

Administrative Office of the Courts

Chief Justice Matthew B. Durrant Utah Supreme Court Chair, Utah Judicial Council

June 6, 2023

Ronald B. Gordon, Jr.
State Court Administrator
Neira Siaperas
Deputy State Court Administrator

MEMORANDUM

TO: Forms Committee

FROM: Nathanael Player

RE: Sexual Violence Protective Orders

More thoughtful consideration is warranted regarding recent changes to the Sexual Violence Protective Order forms. The Committee voted electronically to remove the requirement in the request and findings/order that the person receiving protection be at least 18 years old; the revised forms now say that the petitioner seeks protection for themselves. This change was recommended by the Legal Aid Society after a review of the relevant statutes. Since then, Amy Hernandez, the domestic violence program coordinator for the courts, provided me with a memo from general counsel's office that suggests this change was incorrect. I recommend that the Sexual Violence Protective Order forms be changed to mirror the language in the statute to avoid having this body make an unnecessary legal interpretation (see attached). I also recommend that the Family Law Subcommittee be tasked with considering revisions to the child protective orders to make clear that a minor can seek a protective order for themselves.

The relevant text of general counsel's memo is below:

An individual alleging to be the victim of a crime of sexual violence under Utah Code 78B-7-503, may seek a sexual violence protective order so long as they are neither a cohabitant or dating partner of the respondent, nor are seeking the protective order *on behalf of a child*. Though ambiguity exists in this part of the statute about the proper definition of a "child," the Utah Code resolves this ambiguity under Section 78B-7-2, "Child Protective Orders." In that section, the term "child" is not expressly defined, but the section does adopt the definition of "child" as provided in Section 80-1-102, which states, "'Child' means an individual who is under 18 years old." U.C.A. 80-1-102(7). Thus, an individual seeking a protective order on behalf of a child may look to that Section instead of Section 78B-7-503.

Moreover, an individual seeking a protective order on behalf of a child victim of sexual violence or sexual abuse may do so pursuant to 78B-7-803, which adopts the same definition of "child" from Section 80-1-102. This appears to be an attempt by the legislature

The mission of the Utah judiciary is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.

to broaden the ability of child victims of sexual violence or abuse to seek protective orders under both Section 78B-7-202 and Section 78B-7-803, while restricting the availability of sexual violence protective orders under Section 78B-7-503 to people who are older than 18 and are neither a cohabitant (which includes individuals 16 years of age and older) or a dating partner (which includes individuals 18 years of age and older). Therefore, for purposes of determining the age of a "child" under the statute, the Courts should not grant protective orders under Section 78B-7-503 to petitioners seeking such orders on behalf of an individual younger than 18 years of age.

This interpretation leaves no room for someone under 18 to obtain a civil protective order for themselves when they have been sexually abused by their parent, stepparent, guardian, or custodian. The chart below explains by listing all the possible civil protective orders and listing their relevant qualifying criteria.

Type of order	Statutory authority	Relevant qualifying criteria
Child protective order	Title 78B, Chapter 7, Part 2	78B-7-202(1) allows any interested person to file a petition for a protective order, but requires either imminent danger of abuse (by anyone) or prior abuse, but only by an individual who is not the child's parent, stepparent, guardian, or custodian.
Dating violence	Title 78B, Chapter 7, Part 4	78B-7-403(1) requires there to be abuse or dating violence by a "dating partner," which is defined in Utah Code 78B-7-102(11) to mean "a social relationship of a romantic or intimate nature, or a relationship which has romance or intimacy as a goal by one or both parties, regardless of whether the relationship involves sexual intimacy."
Sexual violence	Title 78B, Chapter 7, Part 5	78B-7-503 requires that an individual has been subjected to sexual violence and is neither a cohabitant nor dating partner of the respondent; the order may not be sought on behalf of a child.
Cohabitant	Title 78B, Chapter 7, Part 6	78B-7-602 limits this order to a cohabitant. "Cohabitant" is defined in Utah Code 78B-7-102(5) to include an individual who is 16 years old or older who has some other relationship with the other party. The definition does not include, among other things, the relationship of a natural parent, adoptive parent, or step-parent to a minor.

The legislative history of the bill that provides for Sexual Violence Protective Orders, HB 100 of the 2019 legislative session, provides some insight into this question. The bill was discussed in several committee meetings. At the House Judiciary Committee meeting on February 8, 2019, Representative Snow explained that the bill was meant to close a gap in the availability of protective orders. Stewart Ralphs raised concerns at the meeting about filing a request on behalf of the minor child of the respondent because those can be handled with either a cohabitant protective order or a child protective order, but he noted that instances of sexual violence that do not involve the minor child of the respondent would be appropriate for a sexual violence protective order. At the House Judiciary Committee meeting on February 12, 2019, Stewart

Ralphs suggested to the committee that child protective orders should cover instances involving children. At the House Judiciary Committee meeting of February 15, 2019, Representative Snow said that language in the bill specifically excludes domestic cases involving a minor child and said that a minor child would be expected to proceed under a child protective order. At the Senate Judiciary, Law Enforcement, and Criminal Justice Committee meeting of March 6, 2019, Representative Snow made clear that the intent of the bill was to close a gap and make protective orders available to people who otherwise had no recourse. Representative Snow also made clear that the intent was to make this process available civilly, to not require a victim to wait for a prosecutor to investigate the case and open a criminal protective order.

Although there appears to be gap under general counsel's interpretation involving a minor seeking protection from sexual abuse by their parent, stepparent, guardian, or custodian, this issue came up for the Legal Aid Society in a different context. In that case, a minor sought a sexual violence protective order against someone who attempted to rape her. It is not clear, but it appears in that case, the minor did not want to ask her parents for help in seeking a child protective order. Although our child protective order forms do not say so explicitly, they suggest that a minor cannot seek a child protective order for themselves. Paragraph one of the Verified Petition for Ex Parte Child Protective Order says "Petitioner is seeking a protective order on behalf of the following children." Other questions throughout the petition discuss children in a similar manner, creating the suggestion that a minor cannot request protection for themselves. However, Utah Code 78B-7-202 allows "any interested person" to file for a child protective order, which arguably means a child could seek protection for themselves.

The Forms Committee can sidestep these issues by making the language in the Sexual Violence Protective Order forms adhere to the language in the statute and considering future revisions to the child protective order forms.

	This is a private record.
Name	
Address (omit if safeguarded)	
City, State, Zip (omit if safeguarded)	
Phone (omit if safeguarded)	
Email (omit if safeguarded)	
I am [] Petitioner [] Petitioner's Attorney	(Utah Bar #:)
In the District	Court of Utah
Judicial District	County
Court Address	
Petitioner (person asking for protection)	Request for Sexual Violence Protective Order (Utah Code 78B-7-501 et seq.)
v.	Case Number
Respondent	Judge
	Commissioner

- 1. I am seeking a sexual violence protective order for myselfam not seeking this protective order on behalf of a child.
- 2. I am not a cohabitant of the respondent.
- 3. I am not a dating partner of the respondent.

Description of abuse

(Utah Code 76-5-401 et seq., 76-5b-201 et seq., 76-5-308, 76-5-310)

4. The respondent has committed or has tried to commit sexual violence against me.

Sexual violence includes:

- Rape
- Object rape
- Sodomy

- Forcible sodomy
- Forcible sexual abuse
- Aggravated sexual assault

- Custodial sexual relations
- Custodial sexual misconduct
- Indecent liberties
- Sexual exploitation of a vulnerable adult or a child
- Distribution of an intimate image

- Sexual extortion
- Human trafficking for forced sexual exploitation
- Aggravated human trafficking for forced sexual exploitation

b.	Where did it happen? (Street, city and state.):
C.	Describe the sexual violence (Attach additional sheets if needed.):
d.	Did the police come? [] Yes [] No
e.	If the police came,
	Which police department came?
	Was anyone arrested? [] Yes [] No
	If yes, who was arrested?
_	Provide police case number if known:
f.	Did respondent use or threaten to use a gun or other weapon?
	[] Yes [] No (If yes, describe the weapons the respondent owns and how they w

g.	Have charges been filed in any court?
	[] Yes.
	Court case number (if known):
	Court name (for example, Sanpete District Court, Taylorsville Justice Court):
	[] No.
	[] I don't know.
h.	Other facts:
D	escribe past sexual violence involving the respondent (if any):
a.	When did it happen? (Date.):
b.	Where did it happen? (Street, city and state.):
C.	Describe the sexual violence (Attach additional sheets if needed.):
	-
d.	Did the police come? [] Yes [] No
e.	If the police came,
	Which police department came?
	Was anyone arrested? [] Yes [] No

	If yes, who was arrested?
•	Provide police case number if known:
f. Di	d respondent use or threaten to use a gun or other weapon?
[]	Yes [] No (If yes, describe the weapons the respondent owns and how they were used against you.):
_	
g. Ha	ave charges been filed in any court?
[]] Yes.
	Court case number (if known):
	Court name (for example, Sanpete District Court, Taylorsville Justice Court):
[]] No.
[]] I don't know.
h. Ot	her facts:
Resp	ondent and I:
[]	work at the same place.
[]	go to the same school.
[]	attend the same place of worship.
	e information the court should consider about potential or necessary interactions with ondent at the places listed above.)

