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Rule 4-510.03. Qualification of ADR providers.

Intent:

To establish eligibility and qualification requirements for inclusion on the Utah Court Approved
ADR Roster including additional requirements for designation as a Divorce Roster Mediator,
Master Mediator, and Domestic Mentor.

Applicability:

This rule applies toin the-district courts.

Statement of the Rule:
(1) Application. To be eligible for the roster, an applicant must:

(1)(A) submit a written application to the Director setting forth:

(1)(A)(i) a description of how the applicant meets, or will meet within a
reasonable time, the requirements specified in paragraph (2)(A), if applicable;

(1)(A)(ii) the major areas of specialization and experience of the applicant, such
as real estate, estates, trusts and probate, family law, personal injury or property
damage, securities, taxation, civil rights and discrimination, consumer claims,
construction and building contracts, corporate and business organizations,
environmental law, labor law, natural resources, business
transactions/commercial law, administrative law and financial institutions law;

(1)(A)(iii) the maximum fees the applicant will charge for service as a provider
under the ADR program; and

(1)(A)(iv) the judicial districts in which the applicant is offering to provide services
and the location and a description of the facilities in which the applicant intends
to conduct the ADR proceedings;

(1)(B) agree to complete and annually complete up to six hours of ADR training as
required by the Judicial Council;

(1)(C) submit an annual report to the Director indicating the number of mediations and
arbitrations the ADR provider has conducted that year; and

(1)(D) be re-qualified annually.

(2) Mediator eligibility. To be included on the roster as a mediator:

(2)(A) Education and experience. alt-rNew applicants to the court roster must-alse
have successfully completed at least 40 hours of court-approved basic formal mediation
training in the last three years. This training shal-must be under a single training course
from a single, court-approved training provider. The applicant must also complete 10
hours of experience in observing a court--qualified mediator conduct mediation, and 10
hours in either conducting mediations singly or co-mediating with a court--qualified
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(2)(B) Examination. New applicants must successfully pass an examination on the

ethical requirements for mediators on the Utah Court Roster.;

(2)(C) Pro bono mediation. New applicants and providers must agree to conduct at
least three pro bono mediations each year as referred by the Director.;-and

(2)(D) Good moral character. New applicants and providers must be of good moral
character in that the provider has not been convicted of a felony, a misdemeanor
involving moral turpitude, or any other serious crime, and has not received professional
sanctions that, when considered in light of the duties and responsibilities of an ADR
provider, are determined by the Director to indicate that the best interests of the public
are not served by including the provider on the roster.

(3) Divorce mediator eligibility. To be included on the court roster for qualified divorce
mediators:

(3)(A) Training. A-nNew applicants to the roster of divorce mediators must also have
an additional 32 hours of court-approved training specific to the skills, Utah laws, and

information needed to conduct divorce mediation. This training shall be under a single
training course from a single, court-approved provider.

(3)(B) Domestic violence training. Ai-New applicants must have a minimum of 6 hours
of training specific to domestic violence and screening for domestic violence which may
be included in the court--approved 32--hour training referred to above.

(3)(C) Experience. New applicants to the court roster of divorce mediators are required
to have acquired experience specific to divorce mediation. This is in addition to the 20
hours of experience required for the court roster of basic mediators. The additional
experience includes having observed a minimum of two divorce mediations, co-
mediating two divorce mediations, and having been observed conducting two divorce
mediations. Each of these includes debriefing and analysis afterward with a mediator
who has Domestic Mentor status. The Domestic Mentor may charge a fee for this
service.

(3)(D) List. The Director will maintain and make available a list of those mediators who
have Domestic Mentor status.

(4) Master Mediator. To be included on the roster as a Master Mediator, the provider must also
have completed 300 hours in conducting mediation sessions.

(5) Domestic Mentor. To be included on the roster as a Domestic Mentor, the provider must
also have completed 300 hours in conducting mediation in domestic cases and completed a
domestic mentor orientation.

(6) Arbitrator eligibility. To be included on the roster as an arbitrator, the provider must also:
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(6)(A) Utah Bar. hHave been a member in good standlng of the Utah State Bar for at
Ieast ten yearsl,

(6)(B) Good moral character. bBe of good moral character in that the provider has not
been convicted of a felony, a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, or any other
serious crime, and has not received professional sanctions that, when considered with
the duties and responsibilities of an ADR provider are determined by the Director to
indicate that the best interests of the public are not served by including the provider on
the roster; and

(6)(C) Pro bono arbitration. aAgree to conduct at least one pro bono arbitration each
year as referred by the Director.

(7) Mediator re-qualification. To be re-qualified as a mediator, the provider must, unless
waived by the Director for good cause, demonstrate that the provider has conducted at least six
mediation sessions or conducted 24 hours of mediation during the previous year.

(8) Arbitrator re-qualification. To be re-qualified as an arbitrator, the provider must, unless
waived by the Director for good cause, demonstrate that the provider has conducted at least
three arbitration sessions or conducted 12 hours of arbitration during the previous year.

(9) Sanctions. A provider may be sanctioned for failure to comply with the code of ethics for
ADR providers as adopted by the Supreme Court or for failure to meet the requirements of this
rule or state statute. The Judicial Council's ad hoc committee on ADR (“Ceommittee”) shat-will
inform the public of public sanctions against a provider promptly after imposing the sanction.

(9)(A) Public sanctions. Public sanctions may include singly or with other sanctions:

(9)(A)(i) a written warning and requirement to attend additional training;

(9)(A)(ii) require-the-mediatorto-allow-the Director-or-designee-to-observation by
the Director, or the Director’s designee, ofe a set number of mediation sessions
conducted by the mediator;

(9)(A)(iii) suspension for a period of time from the court roster; orand
(9)(A)(ivii) removal from the court roster.

(9)(B) Private sanctions. Private sanctions may include singly or with other sanctions:

(9)(B)(i) admonition;_or

(9)(B)(ii) a_ requirement to re-take and successfully pass the ADR ethical exam.

(940)(C) Procedures. The Ceommittee shal-will approve and publish procedures
consistent with this rule to be used in imposing the sanction.

(10) Complaints. The complainant shalt-must be submitted to the Director in writing file-a
writtep-and signed by the complainant-with-the-director. The Ddirector shal-will notify the
provider in writing of the complaint and provide an opportunity to respond. The dDirector may
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interview the complainant, the provider and any parties involved. Upon consideration of all
factors, the dDirector may impose a sanction, with notice to -and-netify-the complainant and the
pProvider. If the pProvider seeks to challenge the sanction, the pProvider must notify the
Ddirector within 10 days of receipt of the notificeation. The pProvider may request
reconsideration by the dDirector or a hearing by the JudicialCouncil's-ad-hoe-Ceommittee-on
ADR. The decision of the Ceommittee is final.

Effective: 11/4/2018May 1, 2025



