED THAT ANYTHING THE MINOR
SAYS CAN AND WILL BE USED AGAINST THE MINOR......

-JN COMPLIANCE WITH RULES OF THE JUVENILE COURT, COMPLETION OF THIS FORM IS REQIRED OF ANY LAW
ENFORCEMENT OFFICER PRESENTING HIMSELF/HERSELF TO THE DETENTION FACILITY STAFF FOR THE PURPOSE OF

CONDUCTING INTERVIEWS WITH ANY YOUTH DETAINED.

COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING
(PLEASE PRINT)

Name and Badge Number of Officer:

Law Enforcement Agency:

Name of Child:
Has the Youth been advised of their Constitutional Rights: Yes NO,
The following Authorization has been obtained: Check one.

Age of Youth 13 or Under:

Written Permission of: Parent, Legal Guardian Attorney___

Present for the Interview: Parent Legal Guardian Attorney

Written Permission of the Court

Age of Youth 14 or Older:

Written/Verbal Consent to the Interrogation of: Parent_____ _ Legal Guardian

Written/Verbal Consent to the Interrogation of: Attorney.

Officers Signature: Dzte:

Authorized by Split Mountain Youth Center staff; Date:

THIS FORM 15 TO BE PLACE IN THE YOUTHS DETENTION FILE.

-—

e e e : ) December 24, 2002



DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF JUVENILE JUSTICE SERVICES

POLICY AND PROCEDURES
Policy No.: 05-14 Effective Date: 07/05 Revision Date: 05/07/09
Subject: Requests by Law Enforcement
I. Policy Statement

Law enforcement shall be permitted to interrogate juveniles suspected of committing

crime(s) and interview juvenile(s) associated with an investigation. The Division

shall ensure that juveniles under its care are afforded their constitutional rights in
accordance with the Utah Rules of Juvenile Procedure and state statute. Requests for
juvenile photographs and fingerprints, or HIV testing shall be obtained in accordance
with state statute.

IL. Rationale

Division staff have a responsibility, as custodians, to protect the rights of juveniles in

their care and to assist law enforcement.

I11.  Definitions

A. An “Interrogation” is a Law Enforcement action whereby an Officer questions a
juvenile suspected of committing a crime.

B. An “Interview” is a Law Enforcement action whereby an Officer questions any
juvenile having information that a crime has been committed, this includes a
juvenile as a witness.

1V.  Procedures

A. Requests by law enforcement for photographs, fingerprinting, or HIV testing shall
be allowed only after approval is documented, or statutorily authorized, in
accordance with UCA 78A-6-1104 regarding juveniles 14 years of age or older;
and Rule 27 of the Utah Rules of Juvenile Procedures regarding juveniles under
14 years of age.

B. Division staff shall accommodate all Law Enforcement requests to conduct
interrogations of juveniles 14 years of age or older.

C. Division staff shall accommodate all Law Enforcement requests to conduct
interviews of any juvenile.

D. Division staff shall not intentionally or otherwise interview a juvenile, in Division
care, concerning allegations that the juvenile has committed a crime. This shall
be reserved for Law Enforcement. Any information obtained unintentionally
shall be documented in an Incident Report and processed.
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DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF JUVENILE JUSTICE SERVICES
POLICY AND PROCEDURES

Policy No.: 05-14 Effective Date: 07/05 Revision Date: 05/07/09
Subject: Requests by Law Enforcement

E. Division staff shall accommodate Law Enforcement’s requests to interrogate
juveniles, under the age of 14, in accordance with the Utah Rules of Juvenile
Procedure as follows:

1. The juvenile’s parent, guardian, or legal custodian is present during the
interrogation so that the parent, guardian, or custodian can knowingly and
voluntarily waive the juvenile’s constitutional rights; or

2. If the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian is not present during the
interrogation then, prior to the interrogation, Law Enforcement shall provide
Division staff with written permission from the juvenile’s parent, guardian or
custodian that the interrogation can be held outside their presence. Division
staff shall make a copy of the written permission to serve as a record that
consent was obtained in accordance with Rule 8. The Division shall then
presume that Law Enforcement has met all other criteria established by the
Utah Rules of Juvenile Procedure regarding the juveniles under the age of 14;
or

3. Consent to interrogate has been obtained by way of the court. This may be due
to the juvenile’s parent, guardian, or custodian not being available or for any
other reason. A Court Order shall then be submitted to Division staff prior to
the interrogation and serve as a record that consent was obtained in accordance
with the Utah Rule of Juvenile Procedure. In the event that a verbal order from
the court was obtained, Division staff shall document the name of Judge
granting consent on the Interrogation Request Form.