7.

8.	Respondent and one or more of the people listed in paragraph 9 below:						
	[] work at the same place.						
	[] go to the same school.						
	[] attend the same place of worship.						
	(List the person and what the court should know about potential or necessary interactions between the person and the respondent at the places listed above.)						
	·						
Req	ast						
	the court to:						
•	Grant the temporary orders I have marked below.						
•	Schedule a hearing to be held within 20 days.						
•	After the hearing, make the temporary orders permanent.						
(Cho	se all that apply.)						
9.	[] Personal conduct						
	Order respondent not to commit, try to commit, or threaten to commit any form of sexual violence against me or the people listed below.						
	Other people protected by this section (Relatives or people who live with me.):						
	Name Age Relationship to petitioner						

10. [] No contact

Order respondent not to contact, phone, text, mail, e-mail, or communicate with me and the people listed in paragraph 9 in any way, either directly or indirectly.

11. [] Stay away	
[] Stay at least	(distance) from me.
[] Stay away from:	
[] my home	
[] my work	
[] my school	
[] my place of worship	
[] other:	
[] Stay away from the people listed in school, and place of worship and the	
[] Other (specify):	
12. [] No weapons	
Order respondent not to use, possess, have	•
I understand it is a serious crime to lie to get I lie, I can be charged with a class A misdemeand	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •
I declare under criminal penalty under the law of Utah that	everything stated in this document is true.
Signed at	(city, and state or country).
Signature ▶	
Date	
_	

Judicial District _	County
Court Address	
	Temporary Sexual Violence Protective Order (Utah Code 78B-7-501 et seq.)
Petitioner	Ex Parte Order
V. Respondent	Case Number
tospondont	Judge
	Commissioner

- protective order on behalf of a child.
- 2. It has jurisdiction over the parties in this case.
- 3. Respondent and petitioner are not cohabitants or dating partners.
- 4. Petitioner has been subjected to sexual violence by the respondent.

The court orders:

Respondent must obey all orders initialed below. Violation of this order is a criminal Class A Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a fine.

5. [] **Personal Conduct**

Respondent may not commit, try to commit, or threaten to commit sexual violence against the petitioner or any person listed below.

Other people protected by this section (relatives or people who live with petitioner):

Name	Age	Relationship to petitioner

[]	No Contact Order Respondent must not contact, phone, text, mail, e-mail, or communicany way with the Petitioner and the people listed in paragraph 5 of the
r	,	order either directly or indirectly.
	J	Stay Away Order [] a. Stay at least (distance) from petition
		[] b. Stay away from petitioner's
		Comply with the following restrictions while at respondent's a petitioner's Work: School:
		Place of worship:
		[] d. Stay away from the people listed in paragraph 5 at their hon work, school, and place of worship and the following other p

	[]e.		owing restrictions while at the work, school, that respondent and the people in paragraph
	[] f.	Other (specify):	
8. []	No We	apons	
		respondent's use or poof of harm to the petition	s clear and convincing evidence that ossession of a firearm poses a serious threat er and the people listed in paragraph 5. ossess, have, or buy a firearm.
	 	poses a serious threat	spondent's use or possession of a weapon of harm to petitioner and the people listed in lent cannot possess, have, or buy any of
Notice to re	sponde	nt:	
		•	urt can change it. You can tell your side at you can be arrested, fined, and face other
This order la	sts until	the hearing on the foll	owing date and time:
Courthouse	Address	(Dirección del tribunal):	
Date (Fecha):			[] a.m. [] p.m.
Room (Sala):			-
Judge or Co	mmissio	ner (Juez o Comisionado)):
Attendance You must att		ou do not attend,	Asistencia Presentarse es obligatorio. Si usted no

you might be held in contempt of court and the relief requested might be granted. You have the right to be represented by a lawyer.

Evidence

Bring with you any evidence that you want the court to consider.

Interpretation

If you do not speak or understand English, the court will provide an interpreter. Contact court staff immediately to ask for an interpreter.

ADA Accommodation

If you need an accommodation, including an ASL interpreter, contact court staff immediately to ask for an accommodation.

Finding help

The court's Finding Legal Help web page (www.utcourts.gov/howto/legalassist/) provides information about the ways you can get legal help, including the Self-Help Center, reduced-fee attorneys, limited legal help and free legal clinics.

llegara a presentarse, se lo podría encontrar en desacato de las órdenes del juez y la reparación solicitada podría ser otorgada. Usted tiene el derecho de que lo represente un abogado.

Pruebas

Traiga con usted cualquier prueba que quiera que el tribunal tome en cuenta.

Interpretación

Si usted no habla ni entiende el Inglés el tribunal le proveeré un intérprete. Contacte a un empleado del tribunal inmediatamente para pedir un intérprete.

Adaptación o Arreglo en Caso de Discapacidad

Si usted requiere una adaptación o arreglo, que incluye un intérprete de la lengua de signos americana, contacte a un empleado del tribunal inmediatamente para pedir una adaptación.

Cómo encontrar ayuda legal

La página de la internet del tribunal Cómo encontrar ayuda legal (www.utcourts.gov/howto/legalassist/index-sp.html/) tiene información sobre algunas maneras de encontrar ayuda legal, incluyendo el Centro de Ayuda de los Tribunales de Utah, abogados que ofrecen descuentos u ofrecen ayuda legal limitada, y talleres legales gratuitos.

Commissioner's or Judge's signature may instead appear at the top of the first page of this document.

	Signature ▶	
Date	Commissioner	
	Signature ▶	
Date	 Judge _	
	- Gaage _	

In the District C	ourt of Utah
Judicial District _	County
Court Address	
	Sexual Violence Protective Order (Utah Code 78B-7-501 et seq.)
Petitioner V.	Case Number
Respondent	Judge
	Commissioner
A hearing was held on notice and an opportunity to be heard at the h	(date). Respondent was given nearing.
The following people were present at the hea	ring:
[] Petitioner	(12.012.2)
[] Petitioner's attorney [] Respondent	(name).
[] Respondent's attorney	(name).
The court reviewed the Request for Sexual V apply.):	iolence Protective Order and (Choose all that
[] received argument and evidence	
[] accepted the stipulation of the parties	
[] entered the default of respondent for fail	ure to appear
[] finds that sexual violence has occurred.	
and makes the orders initialed below.	

- The court finds by a preponderance of the evidence:
- 1. Petitioner seeks this order for their own protection. is not seeking this protective order on behalf of a child.
- 2. It has jurisdiction over the parties in this case.
- 3. Respondent and petitioner are not cohabitants or dating partners.

