	
	

	Name
	

	
	

	Address
	

	
	

	City, State, Zip
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	Phone
	

	
	Check your email. You will receive information and documents at this email address. 

	Email

	I am 
[  ]  Petitioner
[  ]  Respondent

[  ]  Petitioner’s Attorney
[  ]  Respondent’s Attorney                     (Utah Bar #:__________)

[  ]  Petitioner’s Licensed Paralegal Practitioner

[  ]  Respondent’s Licensed Paralegal Practitioner  
(Utah Bar #:__________)

	In the District Court of Utah

__________ Judicial District ________________ County

Court Address ______________________________________________________

	In the Matter of (select one)

[  ]  the Marriage of (for a divorce with or without children, annulment, separate maintenance, or temporary separation case)

[  ]  the Children of (to establish custody, parent-time or child support)
[  ]  the Parentage of the Children of (for a paternity case)
____________________________________
(name of Petitioner)

and 


____________________________________
(name of Respondent)
____________________________________________
Other parties (if any)
	Motion to Set Aside - Commissioner 
[  ]  Default

(Utah Rule of Civil Procedure 55(c))

[  ]  Judgment 
(Utah Rule of Civil Procedure 60(b))
[  ]  Hearing Requested

_______________________________

Case Number

_______________________________

Judge

_______________________________

Commissioner


[  ]  Plaintiff/Petitioner    [  ] Defendant/Respondent   asks the court to set aside the 
[  ]  default    [  ]  judgment  entered against them on ________________________ (date).
1.
I ask to set aside the default or judgment for the reasons below (Choose all that apply.): 
a.
[  ]
Because of my mistake, surprise, excusable neglect, or inadvertence.  (Describe.):
	


b.
[  ]
I have learned of new evidence that I could not have discovered within 28 days after the judgment was entered. (Describe.):
	


c.
[  ]
Because of the other party’s fraud, misrepresentation or other misconduct. (Describe.):
	


d.
[  ]
The judgment is void. (Describe.):
	


e.
[  ]
The judgment has been paid, released, or discharged. (Describe.):
	


f.
[  ]
The judgment in my case is based on an earlier judgment. That earlier judgment has been reversed or otherwise vacated. (Describe.):
	


g.
[  ]
It is no longer equitable that the judgment should have prospective application. (Describe.):
	


h.
[  ]
Some other reason that justifies relief. (Describe.): 
	


2.
This motion is being filed within a reasonable time because (Choose all that apply.):
[  ]
I selected 1a, 1b, or 1c, and I am making this motion within 90 days of the default or judgment.

[  ]
I selected 1d, 1e, 1f, 1g, or 1h. (Explain why you are filing this motion now and how that is reasonable.):
	

	


3.
The reasons that I disagree with the claims in the original complaint or petition, and the facts supporting my disagreement, are: 
	

	

	

	

	


4.
[  ] I request a hearing.

[  ] I do not request a hearing.
Plaintiff/Petitioner or Defendant/Respondent 

	I declare under criminal penalty under the law of Utah that everything stated in this document is true.

Signed at ______________________________________________________ (city, and state or country).

	
	Signature ►
	

	Date
	Printed Name
	

	Attorney or Licensed Paralegal Practitioner of record (if applicable)

	
	Signature ►
	

	Date
	Printed Name
	


	Notice to responding party

You have a limited amount of time to respond to this motion. In most cases, you must file a written response with the court and provide a copy to the other party:

· within 14 days of this motion being filed, if the motion will be decided by a judge, or

· at least 14 days before the hearing, if the motion will be decided by a commissioner.

In some situations a statute or court order may specify a different deadline. 

If you do not respond to this motion or attend the hearing, the person who filed the motion may get what they requested. 
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See the court’s Motions page for more information about the motions process, deadlines and forms: utcourts.gov/motions
	Aviso para la parte que responde
Su tiempo para responder a esta moción es limitado. En la mayoría de casos deberá presentar una respuesta escrita con el tribunal y darle una copia de la misma a la otra parte:

· dentro de 14 días del día que se presenta la moción, si la misma será resuelta por un juez, o

· por lo menos 14 días antes de la audiencia, si la misma será resuelta por un comisionado. 

En algunos casos debido a un estatuto o a una orden de un juez la fecha límite podrá ser distinta. 

 

Si usted no responde a esta moción ni se presenta a la audiencia, la persona que presentó la moción podría recibir lo que pidió. 

 

Vea la página del tribunal sobre Mociones para encontrar más información sobre el proceso de las mociones, las fechas límites y los formularios: 
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utcourts.gov/motions-span

	Finding help
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The court’s Finding Legal Help web page (utcourts.gov/help) provides information about the ways you can get legal help, including the Self-Help Center, reduced-fee attorneys, limited legal help and free legal clinics. 
	Cómo encontrar ayuda legal
La página de la internet del tribunal Cómo encontrar ayuda legal (utcourts.gov/help-span) 
tiene información sobre algunas maneras de encontrar ayuda legal, incluyendo el Centro de Ayuda de los Tribunales de Utah, abogados que ofrecen descuentos u ofrecen ayuda legal limitada, y talleres legales gratuitos.


	Certificate of Service

I certify that I filed with the court and am serving a copy of this Motion to Set Aside Default or Judgment on the following people.

	Person’s Name
	Service Method
	Service Address
	Service Date

	
	[  ]  Mail

[  ]  Hand Delivery

[  ]  E-filed

[  ]  Email
[  ]  Left at business (With person in charge or in receptacle for deliveries.)
[  ]  Left at home (With person of suitable age and discretion residing there.)
	
	

	
	[  ]  Mail

[  ]  Hand Delivery

[  ]  E-filed

[  ]  Email
[  ]  Left at business (With person in charge or in receptacle for deliveries.)
[  ]  Left at home (With person of suitable age and discretion residing there.)
	
	

	
	[  ]  Mail

[  ]  Hand Delivery

[  ]  E-filed

[  ]  Email 
[  ]  Left at business (With person in charge or in receptacle for deliveries.)
[  ]  Left at home (With person of suitable age and discretion residing there.)
	
	

	
	Signature ►
	

	Date
	Printed Name
	


This motion will be decided by the court commissioner at an upcoming hearing. If you do not appear at the hearing, the Court might make a decision against you without your input. In addition, you may file a written response at least 14 days before the hearing.
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