Utah Courts

Pardon our dust! Our website is under construction.
If you can't find what you're looking for, try our new website search or contact our Web Navigator.


Parking closure information for Matheson Courthouse  /  Información sobre el cierre del estacionamiento de Matheson

 

Finding Legal Help

You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help. 

Como encontrar ayuda legal

Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.

UCJA Rule 4-704 (Code of Judicial Administration)

 

Rule 4-704. Authority of court clerks.
Rule printed on December 3, 2022 at 4:43 am. Go to https://www.utcourts.gov/rules for current rules.
Effective: 5/12/2020

Intent:

To establish the authority of court clerks to extend the time for payment of fines, to dismiss citations issued for certain offenses, and to accept plea in abeyance agreements in certain limited circumstances.

Applicability:

This rule shall apply to all courts of record and courts not of record.

Statement of the Rule:

(1) Unless otherwise ordered by the judge, the clerk of the court, for reasonable cause, is authorized to allow a defendant an extension of time to pay fines.

(2) Unless otherwise ordered by the judge, the clerk of the court is authorized to dismiss citations as provided in the Appendix C, Uniform Fine Schedule.

(3) Plea in abeyance agreements.

(3)(A) A judge—or if there is a presiding judge, the presiding judge—may direct the clerk of court to accept a plea in abeyance agreement in traffic offenses that are listed in Appendix C, Uniform Fine Schedule as not requiring an appearance by the defendant. The clerk of court shall follow the procedures of Title 77, Chapter 2a, Pleas in Abeyance, including:

(3)(A)(i) the offer by the prosecutor for a plea in abeyance, including the conditions established under paragraph (3)(B), may be on a case-by-case basis or by a written standing offer;

(3)(A)(ii) the defendant’s waiver of rights and acceptance of that offer shall always be in a writing signed by the defendant; and

(3)(A)(iii) the plea in abeyance order shall always be in a writing signed by the judge.

(3)(A)(iv) The writings required by the previous subsections may be included in the same document or record.

(3)(B) The conditions of a plea in abeyance authorized by this rule may include only payment of a plea in abeyance fee of no more than $25.00 above the recommended fine in the Uniform Fine Schedule, a period of good behavior not to exceed one year, and, if the offense is a moving violation of Title 41, Chapter 6a, Traffic Code, successfully completing traffic school.

(3)(C) If the defendant does not remit a fine as established by the court, or enter a plea in abeyance, the clerk of the court shall process the case for trial.

(3)(D)The defendant may file a written motion to withdraw a plea in abeyance within 30 days after entry of the plea. If the defendant timely moves to withdraw a plea, the clerk of the court shall set the matter before the judge.


The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.

Page Last modified: 3/29/2022

Return to the top of the page Return to Top

Facebook YouTube Twitter RSS


Close ×