4.	Petitioner has been subjected to sexua	al violen	ce by the respondent	
The c	ourt orders:			
Respo	ondent must obey all provisions initialed	l below.		
	This protective order expir	es in th	ree years, on	
			_ (date)	
	Petitioner can file a motion to extended expires. (Utah Code			
	ion of this order is a criminal Class A Mi and a fine.	isdemea	anor, punishable by u	p to 364 days
5.	[] Personal conduct Respondent may not commit, try to co sexual violence against the petitioner of the people protected by this section.	or any p	erson listed below.	•
	Name	Age	Relationship to p	etitioner
6.	[] No contact order Respondent may not contact, phone, to way with the Petitioner and the people directly or indirectly.			•
7.	[] Stay away order			
	[] a. Stay at least		(distance) fr	om petitioner.
	[] b. Stay away from petitior [] home [] work [] school	ner's		

	[] place of worship
	[] other:
[]c.	Must comply with the following restrictions while at respondent's and petitioner's
Wo	ork:
Sc	hool:
Dia	ace of worship:
Гю	ace of worship.
[] d.	Stay away from the people listed in paragraph 5 at their home, work, school, and place of worship and the following other places:
[]e.	Must comply with the following restrictions while at the work, school, and place of worship that respondent and the people in paragraph 5 have in common:
[] f.	Other (specify):
[] No weap	ons
	The court finds there is clear and convincing evidence that espondent's use or possession of a firearm poses a serious threat

8.

	of harm to the petitioner and the people listed in paragraph 5. Respondent cannot possess, have, or buy a firearm.
	The court finds that respondent's use or possession of a weapon poses a serious threat of harm to petitioner and the people listed in paragraph 5. Respondent cannot possess, have, or buy any of these weapons:
possess	dent may be subject to state or federal law making it a crime to , transport, ship or receive any firearm or ammunition, including a weapon.
gave rise to this order 322, 108 Stat. 1796. District of Columbia,	forded both notice and opportunity to be heard in the hearing that er. Pursuant to the Violence Against Women Act of 1994, P.L. 103-, 18 U.S.C. Sec. 2265, this order is valid in all the United States, the tribal lands, and United States territories. This order complies with the Enforcement of Domestic Violence Protection Orders Act.
	— The court completes this section —
Judge or commissioner's	s signature may instead appear at the top of the first page of this document.
	Signature ▶
Date	Commissioner
	Signature ▶
Date	Judge
	— Respondent completes this section —
	pondent approves the form, and accepts service of this discussion discussion.
Respondent's Address	S
Respondent's Signatu	re ▶

Date

Date

Name			
Address (o	omit if safeguarded)		
City, State	, Zip (omit if safeguarded)		
Phone (or	nit if safeguarded)		
Email (omi	t if safeguarded)		
`		titioner's Attorne	y (Utah Bar #:
	In t	he District Co	urt of Utah
	Judio	cial District	County
Cou	rt Address		
			Petition for Workplace Violence Protective Order (Utah Code 78B-7-1102 and 1103)
Petitione	er (person asking for protection)		(0.000)
V.			Case Number
Respond	dent		Judge
			Commissioner
Partie	es .		
1.	Name of business or organization		
	Seeks a Workplace Violer	nce Protective	Order against (name of the respondent):
	First name		
	Middle name(s) (if any)		
	Surname		

Commented [NP1]: CJA 14-802 says only persons who are active licensed Bar members may engage in the practice of law, which includes representing the interests of another person. Aside from a DBA, most businesses and organizations will have to be represented by counsel. Nevertheless, I decided to keep this and added space to clarify this in paragraph 1.

You all might consider whether to ask the Supreme Court to add an exception to the definition of the practice of law to 14-802 for the limited purposes of seeking a Workplace Violence Protective Order

Commented [NP2]: CJA 15-701(q) (which lists the types of actions in which LPPs are allowed to practice) is specific to cohabitant abuse and civil stalking injunctions. Workplace violence protective orders are thus excluded from the scope of LPP practice

2.	The business or organization is an employer. I am either the sole proprietor or am authorized to seek this Workplace Violence Protective Order on behalf of the business or organization.
3.	The respondent committed workplace violence. The respondent knowingly caused or threatened to cause bodily injury or significant property damage to (choose all that apply):
	[] the business or organization.
	[] The following employees of the business or organization: (This can include you)
	Name (first and last name)
	These employees were performing their duties as employees when the workplace violence happened.
	 I have made a good faith effort to tell these employees that I am seeking a workplace violence protective order.
Fee	eling terrorized, frightened, intimidated, or harassed
4.	The workplace violence involved (choose all that apply):
	[] Actual bodily injury or significant property damage. This would cause a reasonable person to feel terrorized, frightened, intimidated, or harassed.
	[] Threats of bodily injury or significant property damage. These threats would cause a reasonable person to fear that the threats would be carried out. If the threats were carried out, they would cause a reasonable person to feel terrorized, frightened, intimidated, or harassed.
De	scription of workplace violence
5.	The respondent threatened to cause or knowingly caused bodily injury or significant property damage.
	Describe the most recent threat or incident of bodily injury or significant property damage:
	a. When did it happen? (Date.):
	b. Where did it happen? (City and state.):
	c. Describe what happened:
0001	POF Approved [Date] Petition for Workplace Violence Protective Order Page 2 of 7

Did the police come?	[] No	[]Yes
If the police came,		
Which police department came? Was anyone arrested?		[] Yes
If yes, who was arrested?		
What is the police case number?		
Did anyone get a ticket or citation?	[] No	[]Yes
If yes, who got the ticket?		
What did the police do?		
[] Check here if you need more space and atta	ch addition	al pages to this form.
Did respondent use or threaten to use a (If yes, describe the gun the respondent used or		
Did respondent use or threaten to use s (If yes, describe the weapon the respondent use		
Was anyone hurt? [] No (If yes, describe.)	[] Y	es

t threat or incident of bodily injury or significant e.): / and state.): []No []Yes
y and state.):
[]No []Yes
[] No [] Yes
[] No [] Yes
[]No []Yes
[] No
[]No []Yes
[1No [1Yes
[] No
[]No []Yes
it came?
[]No []Yes
[] No
ted? number?
ted?
[]No []Yes
ted?
• • • • •
ted?
• • • • •
[]No []Yes
it came?
., .,
., .,
., .,

	(If yes, describe the gun the respondent used or threatened to use against you.):
g.	Did respondent use or threaten to use some other weapon? [] No [] Yes (If yes, describe the weapon the respondent used or threatened to use against you.):
h.	Was anyone hurt? [] No [] Yes (If yes, describe.)
i.	Other facts:
	heck here if there are more incidents you want to describe, and attach dditional pages to this form.
Request	for Protective Orders
	t should issue the following orders.
,	Il that apply.)
7. [)	X] Personal Conduct
	Order the respondent:
	[] to not threaten to cause or knowingly cause bodily injury to the employees listed below while that employee is performing their duties as an employee. The respondent represents a credible threat to the
	safety of these employees.

Commented [KT3]: Following 78B-7-1101, alternative language would be to combine this option with number 8 below to read: You must not threaten to cause or knowingly cause bodily injury to the employees listed below while that employee is performing their duties as an employee. The respondent represents a credible threat to the safety of these employees. You must also not threaten to cause or knowingly cause significant damage to the property of the business or organization or the property of an employee listed below while that employee is performing their duties as an employee.

		Name	Age	Relationship to Respondent
			<u></u>	
			to cause or knowingly cause property of the business or o	
3.	[] No threats		
				ess or organization or the nployees are performing their
9.	[] Stay Away Order	,	
			dent to stay away from the word or threatened to cause the	
		(Street, City, State, Z	IP)	

Petitioner must read and sign below:

I swear:

- I am the petitioner and I have read this Petition for Workplace Violence Protective Order.
- I understand it is a serious crime to lie to get a protective order. If I lie, I can be charged with a felony, punishable by up to 5 years in prison.
- The statements in this request are true and correct to the best of my knowledge.
- I believe I have the right to the protective orders I have asked for in this request.
- I am not using this request to harass respondent or to abuse the judicial process.

	In the District Co	ourt of Utah	
	Judicial District _	County	
Court Address _			
		Temporary Workplace Violence Protective Order (Utah Code 78B-7-1103)	
etitioner		[] Modified Temporary Workplace Violence Protective Order	
espondent		- Case Number	
		Judge	
		Commissioner	
[] This is a m order issue	odified temporary workplaced on (d	e violence protective order, replacing the date).	
The court finds:			
1. It has juriso	diction over the parties in thi	is case.	
2. The busine	ess or organization: petitione).	
			Commented [KT1]: Replace with business
			1
Name of bu organization			
is an employer.			
o an employer.			

