Utah Courts

Pardon our dust!
While we move to a new website design, some pages, like this one, will look like the old website.

If you can't find what you're looking for, try our new website search.

We appreciate your patience while we move everything to the new design.

Home Page
Previous Page

Finding Legal Help

You are not required to hire an attorney, but legal matters can be complicated. Consider talking to an attorney to go over your options. See the Finding Legal Help page for information about free and low cost ways to get legal help. 

Como encontrar ayuda legal

Usted no está obligado a contratar un abogado, pero los asuntos legales pueden ser complicados. Considere la posibilidad de hablar con un abogado para hablar de sus opciones. Para información sobre cómo obtener ayuda legal vea nuestra página Como encontrar ayuda legal.



Emancipation is when a person under 18 is fully independent from their parents or guardian and has adult rights. There are three ways a person under 18 can become emancipated:

  • Marriage
  • Military Order
  • Court order

Asking for a Court Order of Emancipation

If you are 16 years old or older, you can ask the juvenile court for emancipation. File a Petition for Emancipation in the juvenile court in your county. Forms are in the forms section below. Use the court directory to find your local juvenile court.

After you file the petition the court will:

  • send notice of the petition to your parents, any legal guardian, and other interested parties.
  • schedule a hearing within 30 days. The court might also appoint a guardian ad litem. A guardian ad litem is a lawyer who represents your best interests.

At the hearing, the court will consider what is in your best interests. The court will consider:

  • whether you are capable of assuming adult responsibilities,
  • whether you are capable of living independently of your parents or guardian,
  • the opinions and recommendations of the guardian ad litem, your parents or guardian, and
  • whether emancipation will create a risk of harm to you.

Effect of Emancipation

If the court declares the minor emancipated, the minor may:

  • enter into contracts
  • buy and sell property
  • sue or be sued
  • retain his or her own earnings
  • borrow money for any purpose, including for education
  • obtain healthcare without parental consent

Once a minor is emancipated, their parent or guardian is no longer responsible for their support or held liable for any torts the minor may commit.

What emancipation does not do

An emancipated minor may not vote, smoke, drink alcohol, possess tobacco or firearms until s/he reaches the legal age to do so.

An emancipated minor is not considered an adult under criminal law unless certain legal requirements are met.


  • Juvenile Court Petition Cover Sheet -  PDF
  • Petition for Emancipation of a Minor - PDF | Word
  • Declaration of Income and Expenses - PDF | Word
  • Notice of Petition for Emancipation of a Minor - PDF | Word
  • Order Appointing Guardian ad Litem - PDF | Word
  • Order on Petition for Emancipation of a Minor - PDF | Word

Related Information

The Utah State Courts mission is to provide the people an open, fair, efficient, and independent system for the advancement of justice under the law.

Page Last Modified: 6/2/2022

Return to the top of the page Return to Top

Facebook YouTube Twitter RSS Feeds

Close ×