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Rule 14-705. Amend. Redline. Draft: October 24, 2024

Rule 14-705. Admission by motion.

(a) Reciprocal admission. An Applicant is eligible to be admitted by motion if the Applicant
meets all the requirements of this rule. Admission by Motion is not a right; the burden of proof is
on the Applicant to establish by clear and convincing evidence that the Applicant:

(1) has paid the prescribed nonrefundable fee and filed the required Complete Application
as a Motion Applicant;

(2) is at least 21 years old,;

(3) has been admitted by bar examination to practice law before the highest court of a U.S.
state, U.S. territory or the District of Columbia;

(4) holds a First Professional Degree in law from an Approved Law School;
(5) has successfully passed the MPRE;

(6) has demonstrated that the U.S. state, U.S. territory or the District of Columbia that
licenses the Applicant reciprocally allows the admission of licensed Utah lawyers under
terms and conditions similar to those set forth in this rule;

(7) has been Heensed-and-Actively and lawfully engaged in the Full-time Practice of £law,
as defined in Rule 14-701(b), (u), and (jj), for 36 of the 60 months immediately preceding
the date the application for admission is filed,

(8) was Actively and lawfully engaged in the Full-time Practice of law in the reciprocal
jurisdiction, whether remotely or in-person, during the time period described in (a)(7);

(9) is amemberlicensed in good standing in all jurisdictions where currently admitted;

(10) has a proven record of ethical, civil, and professional behavior and has never been
disbarred—delicensed or resigned with discipline pending, or their equivalent, in any
jurisdiction and is not currently subject to lawyer discipline or the subject of a pending
disciplinary matter; and

(112) is of good moral character and satisfies the requirements of Rule 14-708.
(b) Exceptions.

(1) Time practicing in Utah. Any time practicing at an office located in Utah will not be
counted as time practicing in a reciprocal jurisdiction except to the extent that the lawyer
has complied with Rule 5.5 of the Utah Rules of Professional Conduct or has complied
with Rule 14-803.

(2) House counsel. Lawyers licensed in Utah as House Counsel may count time practicing
in Utah toward the requirements of this rule.


https://legacy.utcourts.gov/rules/view.php?type=ucja&rule=14-701
https://legacy.utcourts.gov/rules/view.php?type=ucja&rule=14-708
https://legacy.utcourts.gov/rules/view.php?type=ucja&rule=13-5.5
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(3) Full-time law professors in Utah. Law professors at an Approved Law School in the
state of Utah who have worked full-time as a law professor for 36 of the 60 months
immediately preceding the date the application for admission is filed are exempt from the
requirement of being engaged in the Full-time Practice of Law. Working full-time as a law
professor means working as a law professor at least 80 hours per month.

(c) Application form and content. The Board may require additional proof of any facts stated in
the application. If the Applicant fails or refuses to furnish any information or proof, or to answer
any Board inquiry pertinent to the pending application, the Board may deny the application without
hearing.

(d) Timing of application and admission. An application may be filed at any time but the Applicant
must be able to demonstrate that the Applicant satisfies the requirements of this rule as of the date
the application is filed. Processing of the application and the character and fitness investigation
require a minimum of four months to complete.

(1) An Applicant not eligible for admission pursuant to this rule may qualify for admission
as an Attorney Applicant pursuant to Rule 14-704.

(2) Upon approval the Applicant must comply with Rule 14-716 concerning licensing and
enrollment fees.

(e) Practice pending admission. Only persons who are active; Bar licensees in good standing may
engage in the practice of law in Utah. However, a Motion Applicant with a pending Bar application
may be eligible to practice for a limited period upon satisfaction of all the requirements of Rule
14-809 and receipt of a Practice Pending Admission Certificate.


https://legacy.utcourts.gov/rules/view.php?type=ucja&rule=14-704
https://legacy.utcourts.gov/rules/view.php?type=ucja&rule=14-716
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