1 Rule 19C. Motion practice for delinquency, traffic, and adult criminal matters.

2 (a) This rule applies to motion practice for delinquency, traffic, and adult criminal

Draft: May 3, 2024

- 3 matters.
- 4 (b) Any defense, objection, or request, including request for rulings on the admissibility
- 5 of evidence, which is capable of determination without the trial of the general issue may
- 6 be raised prior to trial by written motion. A motion must state succinctly and with
- 7 particularity the grounds upon which it is made and the relief sought. A motion need not
- 8 be accompanied by a memorandum unless required by the court.
- 9 (c) The following must be raised at least seven days prior to the trial unless otherwise
- ordered by the court:
- 11 (1) defenses and objections based on defects in the petition, indictment, or
- information;
- 13 (2) motions to suppress evidence;
- 14 (3) requests for discovery where allowed;
- 15 (4) requests for severance of allegations, charges, minors, or defendants;
- 16 (5) motions to dismiss on the ground of double jeopardy; or
- 17 (6) motions challenging jurisdiction, unless good cause is shown why the issue
- could not have been raised at least seven days prior to trial.
- 19 (d) Motions for a reduction of criminal offense pursuant to Utah Code section 76-3-402(2)
- 20 may be raised at any time after disposition upon proper service of the motion on the
- 21 appropriate prosecuting entity.
- 22 (e) Motions to suppress. A motion to suppress evidence must:
- 23 (1) describe the evidence sought to be suppressed;
- 24 (2) set forth the standing of the movant to make the application; and

28

29

30

31

Draft: May 3, 2024

- If an evidentiary hearing is requested, no written response to the motion by the non-moving party is required, unless the court orders otherwise. At the conclusion of the evidentiary hearing, the court may provide a reasonable time for all parties to respond to the issues of fact and law raised in the motion and at the hearing.
- 32 (f) Motions on the justification of the use of force pursuant to Utah Code section 76-2-309
- must be filed in accordance with Rule 12(c)(3) of the Rules of Criminal Procedure. Rule
- 34 12(c)(3) of the Rules of Criminal Procedure is hereby adopted by the Rules of Juvenile
- 35 Procedure. at least 28 days before trial, unless there is good cause shown as to why the
- 36 issue could not have been raised at least 28 days before trial.
- 37 (g) When the facts in a petition, information, or indictment fail to inform a minor of the
- 38 nature and cause of the offense alleged so as to enable the minor to prepare a defense, the
- 39 minor may file a written motion for a bill of particulars. The motion must be filed at
- 40 arraignment or within 14 days thereafter, or at such later time as the court may permit.
- 41 (h) A motion made before trial must be determined before trial unless the court for good
- 42 cause orders that the ruling be deferred for later determination. Where factual issues are
- involved in determining a motion, the court will state its findings on the record.
- 44 (i) Failure of the minor or defendant to timely raise defenses or objections or to make
- 45 requests which must be made prior to trial or at the time set by the court will constitute
- 46 waiver thereof, but the court for cause shown may grant relief from such waiver.
- 47 (j) A verbatim record will be made of all proceedings at the hearing on motions, including
- 48 such findings of fact and conclusions of law as are made orally.
- 49 (k) If the court grants a motion based on a defect in the institution of the prosecution or
- 50 in the petition or information, it may order that the minor or defendant be held in custody
- for a reasonable and specified time pending the filing of a new petition or information.

- Nothing in this rule will be deemed to affect provisions of law relating to a statute of
- 53 limitations.