Finding Legal Help
You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help.
Como encontrar ayuda legal
Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.
URCP Rule 108 (Rules of Civil Procedure)
Rule 108. Objection to court commissioner's recommendation.Rule printed on March 25, 2023 at 8:13 am. Go to https://www.utcourts.gov/rules for current rules.
(a) A recommendation of a court commissioner is the order of the court until modified by the court. A party may file a written objection to the recommendation within 14 days after the recommendation is made in open court or, if the court commissioner takes the matter under advisement, within 14 days after the minute entry of the recommendation is served. A judge’s counter-signature on the commissioner’s recommendation does not affect the review of an objection.
(b) The objection must identify succinctly and with particularity the findings of fact, the conclusions of law, or the part of the recommendation to which the objection is made and state the relief sought. The memorandum in support of the objection must explain succinctly and with particularity why the findings, conclusions, or recommendation are incorrect. The time for filing, length and content of memoranda, affidavits, and request to submit for decision are as stated for motions in Rule 7.
(c) If there has been a substantial change of circumstances since the commissioner’s recommendation, the judge may, in the interests of judicial economy, consider new evidence. Otherwise, any evidence, whether by proffer, testimony or exhibit, not presented to the commissioner shall not be presented to the judge.
(d)(1) The judge may hold a hearing on any objection.
(d)(2) If the hearing before the commissioner was held under Utah Code Title 62A, Chapter 15, Part 6, Utah State Hospital and Other Mental Health Facilities, Utah Code Title 78B, Chapter 7, Protective Orders, or on an order to show cause for the enforcement of a judgment, any party has the right, upon request, to present testimony and other evidence on genuine issues of material fact.
(d)(3) If the hearing before the commissioner was in a domestic relations matter other than a cohabitant abuse protective order, any party has the right, upon request:
(d)(3)(A) to present testimony and other evidence on genuine issues of material fact relevant to custody; and
(d)(3)(B) to a hearing at which the judge may require testimony or proffers of testimony on genuine issues of material fact relevant to issues other than custody.
(e) If a party does not request a hearing, the judge may hold a hearing or review the record of evidence, whether by proffer, testimony or exhibit, before the commissioner.
(f) The judge will make independent findings of fact and conclusions of law based on the evidence, whether by proffer, testimony or exhibit, presented to the judge, or, if there was no hearing before the judge, based on the evidence presented to the commissioner.
The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.