<u>3.</u> ∠.	•	ion is an employer. The petitioner is either the sole		
	proprietor or are authorize behalf of the business or o	d to seek this Workplace Violence Protective Order on organization.		
<u>4</u> 3.	The respondent			
	First name			
	Middle name(s) (if any)			
	Surname			
	has committed workplace violence. The workplace violence was against (choose all that apply):			
	[] the business or organization.			
	[] The following employees of the business or organization: (This can include you)			
	Name (first and last name)			

They were performing their duties as an employee when the workplace violence happened.

<u>54.</u> Respondent will be served notice of their opportunity to be heard at the scheduled hearing.

The court orders:

You, the respondent, must obey all orders marked below.

If you don't obey these orders, it is a criminal Class A Misdemeanor. You could serve up to 364 days in jail and receive a fine if you don't obey or violate these orders. Another violation can result in more punishment.

65. [X] Personal Conduct

Commented [KT2]: I included "is an employer" above to match what the previous version had, but then included this section as a second finding to clarify who the petitioner is.

	employer or performing	ot threaten to cause or ker r employee listed <u>belowe</u> their duties as an emplo eat to the safety of these	above while that emplo yee. The respondent r	yee is		
	Name	Age	Relationship to	Respondent +	Formatted Tab	ole
	[] Vou also mu	ust not threaten to cause	or knowingly ocuse of	anificant	Earmathad Inc	dontri Lefti. 0.90" Hangingi. 0.21"
	damage to	mythe property or the pro	operty of the business	or	rormatteu: Inc	dent: Left: 0.88", Hanging: 0.31"
		n. of the employer or em sperforming their duties		nile that	Commented [h	(T3]: Match the petition for all orders.
		portorning trion duties	do air omployoo.		Commented [F	(13]. Water the petition for all orders.
<u>7</u> 6. [in paragraph 6 v	reaten my business or o whilethe employer or the se employees are perfor	employee listed abov	e while that		
7 8. [] Stay Away Ord	er				
	You must not g	go to the employer's wor ause the workplace viole amployer's workplace at:	nce located at:. You m			
	(Street, City, State,	ZIP)				
		enforcement can remove place if needed.	you or keep you awa	y from the		
	Notice: You will	I not violate the protectiv	e order by:			
	party to the case	earing with the employer e or a required witness. A t to a protective order w	And you must tell the b			
0003POF App	roved [Date]	Temporary Workplace Violence	ce Protective Order	Page 3 of 5		

• serving documents you file in court on the employer or employee. Service may not be in-person under any circumstances, but must otherwise be according to the Rules of Civil Procedure. It must also be civil and not threatening.

This order lasts until the hearing on the following date and time:

Courtnouse Address (Dirección del tribunal):				
Date (Fecha):	Time (Hora):	[] a.m. [] p.m.		
Room (Sala):				
Judge or Commissioner (Juez o Comisionado):				

Notice to parties

This is a court order. No one except the court can change it. Each party will be able to tell their side when they go to court.

Notice to respondent:

You will not violate the protective order by:

- engaging in constitutionally protected exercise of free speech, including non-threatening speech and speech involving labor disputes concerning organized labor; or
- engaging in an activity that is part of a labor dispute. (Utah Code 78B-7-1109)

This protective order does not modify the duty of an employer to provide a safe workplace for the employees of the employer.

Attendance

You must attend. If you do not attend, you might be held in contempt of court and the relief requested might be granted. You have the right to be represented by a lawyer.

Asistencia

Presentarse es obligatorio. Si usted no llegara a presentarse, se lo podría encontrar en desacato de las órdenes del juez y la reparación solicitada podría ser otorgada. Usted tiene el derecho de que lo represente un abogado.

Evidence

Pruebas

Bring with you any evidence that you want the court to consider.

Interpretation

If you do not speak or understand English, the court will provide an interpreter. Contact court staff immediately to ask for an interpreter.

ADA Accommodation

If you need an accommodation, including an ASL interpreter, contact court staff immediately to ask for an accommodation.

Finding help

The court's Finding Legal Help web page (www.utcourts.gov/howto/legalassist/) provides information about the ways you can get legal help, including the Self-Help Center, reduced-fee attorneys, limited legal help and free legal clinics.

Traiga con usted cualquier prueba que quiera que el tribunal tome en cuenta.

Interpretación

Si usted no habla ni entiende el Inglés el tribunal le proveeré un intérprete. Contacte a un empleado del tribunal inmediatamente para pedir un intérprete.

Adaptación o Arreglo en Caso de Discapacidad

Si usted requiere una adaptación o arreglo, que incluye un intérprete de la lengua de signos americana, contacte a un empleado del tribunal inmediatamente para pedir una adaptación.

Cómo encontrar ayuda legal

La página de la internet del tribunal Cómo encontrar ayuda legal (www.utcourts.gov/howto/legalassist/index-sp.html/) tiene información sobre algunas maneras de encontrar ayuda legal, incluyendo el Centro de Ayuda de los Tribunales de Utah, abogados que ofrecen descuentos u ofrecen ayuda legal limitada, y talleres legales gratuitos.

Commissioner's or Judge's signature	may instead appear	at the top of the first page of this document.
	Signature ▶	
Date	Commissioner	
	Signature ▶	
Date	Judge	

In the District Co	ourt of Utah			
Judicial District	County			
Court Address				
Petitioner V.	Workplace Violence Protective Order (Utah Code 78B-7-1103) [] Modified Workplace Violence Protective Order			
Respondent	Case Number			
	Judge			
	Commissioner			
[] This is a modified workplace violence porder issued on (de	protective order, replacing the protective ate).			
A hearing was held on	(date).			
The following people were present at the hear [] Petitioner	ing (Choose all that apply.):			
[] Petitioner's attorney (name).				
[] Respondent				
[] Respondent's attorney (name).				
The court reviewed the Request for Workplace that apply.):	e Violence Protective Order and (Choose all			
[] received argument and evidence				
[] accepted the stipulation of the parties				
[] entered the default of respondent for failure to appear				
The court finds:				

1.	It has jurisdiction over th	e parties in this case.	
2.	The business or organiz	ation:	
	Name of business or organization		
is an	n employer.	J	
3. <mark>T</mark>		ole proprietor or are authorized to seek this Workplace er on behalf of the business or organization.	Commented [KT1]: I included "is an employer" above to match what the previous version had, but then included it section as a second finding to clarify who the petitioner is
4.	The respondent		Section as a second infulling to claim, who the petitioner is
	First name		
	Middle name(s) (if any)		
	Surname		
	has committed workplace all that apply):	e violence. The workplace violence was against (choose	
	[] the business or orga	anization.	
	[] The following emplo	yees of the business or organization: (This can include you)	
		Name (first and last name)	
They	were performing their dut happened.	ies as an employee when the workplace violence	
5.	Respondent was served	notice of their opportunity to be heard.	Commented [KT2]: I did not match this to what the Temporary PO says as this language seemed correct in t instance.
The	court orders:		
You,	, the respondent, must obe	y all orders marked below.	

Page 2 of 5

Workplace Violence Protective Order

0007POF Approved [Date]

If you don't obey these orders, it is a criminal Class A Misdemeanor. You could serve up to 364 days in jail and receive a fine if you don't obey or violate these orders. Another violation can result in more punishment. 6. [X] **Personal Conduct** [] You must not threaten to cause or knowingly cause bodily injury to the employer or employee listed below while that employee is performing their duties as an employee. The respondent represents a credible threat to the safety of these employees Name Age Relationship to Respondent [] You also must not threaten to cause or knowingly cause significant damage to my property or the property of the business or organization. Commented [KT3]: Match the petition for all orders. 7. [] No threats You must not threaten my business or organization or the employees listed in paragraph 6 while these employees are performing their duties as an employee. 8. [] Stay Away Order You must not go to the employer's workplace where you caused or threatened to cause the workplace violence located at: (Street, City, State, ZIP) Warning: Law enforcement can remove you or keep you away from the

Workplace Violence Protective Order

Page 3 of 5

employer's workplace if needed.

0007POF Approved [Date]

Notice: You will not violate the protective order by:

- attending a hearing with the employer or employee. But you must be a
 party to the case or a required witness. And you must tell the bailiff that
 you are a respondent to a protective order when you arrive.
- serving documents you file in court on the employer or employee.
 Service may not be in-person under any circumstances, but must otherwise be according to the Rules of Civil Procedure. It must also be civil and not threatening.

Notices to you, the respondent:

This protective order expires on _____ (date) (Utah Code 78B-7-1104).

