CJA 4-907 DRAFT: 4/3/24

1 Rule 4-907. Divorce education Parenting and divorce orientation courses. 2 Intent: 3 To establish policies for the implementation of the divorce education mandatory parenting 4 courses required by Utah Code Section 30-3-11.3 and the mandatory divorce orientation course required by Utah Code Section 30-3-11.4. 5 6 Applicability: 7 This rule shall apply to all proceedings in which Utah Code Section 30-3-11.3, Utah Code Section 30-3-11.4, or a court order requires attendance at one or both courses. 8 9 Statement of the Rule: (1) Judicial education department. The judicial branch education department within the 10 Administrative Office of the Courts shall: 11 (1)(A) establish uniform specifications and standards for the courses; 12 13 (1)(B) issue a request for proposals setting forth the uniform specifications and standards: 14 15 (1)(C) award contracts for live courses; and (1)(D) produce the courses by video and other effective formats. 16 17 (2)(A) Attendance. Each party required to attend one or botha courses shall may attend the live course at any location at which it is offered or take an interactive online course. The judicial 18 branch education department may approve an equivalent alternative under exigent 19 20 circumstances.(2)(B) A party required to attend one or both courses may 21 (watch a video of the course if: 22 (2)(B)(i) the party lives out of state or more than 60 miles from the nearest live 23 class; (2)(B)(ii) the party is in prison, jail or other detention facility; 24 25 (2)(B)(iii) the party is an in-patient at a medical facility; or 26 (2(B)(iv) the party's request to watch the video is approved by the divorce education administrator. 27 28 (2)(C) The party may purchase the video or watch it at any district court 29 courthouse. (3) Unmarried parties. Until the Council approves and implements a mandatory parenting 30 course for unmarried parties in a parentage action, an unmarried party in a parentage action 31 must attend the mandatory parenting course for married parties. 32 (43) Certificate. The course provider or the custodian of the video shall provide the party with a 33 certificate of completion. 34 (54) Notice. When the petition is filed, the clerk shall notify the petitioner of the course 35 requirement. The petitioner shall notify the respondent of the requirement and file a certificate of 36

37

service of the notice.

CJA 4-907 DRAFT: 4/3/24

38	(<u>6</u> 5) <u>Fees.</u>
39	(6)(A) Any person attending a course shall present a valid form of photo identification,
40	and pay the course fee, or present a copy of an order waiving the fee or a motion to
41	waive fees that has been filed with the court. If the court determines that the party is not
42	impecunious indigent, the court may enter judgment for the amount of the course fee.
43	(6)(B) The fee for attending the education or taking an online parenting course or
44	watching the video is \$35.00, which includes \$8.00 for deposit in the Children's Legal
45	Defense Fund. The fee for attending or taking an online divorcethe orientation course is
46	\$15.00 for petitioners who attend the course within 30 days of filing and for respondents
47	who attend the course within 30 days of service. Otherwise, the fee for attending or
48	taking an online divorcethe orientation course, taking the course online, or watching the
49	video is \$30.00, which includes \$5.00 for deposit in the Children's Legal Defense Fund.
50 51	(7) <u>Course provider.</u> The course provider shall_, within 72 hours of each course, provide the court with an alphabetized list of each party who completed the course on a monthly basis.
52	Effective: November May 1, 202414