F. Division staff shall complete the Interrogation Request Form prior to allowing the
interrogation of a juvenile under the age of 14. The Interrogation Request Form is
only to be filled out when the juvenile is under the age of 14 and the officer
intends on interrogating the juvenile.

G. Division staff shall cooperate with law enforcement in their investigation of any
alleged law violations.

H. All interrogations and interviews shall be conducted in private areas, and shall not
be monitored by any Division auditory devices.

V. Continuous Renewal

This policy shall be reviewed every three (3) years to determine its effectiveness and
appropriateness. This policy may be reviewed before that time to reflect substantive

change.
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DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES
DIVISION OF JUVENILE JUSTICE SERVICES
POLICY AND PROCEDURES

Policy No.: 05-14 Effective Date: 07/05 Revision Date: 05/07/09
Subject: Requests by Law Enforcement

This policy has been reviewed by the Board of Juvenile Justice Services and is approved
upon the signature of the Director.

/‘ i -&""‘, ’L'/’\“"
!L“" K v 05/07/09

Kirk ). Allen, Chair Signature Date
Board of Juvenile Justice Services

L o 05107109
Dan Maldonado, Director Signature Date
Division of Juvenile Justice Services
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Interrogation Request Form
For Juvenile’s Under the Age of 14

Date:

Officer’s Name:

Badge Number:

Officer’s Agency:

Name of Juvenile: DOB:

Will the juvenile be advised of their Constitutional Rights per Miranda?

Yes No

If yes, how was the juvenile’s consent fo;)
authorized?

Parent, Guardian, or Custodian present during interrogation

O Written permission obtained from Parent, Guardian, or Custodian
O Court Order obtained granting consent
O Verbal Order from the Court obtained granting consent

Name of Judge:
Officer’s Signature: Date:
Division Staff Name: Title:

(Please Print)

Division Staff Signature: ’ Date:
Revised 2009

P&P 05-15



YOUTH CORRECTIONS DETENTION CENTER
INTERROGATION REOUEST FORM

RULE R OF THE UTAH JUVENILL COURT PROCIDURLS KEOUIRES THAT NO PERSON OTHER THAN A
PROBATION OFFICER OR A STATF MEMBLER OF A DETENTION FACILITY BE PERMITTED TO
INTERVIEW A MINOR UNDER 14 YEARS OF AGE WITHOUT THL MINOR'S PARENT, GUARDIAN O
CUSTODIAN PRESENT UNLESS, THE PARERNT OR GUARIIAN HAS GIVEN WEITTEN PERMISSION FOR
THE INTERVIEW, ... THE PARENT HE BEEN ADVISED OF THE MINOIS CORNSTITUTIONAL

RIGHTTS, . AND HAS WAIVED SUCH RIGHTS, ...

NO FPERSON OTHER THAN A FPROBATION OFFICER OR A STAFF MEMBER OF A DETENTION FACILITY
BE FERMITTED TO INTERVIEW A MINOK 14 YEARS OF AGE O OLDER,... WITHOUT THE CONSENT OF
THE MINOR AND THE MINOR'S PARENT, GUAKDIAN Ok CUSTODIAN AFTER FIRST ADVISING SAID
MINOR OF HIS CONSTITUTIONAL JIGHTS,.. .AND SUCH IUGHTS HAVING BEEN INTELLIGENTLY
WATVED BY THE MINOR,....TF THE MINOR'S PARENT, GUARDIAN OR CUSTODIAN IS NOT AVAILABLE,
AUTHORIZATION SHALL BE OBTAINED FROM THE COURT BEFORE INTERVIEWING A MINOR IN A
DETENTION FACILITY. ’

RULE 26: OF THE UTAH JUVENILE COURT PROCEDURES REQUIRES THAT A MINOR AGE 14 YEARS OF
AGE AND OLDER IS PRESUMED CAPABLE OF INTELLIGENTLY COMPREHENDING AND WAIVING THE
MINOR'S RIGHT TO COUNSEL,....AND MAY DO SO WHERE THE COURT FINDS SUCH WAIVER TO
NKNOWING AND VOULUNTARY, WHETHER THE MINOR'S PARENT, GUARDIAN OR CUSTODIJAN 15
PRESENT. A MINOR UNDER 14 YERS OF AGE MAY NOT WAIVE SUCH RIGHTS OUTSIDE.OF THE
PRESENCE OF THE MINOR'S PARENT. CUARDIAN OR CUSTODIAN.