You will not violate the protective order by:

- engaging in constitutionally protected exercise of free speech, including non-threatening speech and speech involving labor disputes concerning organized labor; or
- engaging in an activity that is part of a labor dispute. (Utah Code 78B-7-1109)

This protective order does not modify the duty of an employer to provide a safe workplace for the employees of the employer.

You may become subject to federal law because this protective order was issued against you. This would mean that it would be a crime for you to possess, transport, ship or receive any firearm or ammunition, including a hunting weapon.

"The respondent was afforded both notice and opportunity to be heard in the hearing that gave rise to this order. Pursuant to the Violence Against Women Act of 1994, P.L. 103-322, 108 Stat. 1796, 18 U.S.C. Sec. 2265, this order is valid in all the United States, the District of Columbia, tribal lands, and United States territories. This order complies with the Uniform Interstate Enforcement of Domestic Violence Protection Orders Act." (Utah Code 78B-7-105.5(4))

Notice to all parties:

The parties cannot change or dismiss this order. Only the court has the authority to change or dismiss this order. If you want to ask the court to change or dismiss this order, you must file a motion with the court.

— The court completes this section —					
Judge or commissioner's signature may	Judge or commissioner's signature may instead appear at the top of the first page of this document.				
Date	Signature ▶	_			
	Commissioner				
Data	Signature ►				
Date	Judge				
— Responde	ent completes this section —				
By signing here, respondent approves the form, and accepts service of this Protective Order and waives the right to be personally served.					
Respondent's Address					
		_			
Respondent's Signature		-			

	In the	e District Cou	rt of Utah	
	Judicial District County			
Со	urt Address			
			Order Dismissing Petition for Workplace Violence Protective Order	
Petitio	ner			
V.			Case Number	
Respo	ndent		Judge	
			Commissioner	
[]	The petitioner did not request a hearing after Temporary Workplace Violence Protective Order was denied. This matter is dismissed.			
[]	The petitioner did not appear at the hearing on the Petition for Workplace Violence Protective Order. This matter is dismissed and the Temporary Workplace Violence Protective Order is dissolved (vacated).			
[]	Other:			
	-			
Comm	issioner's or Judge's signature may	instead appear	at the top of the first page of this document.	
		Signature ▶		
Date		Commissioner		
		Signature ▶		
Date				
		25.290		

	In the District 0	Court of Utah	
	Judicial District _	County	
С	ourt Address		
		Order Denying Workplace Violence Protective Order	
Petiti	oner		
٧.		Case Number	
Resp	ondent	_ Judge	
		Commissioner	
1.	A hearing on this matter was held on		
1.	[] was not represented. Respondent [] was present [] was not prese	etitioner [] Respondent nt (name).	
1.	(date:MM/DD/YYYY). [] Proper notice was served on [] P Petitioner [] was present [] was not prese [] was represented by	etitioner [] Respondent nt (name).	
	(date:MM/DD/YYYY). [] Proper notice was served on [] P Petitioner [] was present [] was not prese [] was represented by [] was not represented. Respondent [] was present [] was not prese [] was represented by [] was not represented.	etitioner [] Respondent nt (name). nt (name). ings, testimony and arguments. Being fully	
2.	(date:MM/DD/YYYY). [] Proper notice was served on [] P Petitioner [] was present [] was not prese [] was represented by	etitioner [] Respondent nt(name). nt	Commented [KT1]: Does this match the petition paragraph 2?

commissioner	r's or Judge's sig	nature may instea	ıd appear at th	e top of the fir	st page of this	document.
		0.				
ate						
		Comn	nissioner			
ate		Sigr	nature ▶			
ale			Judge			

Name		
Address (omit if safeguarded)		
City, State, Zip (omit if safeguarded)		
Phone (omit if safeguarded)		
Email (omit if safeguarded)		
am [] Petitioner	[] Petitioner's Attorne	ey (Utah Bar #:)
	In the District C	Court of Utah
	Judicial District _	County
Court Address		
		Request for Hearing on Workplace Violence Protective Order (Utah Code 78B-7-1104)
Petitioner		_
V.		Case Number
Respondent		Judge
		Commissioner
My Petition for Workplac this matter.	e Violence Protective	Order was denied. I request a hearing in
Petitioner		
I declare under criminal pena	ty under the law of Utah t	hat everything stated in this document is true.
Signed at		(city, and state or country).

	Signature ►	
Date	Printed Name	
Attorney or Licensed Paralegal Practitioner of record (if applicable)		
	Signature ▶	
Date	Printed Name	

		In the District C	ourt of Utah
С	ourt Ad	Judicial District _ dress	
			Order Denying Temporary Workplace Violence Protective Order
Petitie V.	oner		Case Number
Resp	ondent		Judge
1.	The		ckplace Violence Protective Order on erespondent was not present.
2.	beca	use (Choose all that apply.):	orkplace Violence Protective Order
	[]	the petitioner is not an employer. the Petition for Workplace Violenc workplace violence has occurred.	e Protective Order does not establish
	[]	other:	
3.	[]	The court also orders:	

Page 1 of 2

Order Denying Temporary Workplace Violence Protective Order

0004POF Approved [Date]

Notice to Petitioner

If you disagree with this decision, you can file a Request for Hearing and the clerk will schedule a hearing. The court will notify you of the hearing date and time. The court will also have the respondent served with the Request for Protective Order and notice of the hearing. At the hearing, you and the respondent can present evidence.

A Temporary Workplace Protective Order will not be in place before the hearing. At the hearing, the court could issue a Workplace Protective Order.

If you do not request a hearing your case will be dismissed.

Commissioner's or Judge's signature m	ay instead appear at the top of the first page of this docum	nent.
	Signature ▶	
Date	Commissioner	
	Signature ▶	
Date	Judge	

Name		
Address (omit if safeguarded)		
City, State, Zip (omit if safeguarded)		
Phone (omit if safeguarded)		
Email (omit if safeguarded)		
I am [] Petitioner [] Petitioner's Attorney	[] Respondent [] Respondent's Atto	orney (Utah Bar #:)
	In the District Co	urt of Utah
	_ Judicial District	County
Court Address		
		Motion to Dismiss or Modify Workplace Violence Protective Order (Utah Code 78B-7-1103)
Petitioner		(Otall Code 766-7-1103)
V.		Case Number
Respondent		Judge
		Commissioner
1. I am the:		
[] petitioner. [] respondent. Th that apply)	e petitioner agrees to	o this motion (this is required) and: (Choose all
	o the hearing to tell the protective order.	he court that they agree to change or
	_	eing to change or dismiss the protective cached to this motion.

2.	Petitioner currently has a (Choose one.):
	[] Temporary Workplace Violence Protective Order, signed by this court on (date: MM/DD/YYYY).
	[] Workplace Violence Protective Order, signed by this court on (date: MM/DD/YYYY).
3.	I want to the court to:
	[] dismiss the order. [] change this order.
	I ask for this because:
_	[] Check here if additional pages are attached to this form because more space is needed.
ask	the court to:
	Order the parties to attend a hearing.
	Change the order by (choose one):
	 [] dismiss the order. [] issue a new (modified) order to replace the current order. The modified order should be the same as the current order except for the change(s) below:
	4. [] Change paragraph number in the current order to:
	5. [] Change paragraph number in the current order to:

Petitioner or Respondent

I declare under criminal penalty under the	e law of Utah that ev	rerything stated in this document is true.
Signed at		(city, and state or country).
	Signature ▶	
Date		
Attorney (if applicable)		
	Signature ▶	
Date	Printed Name	

In the District Co	ourt of Utah
Judicial District	County
Court Address	
Petitioner	Order on Motion to Dismiss or Modify Workplace Violence Protective Order
v.	Case Number
Respondent	Judge
	Commissioner
 [] Petitioner's Motion to Dismiss or Modinary Respondent's Motion to Dismiss or Modinary Order. This matter is being resolved by: (Choose all that [] The default of [] Petitioner [] Respondent [] The stipulation of the parties. 	apply.)
[] The pleadings and other papers of the pa	parties (date: MM/DD/YYYY), notice of
Petitioner [] was present [] was not present. [] was represented by [] was not represented.	(name).
Respondent [] was present [] was not present. [] was represented by	(name).

