Finding Legal Help
You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help.
Como encontrar ayuda legal
Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.
SRPE Rule 3 (Rules of Small Claims Procedure)
Rule 3. Service of the affidavit and summons.Rule printed on March 27, 2023 at 4:50 am. Go to https://www.utcourts.gov/rules for current rules.
(a) Service of the small claims affidavit and summons shall be as provided in Utah Rule of Civil Procedure 4. The affidavit and summons must be served at least 30 calendar days before the trial date.
(b) Proof of service of the affidavit and summons must be filed as provided in Utah Rule of Civil Procedure 4 no later than 10 business days after service.
(c) Each party shall serve on all other parties a copy of all documents filed with the court. Each party shall serve on all other parties all documents as ordered by the court. Service of all papers other than the affidavit and counter affidavit may be by first class mail to the other party's last known address. The party mailing the papers shall file proof of mailing with the court no later than 10 business days after service. If the papers are returned to the party serving them as undeliverable, the party shall file the returned envelope with the court.
(d) The summons shall include language sufficient to notify defendant of the removal right provided in Rule 4A.
The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.