RULE 26 PROVIDES FULL DUE PROCESS RIGHTS FOR JUVENILES,...TO REMAIN SILENT AND TO BE
ADVISED THAT ANYTHING THE MINOR SAYS CAN AND WILL BE USE AGAINST THE MINOR.

IN COMPLIANCE WITH RULES OF THE JUVENILE COURT, COMPLETION OF THIS FORM 1S REQUIRED
OF ANY LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER PRESENTING HIMSELF/HERSELF TO THE DETENTION FACILITY
STAFF FOR THE PURPOSE OF CONDUCTING INTERVIEWS WITH ANY YOUTH DETATNED.

COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING (PLEASE PRINT)

Name, Badge Number and Law Enforcement Agency of Officer:

Name of Child: 7 e .
Has the Youth been advised of their Constitutional Rights: (Miranda) Yes No

The following Authorization has been ohtained:  Check One.

1 Ape ol Youth 33 or Under:
Written Permission of: Parent Legal Guardian Attorney

Present for the Interview: Parent Legal Guardian Attorney
Written Permission of the Caurd

Ace ol Youth 14 or Older:
Written/Verbal Consent of: Parcnt Legal Guardian Attorney
I'resent for the Interview: Parent _ Leaal Guardian Altorney
____ Writien/Verhal Permission of the Court

Officer's Signature: e Doter _____ .

Authorized By Detention Stafl Member: Date: . |
’ P

Reference P&P 3.07
Revised 0802



YOUTH CORRECTIONS DETENTION CENTER
INTERROGATION REOUEST FORM

RULE &: OF THE UTAH JUVENILL COURT PROCIDURLS REQUIRES THAT NO PERSON OTHER THAN A
PROBATION QFFICER OR A STAFF MEMBER OF A DETENTION FACILITY BE PERMITTED TO
INTERVIEW A MINOR LUNDER 14 YEARS OF AGE WITHOUT THL MINOR'S PARENT, GUARDIAN O
CUSTODIAN PRESENT UNLESS, THE PARENT OR GUARIAN HAL GIVERN WESTTEN PERMISSION TFOR
THE INTERVIEW, ... THE FARENT M5 BEEN ADVISED QF THE MIHOR™S CORNSTITUTIONAL
IKIGHTS . AND FHAS WAIVED SUCH 1IGHTS, ...

NO FERSON OTHER THAN A PROBATION OFFICER O A STAFF MEMBER OF A DETENTION FACILITY
BE PERMITTED TO iNTERVIEW A MINOR 14 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER,... WITHOUT THE CONSENT OF
THE MINOR AND THE MINOR'S FAKRENT, GUARDIAN Ok CUSTODIAN AFTER FIRST ADVISING SAID
MINOR OF HIS CONSTITUTIONAL FIGHTS,... AND SUCH RIGHTS HAVING BEEN INTELLIGENTLY
WATVED BY THE MINOR,....1F THE MINOR'S PARENT, GUARDIAN OR CUSTODIAN IS NOT AVAILABLE,
AUTHORIZATION SHALL BE OBTAINED FROM THE COURT BEFORE INTERVIEWING A MINOR IN A
. DETENTION FACILITY. ’

RULE 26: OF THE UTAH JUVENILE COURT PROCEDURES REQUIRES THAT A MINOR AGE 14 YEARS OF
AGE AND OLDER IS PRESUMED CAPABLE CF JNTELLIGENTLY COMPREHENDING AND WAIVING THE
MINOR’S RIGHT TO COUNSEL,....AND MAY DO SO WHERE THE COURT FINDS SUCH WAIVER TO
KNOWING AND VOULUNTARY, WHETHER THE MINOR'S PARENT, GUARDIAN OR CUSTODIAN 15
PRESENT. A MINOR UNDER 14 YERS OF AGE MAY NOT WAIVE SUCH RIGHTS OUTSIDE OF THE
PRESENCE OF THE MINOR'S PARENT. CUARDIAN OR CUSTODIAN.