	[] wa	as not represented.
The	court	finds
1.	[]	Proper notice was served on [] petitioner [] respondent.
2.	[]	Petitioner's Motion to Dismiss or Modify Workplace Violence Protective Order should be granted.
3.	[]	Respondent filed a Motion to Dismiss or Modify Workplace Violence Protective Order and (Choose one.):
		[] Petitioner has appeared in court and given specific consent to this motion or submitted an unsworn declaration stating their agreement to the motion.
	_	sidered the documents filed with the court, the evidence and the arguments, eing fully informed,
The	court	orders
4.	The	motion before the court is:
	[]	Granted. The temporary protective order is:
		[] dismissed. Any protective orders issued are no longer valid.[] modified as follows:
	[]	Granted. The protective order is:
		[] dismissed. Any protective orders issued are no longer valid.[] modified as follows:

[]	Denied. Any protective orders issued are still valid and enforceable.
[]	Other:
Commissione	er's or Judge's signature may instead appear at the top of the first page of this document.
	Signature ▶
Date	Commissioner
	Signaturo N
Date	Signature ▶
	Judge

	In the District Co	ourt of Utah
	Judicial District	County
Co	ourt Address	
Petitio	ner	Order Extending Temporary Workplace Violence Protective Order (Utah Code 78B-7-1104)
V.		Case Number
Respo	ondent	Judge
		Commissioner
1.		e: MM/DD/YYYY). t (name).
2.	 [] was not represented. 2. The Temporary Workplace Violence Protective Order previously entered is extended because: [] The respondent has not yet been served. 	
	[] The following good cause has been shown:	

3.	The court also orders:		
4.	The Temporary Workplace Violence Pr the following date and time.	otective Order lasts until	the hearing on
Courth	thouse Address (Dirección del tribunal):		
Date ((Fecha):Tii	me (Hora):	[] a.m. [] p.m.
Room	n (Sala):		
Judge	e or Commissioner (Juez o Comisionado): _		

Attendance

You must attend. If you do not attend, you might be held in contempt of court and the relief requested might be granted. You have the right to be represented by a lawyer.

Evidence

Bring with you any evidence that you want the court to consider.

Interpretation

If you do not speak or understand English, the court will provide an interpreter. Contact court staff immediately to ask for an interpreter.

ADA Accommodation

Asistencia

Presentarse es obligatorio. Si usted no llegara a presentarse, se lo podría encontrar en desacato de las órdenes del juez y la reparación solicitada podría ser otorgada. Usted tiene el derecho de que lo represente un abogado.

Pruebas

Traiga con usted cualquier prueba que quiera que el tribunal tome en cuenta.

Interpretación

Si usted no habla ni entiende el Inglés el tribunal le proveeré un intérprete. Contacte a un empleado del tribunal inmediatamente para pedir un intérprete.

Adaptación o Arreglo en Caso de

If you need an accommodation, including an ASL interpreter, contact court staff immediately to ask for an accommodation.

Finding help

The court's Finding Legal Help web page (www.utcourts.gov/howto/legalassist/) provides information about the ways you can get legal help, including the Self-Help Center, reduced-fee attorneys, limited legal help and free legal clinics.

Discapacidad

Si usted requiere una adaptación o arreglo, que incluye un intérprete de la lengua de signos americana, contacte a un empleado del tribunal inmediatamente para pedir una adaptación.

Cómo encontrar ayuda legal

La página de la internet del tribunal Cómo encontrar ayuda legal (www.utcourts.gov/howto/legalassist/index-sp.html/) tiene información sobre algunas maneras de encontrar ayuda legal, incluyendo el Centro de Ayuda de los Tribunales de Utah, abogados que ofrecen descuentos u ofrecen ayuda legal limitada, y talleres legales gratuitos.

Commissioner's or Judge's signature may instead appear at the top of the first page of this document.

	Signature -	
Date	Commissioner	
	Signature ▶	
Date		
Date	Judge	
By signing I accept service of this Protective Order.	Order Extendir	ng Temporary Workplace Violence
	Responden	t's
	Signature	
Date		

Utah District Court Cover Sheet for Probate Cases

Petitioner or name of person seeking appointment as personal representative, guardian,

Interpretation: If you do not speak or understand English, the court will provide an interpreter. Contact court staff immediately to ask for an interpreter.

Interpretacion. Si usted no habla ni entiende el Inglés el tribunal le proveerá un intérprete. Contacte a un empleado del tribunal inmediatamente para pedir un intérprete.

conservator, or the name change or sex change filer: Name Address City, State, ZIP Phone Email Additional Petitioner or name of other person seeking appointment as personal representative, guardian, conservator, or name change or sex change filer. Attach additional sheet if more than two petitioners. Name Address City, State, ZIP Phone Fmail Respondent/Protected or Incapacitated Person/Other this is the name of the party of concern, for example, the name of the alleged incapacitated person in a guardianship or conservatorship case. Attach additional sheet if more than one party. Name Address City, State, ZIP Phone Email Decedent/Deceased Person's Name for estate matters such as an application for appointment of personal representative. Attach additional sheet if more than one decedent. Name Decedent's Date of Birth

Minor's Name for minor guardianship or conservatorship, minor's name change, or minor's insurance settlements. Attach additional sheet if more than one minor.		
Name		
Address		
City, State, ZIP		
Phone	Email	
Attorney or Licensed Paralegal Practitione Choose one: [] For Petitioner(s) [] For Respondent/Protected or Incapacitated Person/Other	r Information* [] For Minor(s) [] None	
Name and Bar #	*Attorney address provided by Utah State Bar.	
Schedule of Fees: §78A-2-301 (Choose one)		
\$375 [] Adoption/Foreign Adoption, plus [] \$8 Vital Statistics per child (§ 26-2-25) \$375 [] Conservatorship \$170 [] Counterpetition \$375 [] Estate Personal Rep \$35 [] Foreign Probate - Moving an out of state probate matter to Utah. \$375 [] Gestational Agreement \$375 [] Guardianship of an Adult \$375 [] Guardianship of a Minor \$35 [] Guardianship by the parent(s) of an Adult Child \$375 [] Minor's Insurance Settlement \$375 [] Name or Sex Change (or both) \$375 [] Supervised Administration \$375 [] Trust \$375 [] Trust \$375 [] Unspecified (other) Probate		
Annual Accounting by Guardians or Conserts 15 [] Estate valued at \$50,000 or less \$30 [] Estate valued at \$50,001-\$75,000 \$50 [] Estate valued at \$75,001-\$112,000 \$90 [] Estate valued at \$112,001-\$168,00 \$175 [] Estate valued at more than \$168,00 OCAP (Utah Code §78A-2-501) \$20 [] Documents prepared using Online of the state valued at more than \$168,00 OCAP (Utah Code §78A-2-501)) 00 00	

Utah District Court Cover Sheet for All Civil Actions Except Probate Cases

Interpretation. If you do not speak or understand English. Interpretación. Si usted no habla ni entiende el Inglés el the court will provide an interpreter. Contact court staff tribunal le proveerá un intérprete. Contacte a un empleado immediately to ask for an interpreter. del tribunal inmediatamente para pedir un intérprete. Plaintiff/Petitioner (First) **Defendant/Respondent** (First) Name Name Address Address City, State, Zip City, State, Zip Phone Phone Email Email First Plaintiff/Petitioner's Attorney or Licensed First Defendant/Respondent's Attorney or Paralegal Practitioner* **Licensed Paralegal Practitioner*** Name Name Bar Number Bar Number Plaintiff/Petitioner (Second) **Defendant/Respondent** (Second) Name Name Address Address City, State, Zip City, State, Zip Phone Fmail Phone Second Plaintiff/Petitioner's Attorney or Licensed Second Defendant/Respondent's Attorney or Paralegal Practitioner* **Licensed Paralegal Practitioner*** Name Name Bar Number Bar Number *Attorney or LPP addresses provided by Utah State Bar. Total Claim for Damages \$ Jury Demand []Yes [] No \$250 [] Jury Demand Schedule of Fees: §78A-2-301 (Choose all that apply. See Page 2 for fees for claims other than claims for damages.) \$100 [] Damages \$2001 - \$9,999 **CHOOSE ONE:** [] No monetary damages are requested (URCP \$187.50 [] Damages \$10,000 & over 26: Tier 2) — — COMPLAINT OR INTERPLEADER — — [] Damages requested are \$50,000 or less \$90 [] Damages \$2000 or less (URCP 26: Tier 1) [] Damages requested are more than \$50,000 \$200 [] Damages \$2001 - \$9999 and less than \$300,000 (URCP 26: Tier 2) \$375 [] Damages \$10,000 & over [] Damages requested are \$300,000 or more (URCP 26: Tier 3) \$375 [] Damages Unspecified [] Domestic relations (URCP 26: Tier 4) · COUNTERCLAIM, CROSS CLAIM, THIRD [] Damages are unspecified. PARTY CLAIM, OR INTERVENTION — -Circle one: Tier 1 Tier 2 Tier 3 \$55 [] Damages \$2000 or less This case is exempt from URCP 26. (E) \$165 [] Damages \$2001 - \$9999 MOTION TO RENEW JUDGMENT — — \$170 [] Damages \$10,000 & over \$45 [] Damages \$2000 or less

