URAP004. Amend. Redline

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

Rule 4. Appeal as of right: when taken. (a) **Appeal as of right.** Except as provided in paragraph (a)(1) or (a)(2), in a case in which an appeal is permitted as a matter of right from the trial court to the appellate court, the notice of appeal required by Rule 3 must be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 30 days after the date of entry of the judgment or order appealed from. If the trial court enters a judgment or order on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the date of entry will be deemed to be the first day following the trial court's entry that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. (1) When a judgment or order is entered in a statutory forcible entry or unlawful detainer action, the notice of appeal required by Rule 3 must be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 10 days after the date of entry of the judgment or order appealed from. (2) When an order is entered denying, in whole or in part, a motion to dismiss under Utah Code section 78B-25-103, the notice of appeal must be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 21 days after the date of entry of the order appealed from. (b) Time for appeal extended by certain motions. (1) If a party timely files in the trial court any of the following, the time for all parties to appeal from the judgment runs from the entry of the dispositive order: (A) A motion for judgment under Rule 50(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; (B) A motion to amend or make additional findings of fact, whether or not an alteration of the judgment would be required if the motion is granted, under Rule 52(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; (C) A motion to alter or amend the judgment under Rule 59 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; (D) A motion for a new trial under Rule 59 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure;

(E) A motion for relief under Rule <u>60(b)</u> of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure if the
motion is filed no later than 28 days after the judgment is entered;

- (F) A motion or claim for attorney fees under Rule <u>73</u> of the Utah Rules of Civil
 Procedure; or
- 30 (G) A motion for a new trial under Rule <u>24</u> of the Utah Rules of Criminal
 31 Procedure.

(2) A notice of appeal filed after announcement or entry of judgment, but before entry 32 of an order disposing of any motion listed in paragraph (b), shall-will be treated as 33 filed after entry of the order and on the day thereof, except that such a notice of appeal 34 is effective to appeal only from the underlying judgment. To appeal from a final order 35 disposing of any motion listed in paragraph (b), a party must file a notice of appeal or 36 an amended notice of appeal within the prescribed time measured from the entry of 37 the order. If multiple motions in paragraph (b) are timely filed and the court decides 38 any motion by separate order, the time to file a notice of appeal runs from the entry 39 of the last order. 40

41 (c) Filing prior to entry of judgment or order. A notice of appeal filed after the
42 announcement of a decision, judgment, or order but before entry of the judgment or order
43 shall-will be treated as filed after such entry and on the day thereof.

(d) Additional or cross-appeal. If a timely notice of appeal is filed by a party, any other
party may file a notice of appeal within 14 days after the date on which the first notice of
appeal was filed, or within the time otherwise prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of
this rule, whichever period last expires.

48 (e) Motion for extension of time.

(1) The trial court, upon a showing of good cause, may extend the time for filing a
notice of appeal upon motion filed before the expiration of the time prescribed by
paragraphs (a) and (b) of this rule. Responses to such motions for an extension of time
are disfavored and the court may rule at any time after the filing of the motion. No

extension shall<u>can</u> exceed 30 days beyond the prescribed time or 14 days beyond the
date of entry of the order granting the motion, whichever occurs later.

(2) The trial court, upon a showing of good cause or excusable neglect, may extend 55 the time for filing a notice of appeal upon motion filed not later than 30 days after the 56 expiration of the time prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of this rule. The court may 57 rule at any time after the filing of the motion. That a movant did not file a notice of 58 59 appeal to which paragraph (c) would apply is not relevant to the determination of good cause or excusable neglect. An No-extension shallmay not- exceed 30 days 60 beyond the prescribed time or 14 days beyond the date of entry of the order granting 61 the motion, whichever occurs later. 62

(f)-_Motion to reinstate period for filing a direct appeal in criminal cases. Upon a showing that

65 (1) The trial court willmust reinstate the 30thirty-day period for filing a direct appeal

<u>If no timely appeal is filed in</u> a criminal <u>case</u>, if a defendant <u>demonstrates by a</u>
 preponderance of the evidence that the defendant was deprived of the right to appeal
 through no fault of the defendant., the trial court shall reinstate the thirty-day period

- 69 for filing a direct appeal. A defendant seeking such reinstatement shall <u>may</u> file a
- written motion in the sentencing court and serve the prosecuting entity. <u>trial court to</u>
- 71 <u>reinstate the time to appeal.</u>
- 72 (2) The motion must be filed within one year, or within a reasonable time, whichever
- 73 <u>is later, from the day on which the defendant personally knew, or should have known</u>
- 74 <u>in the exercise of reasonable diligence, of evidentiary facts forming the basis of the</u>
- 75 <u>claim that the defendant was deprived of the right to appeal.</u>
- 76 <u>(A) The motion must state:</u>
- 77 (i) the date the defendant learned that the defendant was denied the right to an
 78 appeal.'s attorney had not pursued an appeal; and

79	(ii) how the defendant learned that the defendant was denied the right to 's
80	attorney had not pursued an appeal, including all efforts the defendant made
81	to learn whether his attorney had pursued an appeal.
82	(B) If the motion is filed more than one year after the defendant learned that the
83	defendant's attorney had not pursued was denied the right to an appeal, the
84	defendant must allege all of the grounds that support the allegation that the delay
85	in filing the motion was reasonable.
86	(23) If the defendant is not represented by counsel and is indigent, the trial court
87	shallwill appoint counsel.
88	(34) The motion must be served on the prosecuting entity. The prosecutor shall have
89	30 days after service of the motion to may file a written response. If the prosecutor
90	opposes to the motion within 28 days after being served.
91	(45) If the motion to reinstate the time to appeal is opposed, the trial court shallwill
92	set a hearing at which the parties may present evidence.
93	(6)(a) If the prosecutor opposes the motion on the ground that the defendant filed it
94	beyond the time limit in paragraph (f)(2), the prosecutor must prove, by a
95	preponderance of the evidence, that the defendant's delay was unreasonable. The
96	court maycan deny the motion as untimely only if the court finds that the prosecutor
97	has carried this burden.
98	(6) The defendant must show that the defendant was deprived of the right to appeal
99	through no fault of the defendant.
100	(7) If the trial court finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant has
101	demonstrated that the defendant wasbeen deprived of the right to appeal, it shall <u>the</u>
102	court must enter an order reinstating the time forright to appeal. Tenters an order
103	reinstating the time for filing a direct appeal, the defendant's notice of appeal must
104	be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 30 days after the date the order is
105	<u>entered</u> of entry of the order.

106	(g) Motion to reinstate period for filing a direct appeal in civil cases.
107 108	(1) The trial court shall <u>will</u> reinstate the <u>thirty-day30</u> period for filing a direct appeal if the trial court finds by a preponderance of the evidence that:
109	(A) The party seeking to appeal lacked actual notice of the entry of judgment at a
110	time that would have allowed the party to file a timely motion under paragraph
111	(e) of this rule;
112	(B) The party seeking to appeal exercised reasonable diligence in monitoring the
113	proceedings; and
114	(C) The party, if any, responsible for serving the judgment under Rule <u>58A(d)</u> of
115	the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure did not promptly serve a copy of the signed
116	judgment on the party seeking to appeal.
117	(2) A party seeking such reinstatement shall <u>must</u> file a written motion in the trial
118	court within one year from the entry of judgment. The party shall <u>must</u> comply with
119	Rule <u>7</u> of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure and <u>shall-must</u> serve each of the parties in
120	accordance with Rule <u>5</u> of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure.
121	(3) If the trial court enters an order reinstating the time for filing a direct appeal, a
122	notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days after the date of entry of the order.
123	