Utah Courts

Pardon our dust! Our website is under construction.
If you can't find what you're looking for, try our new website search or contact our Web Navigator.


Parking closure information for Matheson Courthouse  /  Información sobre el cierre del estacionamiento de Matheson

 

Finding Legal Help

You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help. 

Como encontrar ayuda legal

Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.

UCJA Rule 11-563 (Code of Judicial Administration)

 

Rule 11-563. Interim discipline for threat of harm.
Rule printed on December 6, 2022 at 7:14 am. Go to https://www.utcourts.gov/rules for current rules.
Effective: 12/15/2020

(a) Petition for interim discipline. Upon receiving sufficient evidence that a Lawyer subject to the Supreme Court’s disciplinary jurisdiction poses a threat of serious harm to the public and has either committed a violation of the Rules of Professional Conduct or Licensed Paralegal Practitioner Rules of Professional Conduct or is under a disability as herein defined, the OPC must file a petition for interim discipline in the district court, requesting a hearing and giving notice in accordance with Utah Rule of Civil Procedure 65A.

(1) The petition for interim discipline must be filed with the district court and served on the Respondent in accordance with Rule 4 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure.

(2) The district court will set a hearing within 14 days of filing the return of service showing that Respondent has been served.

(b) Immediate interim discipline. After conducting a hearing on the petition, the district court may enter an order immediately suspending the respondent, limiting the Respondent’s practice area, or requiring supervision of the Respondent pending final disposition of a disciplinary proceeding, or may order such other action as deemed appropriate.

(1) If an order is entered:

(A) the district court may appoint a trustee under Rule 11-538, to protect the interests of the Respondent’s clients; and

(B) the OPC may file an Action without presenting the matter to a screening panel.

(2) If an order for interim discipline is not obtained, the OPC must dismiss the interim Action and will process the matter as it does any other information coming to the OPC’s attention.

(c) Notice to clients. A Respondent subject to interim discipline pursuant to paragraph (b) must comply with the notice requirements in Rule 11-570 as ordered by the district court.

(d) Motion to dissolve or modify interim discipline. On 48 hours’ notice to the OPC, a Respondent suspended pursuant to paragraph (b) may appear and move to dissolve or modify the order of discipline, and such motion will be heard and determined as expeditiously as justice requires.


The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.

Page Last modified: 3/29/2022

Return to the top of the page Return to Top

Facebook YouTube Twitter RSS


Close ×