Choose One

Fee	Case Type	Fee Case Type
	—————APPEALS————	\$325 [] Custody/Visitation/Support (T4)
\$375	[] Administrative Agency Review	\$8 [] Vital Statistics §26B-8-128) per form
Sch	[] Tax Court (Appeal of Tax Commission Decision) Court: Refer to Clerk of Court upon filing.	\$130 [] Counterclaim: Divorce/Separate Maintenance
\$240	[] Civil (78A-2-301(1)(h)) (E)	\$130 [] Counterclaim: Custody/Visit/Support
\$240 \$80	• •	\$170 [] Counterclaim: Paternity/Grandparent
ΨOO -	[] Municipal Admin. Determination. (E) ————————————————————————————————————	Visitation \$100 [] Domestic Modification (⊤4)
Sch	[] Civil Rights	\$100 [] Counter-petition: Domestic Modification
\$0	[] Civil Stalking (E)	\$375 [] Grandparent Visitation (T4)
\$375	[] Condemnation/Eminent Domain	\$375 [] Paternity/Parentage (T4)
Sch	[] Contracts	\$325 [] Separate Maintenance (T4)
Sch	[] Contract: Employment Discrimination	\$35 [] Temporary Separation (E)
Sch		\$35 [] Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction &
Sch	Debt Collection	Enforcement Act (UCCJEA) (E)
\$375		\$35 [] Uniform Interstate Family Support Act (UIFSA) (E)
Sch		———— JUDGMENTS————
\$375		\$35 [] Foreign Judgment (Abstract of) (E)
\$375		\$375 [] Foreign Country Judgment (E)
Sch		\$50 [] Abstract of Judgment/Order of Utah
Sch		Court/Agency (E)
Sch		\$30 [] Abstract of Judgment/Order of Utah
\$375		State Tax Commission (E) \$35 [] Judgment by Confession (E)
\$375		——————————————————————————————————————
Sch		Use the Utah District Court Cover Sheet for
\$375		Probate Actions for the following:
Sch		Adoptions/foreign adoptions; conservatorships;
Sch	[] Water Rights	estate personal rep; foreign probate; gestational
\$375		agreements; guardianships; minor's
Sch		settlements; name changes; supervised
	TORTS	administration cases; trusts; other probate actions
Sch	[] Automobile Tort	———— SPECIAL MATTERS ————
Sch	[] Intentional Tort	\$35 [] Arbitration Award (E)
Sch	[] Malpractice-Medical Tort	\$0 [] Determination Competency-Criminal (E)
Sch		\$150 [] Expungement Petition (E)
Sch		\$0 [] Hospital Lien (E)
Sch	[] Asbestos	\$35 [] Judicial Approval of Document: Not
Sch	[] Product Liability (NOT Asbestos)	Part of Pending Case (E)
Sch		\$35 [] Notice of Deposition in Out-of-State Case/Foreign Subpoena (E)
	— — DOMESTIC RELATIONS — — —	\$35 [] Open Sealed Record (E)
\$0	[] Protective Orders (E)	\$50 [] Petition for Adjudication of Priority to
\$325		Funds on Trustee's Sale
\$325		OCAP
, J0	[] Check if child support, custody or parent-time will	(Utah Code §78A-2-501)
	be part of decree	\$20 [] Documents prepared using Online Court Assistance Program (OCAP)
	[] Check if Temporary Separation filed	5 (5-5

Utah Justice Court Cover Sheet

Interpretación. Si usted no habla ni entiende el Inglés

Interpretation. If you do not speak or understand el tribunal le proveerá un intérprete. Contacte a un English, the court will provide an interpreter. Contact empleado del tribunal inmediatamente para pedir un court staff immediately to ask for an interpreter. intérprete. Plaintiff/Petitioner (First) Defendant/Respondent (First) Name Address Address City, State, Zip City, State, Zip Phone Email Phone Email First Plaintiff/Petitioner's Attorney or Licensed First Defendant/Respondent's Attorney or Paralegal Practitioner* Licensed Paralegal Practitioner* Name Name Bar Number Bar Number Plaintiff/Petitioner (Second) Defendant/Respondent (Second) Name Name Address Address City, State, Zip City, State, Zip Phone Email Phone Email Second Plaintiff/Petitioner's Attorney or Second Defendant/Respondent's Attorney **Licensed Paralegal Practitioner*** or Licensed Paralegal Practitioner* Name Name Bar Number Bar Number *Attorney or LPP addresses provided by Utah State Bar. Total Claim for Damages \$ Claim may not exceed \$15,000 Schedule of Fees: §78A-2-301.5 \$240 [] Appeal / Trial de novo Filing Fee -- SMALL CLAIMS AFFIDAVIT -payable to District Court \$60 []Damages \$2000 or less [] is attached \$100 []Damages \$2001 - \$7,499 [] to be paid at District Court \$185 [] Damages \$7,500 - \$15,000 - - OTHER - --- SMALL CLAIMS COUNTER AFFIDAVIT --\$135 [] Expungement Petition \$50 [] Damages \$2000 or less \$50 [] Writ \$70 [] Damages \$2001 - \$7,499 \$35 [] Open Sealed Record \$120 [] Damages \$7,500 & over -- OCAP --(Utah Code §78A-2-501) -- SMALL CLAIMS APPEAL --\$20 [] Documents prepared using \$10 | Notice of Appeal to District Online Court Assistance Court Program (OCAP)

This is a safeguarded document. This means the other parties in your case cannot see this document.

Case Number_____

Request to Safeguard Contact

Information from Other Parties

Utah Code of Judicial Administration Rule 4-202.02	
Instructions: If you meet certain conditions you can have your or your child's contact information in this case safeguarded. Safeguard means contact information such as addresses, telephone numbers, and email addresses will not be available to the other parties in your case. Your case is already considered private. No one other than the parties in the case can view documents. However, orders and minute entries are public and can be viewed by anyone.	
After you file this form, do not add your contact information to other documents you file in this case. Do not serve this form on the other party.	
Keep the following contact information safeguarded. Do not provide the contact information to the other party because (Choose all that apply.): [] I have a court order or agency order letting me safeguard my contact information. [] this case is about: • A protective order (Utah Code 78B-7-109). • A stalking injunction (Utah Code 78B-7-701). [] my contact information needs to be safeguarded because the health, safety or liberty of me or my child would be threatened by disclosure and this case is about one of the following: • A paternity order (Utah Code 26B-9-207). • An out of state custody order (UCCJEA, Utah Code 78B-13-209). • A support order (UIFSA, Utah Code 78B-14-312).	
[] This case involves annulment, custody, divorce, or temporary separation and my contact information is safeguarded in another case.	Commented [KT1]: CJA 4-202.02(8)(C) reference proceeding under Title 30. All of the case types list
Case No(s).	here implicate title 30.
Name	
Residential Address	
1053GEJ Approved April 16, 2018 / Request to Safeguard Contact Information from Other Page 1 of 3 Revised December 20, 2021 Parties	

City, State, ZIP				
Phone		Email address		
Reason for safeguarding contact information		[] court or ager [] protective or [] stalking injur [] safeguarded	nction [] sup	entage order ody order port order
Name				
Residential Address				
City, State, ZIP				
Phone		Email address		
Reason for safeguarding contact information		[] court or agency order [] parentage order [] protective order [] custody order [] stalking injunction [] support order [] safeguarded in another case		
Name				
Residential Address				
City, State, ZIP				
Phone		Email address		
Reason for safeguarding contact information		[] court or agency order [] parentage order [] protective order [] custody order [] stalking injunction [] support order [] safeguarded in another case		
Plaintiff/Petitioner or Defendant/Respondent I declare under criminal penalty under the law of Utah that everything stated in this document is true:				

Signed at		_ (city, and state or country).
Date	Signature ⇔	
Attorney or Licensed Parale	gal Practitioner of record (if a	pplicable)
	Signature ⇔	
	Printed Name	

Request to No Longer Safeguard Contact Information

Case Number_____

Utah Code of Judicial Administration Rule 4-202.02

Instructions:

Fill out this section only if you are asking that your contact information no longer be safeguarded. Please read the following:

- Safeguard means contact information such as addresses, telephone numbers, and email addresses will not be available to other parties in your case.
- Your case is already considered private. No one other than the parties in the case can view documents. However, orders and minute entries are public and can be viewed by anyone.