RULE 26 PROVIDES FULL DUE PROCESS FIGHTS FOR JUVENILES,...TO REMAIN SILENT AND TO BE
ADVISED THAT ANYTHING THE MINOR SAYS CAN AND WILL BE USE AGAINST THE MINOR.

IN COMPLIANCE WITH RULES OF THE JUVENILE COURT, COMPLETION OF THIS FORM IS REQUIRED
OF ANY LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICER PRESENTING HIMSELF/HERSELF TO THE DETENTION FACILITY
STAFF FOR THE PURPOSE OF CONDUCTING INTERVIEWS WITH ANY YOUTH DETAINED.

COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING (PLEASE PRI.NT)

Name, Badge Number and Law Enforcement Agency of Officer:

Name of Child: e _—
Has the Youth been sdvised of their Constitutional Rights: (Miranda) Yes No

The following Authorization has been obtained:  Check One.

1 Age of Youth 33 or Under:
Written Permission of: Parent Legal Guardian Attorney
Present for the Interview: Parent Legal Guardian Attorney
Written Perniission of the Court

Acc of Youth 14 or Older:

7 Written/Nerbat Consent of: Parcnt Legal Guardian Attorney
I'resent far the Interview: Parent __ Legal Guardian Attorney
Writien/Verhal Permission of the Court

Officer’s Signature: e Date: .
Authorized By Detention Stafl Member: | Date:, . . .o
4 P

Reference P&P 3.07
Revised 0802



8% DISTRICT JUVENILE COURT
LAW ENFORCEMENT INTERROGATION REQUEST
MINOR CHARGED WITH A CRIME
Date:

OFFICER’S NAME:
LAW ENFORCEMENT AGENCY':

YOUTH TO BE VISITED:
Check below the proper authorization 10 question the above-named youth, as required by Rule 8, Juvenile

Rules of Procedure:
____Theyouth is ]3 years old or under.
1 have met one of the following requirements:
1 have obtained the written permission of parent, legal guardian or custodian
(permission attached); or
the interview shall be in the presence of the parent, Jegal guardian or custodian;
and
1 have or will advise the parent, guardian or custodian of the minor’s constitution rights
under Rule 26(a) and have or will obtain a knowing and voluntary waiver from the parent, guardian or

custodian; and
I have or will advise the minor of the minor’s constitution rights under Rule 26(a) and

have or will obtain a knowing and voluntary waiver from the minor.

The youth is ]4 years old or older:
1 have or will advise the minor of the minor’s constitution rights under Rule 26(a) and

have or will obtain a2 knowing and voluntary waiver from the minor; and
After having advised the minor of his rights as stated above, 1 have .or will obtain the

knowing and voluntary consent of the minor; and
1 have met one of the following requirements:
After having advised the minor of his rights as stated above, ] have or will obtain

the knowing and voluntary consent of the parent, legal guardian or custodian of the minor;
1 have made reasonable efforts to contact the parent, legal guardian or custodian

and the same is not available 1o provide consent. ] request the Juvenile Court provide consent to interview

the minor while in the detention center.

Consent to interview the minor in detention is given:

Signature of Questioning Officer Signature of Parent, Lega! Guardian,
Attorney or Juvenile Court Judge

file: police inierview request May S, 2009



MEMORANDUM

To: Juvenile Rules Committee Members
From: Paul Wake
SuBJECT: Rule 8 Revision
DATE: October 26, 2009

At our last meeting we discussed a JJS employee’s concerns regarding Rule 8 (rights in
detention regarding getting a phone call, being interviewed, etc.), Rule 26 (rights in general of
anyone referred to juvenile court), and Rule 27A (admissibility of statements given by minors)
possibly being in conflict. I didn’t think these rules were in conflict to the degree the JJS person
thought, and having since looked over a number of detention waiver forms related to police
interviews—each of which was legally inaccurate and some of which were confusing as well—I
think someone at JJS might need to talk to Susan before doing independent legal analysis and
drafting. But that’s neither here nor there.

