JUDICIAL COUNCIL MEETING

Minutes

February 11, 2022 Meeting held through Webex

12:00 p.m. – 12:10 p.m.

Chief Justice Matthew B. Durrant, Presiding

Committee Members:

Hon. Todd Shaughnessy, Vice Chair

Hon. Samuel Chiara

Hon. Augustus Chin

Hon. Ryan Evershed

Hon. Paul Farr

Hon. Michelle Heward

Hon. Mark May

Hon. David Mortensen

Hon. Kara Pettit

Hon. Derek Pullan

Excused:

Chief Justice Matthew B. Durrant, Chair

Hon. Keith Barnes

Hon. David Connors

Justice Paige Petersen

Margaret Plane, esq.

Hon. Brook Sessions

Michael Drechsel

AOC Staff:

Ron Gordon

Cathy Dupont

Neira Siaperas

Jeni Wood

Guests:

Kim Brock, TCE Third District Court

Hon. Michael DiReda, Second District Court

Hon. Noel Hyde, Second District Court

Russ Pearson, TCE Eighth District Court

Larry Webster, TCE Second District Court

1. WELCOME: (Chief Justice Matthew B. Durrant)

Judge Todd Shaughnessy welcomed everyone to the meeting. Chief Justice Matthew B. Durrant was unable to attend.

2. APPROVAL OF SECOND DISTRICT COURT COMMISSIONER: (Judge Michael DiReda and Larry Webster)

Judge Shaughnessy welcomed Judge Michael DiReda and Larry Webster. After discussion and review of the applicants, the Second District Court bench voted to nominate Julie Winkler for approval by the Judicial Council. Ms. Winkler is highly respected for her legal service work. Judge Michelle Heward felt Ms. Winkler was very qualified for this position, given her past workload.

Judge Shaughnessy thanked Judge DiReda and Mr. Webster.

<u>Motion</u>: Judge Heward moved to approve Julie Winkler as the new Second District Court Commissioner. Judge Augustus Chin seconded the motion, and it passed unanimously.

3. ADJOURN

The meeting adjourned.