I have reviewed my case and no longer need my contact information to be safeguarded. This includes my address, phone number and email address.

Mark all that apply:

[] I am asking that my contact information no longer be safeguarded.		
[] I am asking that my child's contact information no longer be safeguarded.		
	Party Signature		
	Party Name		

Instructions to the Judicial Assistant:

This document should be filed in the case after it is signed and the party no longer feels safeguarding is necessary. You should change the party's designation by marking or unmarking the Safeguarded box. Check for any documents that may have been marked safeguarded and change the classification back to the original classification if appropriate.

	This is a private record.
Name	·
Address	
City, State, Zip	
Phone	
	theck your email. You will receive information and ocuments at this email address.
Email	
I am [] Plaintiff/Petitioner [] Plaintiff/Petitione	r's Attorney (Utah Bar #:)
In the [] District []	Justice Court of Utah
Judicial District	County
Court Address	
	Petition to Expunge Records
In Re:	(Traffic ConvictionCharge)
	Utah Code 77-40a-305(3)
Petitioner	
	Case Number
	Judge
Certificate of eligibility is not require	rad
5 7	e for traffic offenses as defined in Utah
Code 77-40a-101(14).	-
2. Enough time has passed	
Enough time has passed to expunge this case:	
 for a class C misdemeanor or infraction, at least 3 years have passed after 	
the date of conviction;	•
	east 4 years <u>have passed after</u> from the
date of conviction.	

No other traffic cases

• I have no pending traffic cases;

- I have no cases where I have a pending plea in abeyance for a traffic offense; or
- I am not currently on probation for a traffic offense case.

<u>4</u> 3.	Only convictions charges for traffic offenses All convictions charges in this case are for traffic offenses.
<u>5</u> 4.	Public interest Expunging the crimes will not harm the public's interests because:
5.	Request I ask the court to order expungement of the record identified above, and order state, county and local government agencies to expunge related records in their possession or control.
I declar	re under criminal penalty under the law of Utah that everything stated in this document is true.
Signed	at (city, and state or country).
	Signature ▶
Date	Printed Name

Name		
Address		
City, State, Zip		
Phone	ck your email. You will receive information and	
	ments at this email address.	
In the [] District [] Jus	stice Court of Utah	
Judicial District	County	
Court Address		
	Order on Petition to Expunge Records (Traffic ConvictionCharge)	
In Re:	(Traine Conviction Offarge)	
	Case Number	
Petitioner		
	Judge	
The matter before the court is a Petition to Expunge Records (Traffic ConvictionChargee). This matter is being resolved by:		
[] The pleadings and other papers of the parti	es, or	
[] A hearing held on (date), notice of which was served on all parties and at which the court considered the pleadings and evidence presented by the parties.		
Having considered the documents filed with the court, the evidence, and the arguments, and now being fully informed,		
The Court Finds by Clear and Convincing Ev	vidence that:	
1. The petition is sufficient.		
2. The statutory requirements have been m	net.	

3.	Expunging the petitioner's records will not harm the interests of the public.			
The	The Court Concludes:			
4.	Case number: should be expunged.			
The	Court Orders:			
5.	Case number: will be expunged.			
	 Petitioner may deliver a copy of this order to any government agency or official that may have such records. 			
	 The Bureau of Criminal Identification must notify all criminal justice agencies affected by this order. 			
	 The clerk of the court must expunge all related court records as provided by Rule 4-205. 			
	 Any other government agency or official receiving this order must expunge related records as provided by Utah Code, Title 77, Chapter 40a, Part 4. 			
	 Any government agency or official receiving this order may not divulge information identifying the petitioner. 			
	 Any government agency or official receiving this order must respond to any inquiry as though the arrest or conviction did not occur. 			
Judg	e's signature may instead appear at the top of the first page of this document. Signature ▶			
Date	Judge			
	- J			

Name		
Address		
City, State, Zip		
Dhone		
Phone		
<u>Email</u>		
In the Juvenile Co	ourt of Utah	
Judicial District	County	
Court Address		
State of Utah, in the interest of	Declaration of Financial Status (Utah Code 78B-22-202 and 78B-22-203)	
Last name, first name	Case Number	
Date of birth	Judge	
1. I am (Choose one.): [] The parent or legal guardian of a minor in juvenile court, and [] I am requesting a court-appointed attorney for myself in a child welfare case or a case where my parental rights could be terminated. [] I am providing a declaration of financial status as requested by the court.		
[] An adult being charged with a criminal offense in the juvenile court.		
I understand the court may require me to reimburse fees for a court-appointed attorney.		
2. I say the following (Choose all that apply.):		
[] I can't afford an attorney.[] An attorney has been appointed for my child and I am required to fill this out by court order		
3. The following people depend on me for supp	port.	
Number of adults (including yourself)	Number of children under 18	
4. [] I am employed full-time. [] I am emp	loyed part-time. []I am unemployed.	

5. Monthly Income

Source of income	Monthly amount	Source of income	Monthly amount
Work	\$	Public / government assistance	\$
Other (Describe)	\$	Other (Describe)	\$
Total monthly income			\$

6. Monthly Expenses

(Include amounts you pay for yourself and any spouse, children or other dependents in your household.)

Monthly expense	Current Amount	Monthly expense	Current Amount
Rent or mortgage	\$	Child support and alimony	\$
Education (children or self)	\$	Child care	\$
Transportation (car payments, fuel, insurance, public transit, parking)	\$	Food, clothing and household supplies	\$
Credit card, loan, garnishments, and other debt payments	\$	Health care insurance and expenses	\$
Phone, internet and paid television (cable, satellite, streaming)	\$	Utilities (electricity, gas, water, sewer, garbage)	\$
Other (describe)	\$	Other (describe)	\$
Total monthly expenses			\$

7. **Financial Assets** (Add additional sheets if needed.)

Asset	Value	Balance Owing
Home	\$	\$
Land	\$	\$
Cars	\$	\$
Other vehicles (OHV, boat, motorcycle, snowmobile, RV)	\$	\$
Bank accounts	\$	\$
Personal property	\$	\$
Other (describe)	\$	\$

8. Other[] I would like the judge to consider these other circumstances regarding my finances:			
I declare under criminal penalty under the	e law of Utah that	everything stated in this document is true.	
Signed at		(city, and state or country).	
	Signature ▶		
Date	Printed Name		
	-		

In the District Co	urt of Utah
Third Judicial District	County
Court Address	
In the Matter of (select one) [] the Marriage of (for a divorce with or without children, annulment, separate maintenance, or temporary separation case) [] the Children of (to establish custody, parent-time or child support) [] the Parentage of the Children of (for a paternity case) (name of Petitioner) and (name of Respondent)	Stipulated Order Regarding Parent-Time Case Number Judge Commissioner
Mediation regarding parent-time was held on The parties reached an agreement regarding parent regarding parent parties agree and the court orders that: 1.	
2.	

3.		
4.		
Commissioner's or Judo Date		top of the first page of this document.
	Signature ▶	
Date		
	of this agreement and understanded by the judge or commissioner.	I that they will become an order of
	Signature ▶	
Date Plainti	ff/Petitioner, Attorney or Licensed Paralegal Practitioner	
	Signature ▶	
Date Defendant/F		