We discussed a trap created by the difference between Rule 8 and Rule 27A. Setting
aside the question of whether our court procedural rules should be setting JJS detention policy or
creating exclusionary rules of evidence governing police interviews on the street, that trap
involves the fact that on the street under Rule 27A, for kids under 14, their parents are supposed
to be present at waiver if the kids waive their right to remain silent and get an attorney, and if
instead they agree to talk to the police (the parent doesn’t have to be present during the interview
itself). However, in detention under Rule 8, for kids under 14 being interviewed about their own
offenses, the parent is supposed to be present during the waiver and the interview, but the parent
can opt to give written permission instead of being physically present. What this adds up to is
that if an officer reads Rule 8 and dutifully gets a parent’s written consent to interview a child in
detention, what the kid says might not be admissible under Rule 27A. Since it makes no sense to
have confusing rules, I was told to draft language to add to Rule 8 that would essentially cross
reference, or point out, Rule 27A.

As I have thought about that, it bothers me. It seems to me that we should just fix the
rules themselves by making them more coherent rather than including cross references so that
people can try to figure out for themselves how to keep things somewhat congruent. One way to
do that would be by adding a written permission clause to the under age 14 part of Rule 27A so
that the street rule is not more restrictive than the detention rule. One thing we should not be
doing as a procedural committee is inventing rights that do not exist elsewhere, much less
instituting them in ways that do not make sense (as by asserting that a kid on the street somehow
has a “right” to have his parent give waiver consent in person rather than in writing).

However, since I was commanded by duly constituted lawful authority to draft a
provision, here is a stab at it: “8(f) Admissibility of statements given by minors is also governed
by Rule 27A.” (Our rules don’t have a consistent method of referring to other juvenile rules;
usually they say “Rule #,” but occasionally they say “Utah R. Juv. P. #£.”)
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“{7/6/20710] Katie Gregory - URJP Commitiee | R

From: Paul Wake

o To: Gregory, Katie; Verdoia, Carol
Date: 3/23/2010 8:31 AM
Subject: URJP Committee

I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss with the committee whether there should be a juvenile rule
similar to, or referencing, the new criminal rule 15A. Following United States v. Melendez-Diaz, the
legislature this year ran HB 251, but before they passed it the Utah Supreme Court quickly produced this
brand new criminal rule, Rule 15A (see http://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/approved/2010-
02/URCrP015A.pdf). With that rule in place, the legislature figured the problem was fixed, and it dropped
HB 251. Criminal Rule 15A basically says that the prosecution doesn't have to bring into court each and
every person who ever handled a bit of evidence sent to the crime lab, but can instead rely on the
toxicology report, unless the defense gives timely notice in advance of trial that it wants all those people
at trial to establish chain of custody or the accuracy of the report or whatever. It's nice that the adult
system has a fix for the problem, but it occurred to me that in the delinquency realm, we don't have the
same fix. I'm wondering if we should. Thanks.

Paul Wake
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Rule 15A. Scientific, Lab, and Analytical Reports - When prosecution required to produce
#™dation and chain of custody witnesses.

.a) In all prosecutions in which an analysis of a controlled substance or other evidentiary sample is
conducted, a sworn copy of the analytical report signed by the director of the laboratory or the
analyst, technician, or forensic scientist conducting the analysis, shall be admitted as prima facie
evidence of the report's contents and conclusions and of the chain of custody pertaining to any
sample tested.

(b) The defendant may, however, require that the prosecution produce the preparer of the report
or chain-of-custody witnesses for cross-examination at trial by filing a written demand with the court
and the prosecutor no less than 30 days before trial or 15 days after receiving the report, whichever is
later. The court shall extend the demand time for good cause shown.

(c) If a written demand is filed, the prosecution shall be entitled to a continuance upon a showing
that the prosecution, despite reasonable efforts, is unable to procure the attendance at trial of the
preparer of the report or chain-of-custody witnesses. The time within which a trial is required to begin .
shall be extended by the length of the continuance.

(d) Failure to timely file a written demand waives the defendant's right to challenge the
admissibility of the report or the sample’s chain of custody on the ground that the prosecution did not
call the preparer of the report or chain-of-custody witnesses.

http://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urcrp/URCRP1 5A html 7/7/2010
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