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Rule 4. Appeal as of right: when taken. 1 

(a) Appeal from final judgment and order. In a case in which an appeal is permitted as 2 

a matter of right from the trial court to the appellate court, the notice of appeal required 3 

by Rule 3 shall be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 30 days after the date of 4 

entry of the judgment or order appealed from. If the trial court enters a judgment or 5 

order on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the date of entry will be deemed to be the 6 

first day following the trial court’s entry that is not a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday. 7 

However, when a judgment or order is entered in a statutory forcible entry or unlawful 8 

detainer action, the notice of appeal required by Rule 3 shall be filed with the clerk of 9 

the trial court within 10 days after the date of entry of the judgment or order appealed 10 

from. 11 

(b) Time for appeal extended by certain motions. 12 

(1) If a party timely files in the trial court any of the following, the time for all 13 

parties to appeal from the judgment runs from the entry of the dispositive order: 14 

(A) A motion for judgment under Rule 50(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil 15 

Procedure; 16 

(B) A motion to amend or make additional findings of fact, whether or not 17 

an alteration of the judgment would be required if the motion is granted, 18 

under Rule 52(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; 19 

(C) A motion to alter or amend the judgment under Rule 59 of the Utah 20 

Rules of Civil Procedure; 21 

(D) A motion for a new trial under Rule 59 of the Utah Rules of Civil 22 

Procedure; 23 

(E) A motion for relief under Rule 60(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil 24 

Procedure if the motion is filed no later than 28 days after the judgment is 25 

entered; 26 

https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urap/view.html?title=Rule%203%20Appeal%20as%20of%20right:%20how%20taken.&rule=03.htm
https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urap/view.html?title=Rule%203%20Appeal%20as%20of%20right:%20how%20taken.&rule=03.htm
https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urcp/view.html?title=Rule%2050%20Judgment%20as%20a%20matter%20of%20law%20in%20a%20jury%20trial;%20related%20motion%20for%20a%20new%20trial;%20conditional%20ruling.&rule=urcp050.html
https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urcp/view.html?title=Rule%2052%20Findings%20by%20the%20court;%20correction%20of%20the%20record.&rule=urcp052.html
https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urcp/view.html?title=Rule%2059%20New%20trials;%20amendments%20of%20judgment.&rule=urcp059.html
https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urcp/view.html?title=Rule%2059%20New%20trials;%20amendments%20of%20judgment.&rule=urcp059.html
https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urcp/view.html?title=Rule%2060%20Relief%20from%20judgment%20or%20order.&rule=urcp060.html


URAP004. Amend. Redline  Draft: December 7, 2022 

(F) A motion or claim for attorney fees under Rule 73 of the Utah Rules of 27 

Civil Procedure; or 28 

(G) A motion for a new trial under Rule 24 of the Utah Rules of Criminal 29 

Procedure. 30 

(2) A notice of appeal filed after announcement or entry of judgment, but before 31 

entry of an order disposing of any motion listed in paragraph (b), shall be treated 32 

as filed after entry of the order and on the day thereof, except that such a notice 33 

of appeal is effective to appeal only from the underlying judgment. To appeal 34 

from a final order disposing of any motion listed in paragraph (b), a party must 35 

file a notice of appeal or an amended notice of appeal within the prescribed time 36 

measured from the entry of the order. 37 

(c) Filing prior to entry of judgment or order. A notice of appeal filed after the 38 

announcement of a decision, judgment, or order but before entry of the judgment or 39 

order shall be treated as filed after such entry and on the day thereof. 40 

(d) Additional or cross-appeal. If a timely notice of appeal is filed by a party, any other 41 

party may file a notice of appeal within 14 days after the date on which the first notice 42 

of appeal was filed, or within the time otherwise prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of 43 

this rule, whichever period last expires. 44 

(e) Motion for extension of time. 45 

(1) The trial court, upon a showing of good cause, may extend the time for filing 46 

a notice of appeal upon motion filed before the expiration of the time prescribed 47 

by paragraphs (a) and (b) of this rule. Responses to such motions for an extension 48 

of time are disfavored and the court may rule at any time after the filing of the 49 

motion. No extension shall exceed 30 days beyond the prescribed time or 14 days 50 

beyond the date of entry of the order granting the motion, whichever occurs 51 

later. 52 
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(2) The trial court, upon a showing of good cause or excusable neglect, may 53 

extend the time for filing a notice of appeal upon motion filed not later than 30 54 

days after the expiration of the time prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of this 55 

rule. The court may rule at any time after the filing of the motion. That a movant 56 

did not file a notice of appeal to which paragraph (c) would apply is not relevant 57 

to the determination of good cause or excusable neglect. No extension shall 58 

exceed 30 days beyond the prescribed time or 14 days beyond the date of entry of 59 

the order granting the motion, whichever occurs later. 60 

(f)  Motion to reinstate period for filing a direct appeal in criminal cases. Upon a 61 

showing that 62 

(1) The trial court must reinstate the thirty-day period for filing a direct appeal If 63 

no timely appeal is filed in a criminal case, if a defendant demonstrates by a 64 

preponderance of the evidence that the defendant was deprived of the right to 65 

appeal through no fault of the defendant., the trial court shall reinstate the thirty-66 

day period for filing a direct appeal. A defendant seeking such reinstatement 67 

shall may file a written motion in the sentencing court and serve the prosecuting 68 

entity. trial court to reinstate the time to appeal.  69 

(2) The motion must be filed within one year, or within a reasonable time, 70 

whichever is later, from the day on which the defendant personally knew, or 71 

should have known in the exercise of reasonable diligence, of evidentiary facts 72 

forming the basis of the claim that the defendant was deprived of the right to 73 

appeal. 74 

(23) If the defendant is not represented by counsel and is indigent, the trial court 75 

shallmust appoint counsel.  76 

(34) The motion must be served on the prosecuting entity. The prosecutor shall 77 

have 30 days after service of the motion to may file a written response. If the 78 

prosecutor opposes to the motion within 28 days after being served. 79 
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(45) If the motion to reinstate the time to appeal is opposed, the trial court 80 

shallmust set a hearing at which the parties may present evidence. 81 

 (6)(a) If the prosecutor opposes the motion on the ground that the defendant 82 

filed it beyond the time limit in paragraph (f)(2), the prosecutor must prove, by a 83 

preponderance of the evidence, that the defendant’s delay was unreasonable. 84 

The court can deny the motion as untimely only if the court finds that the 85 

prosecutor has carried this burden. 86 

(6) The defendant must show that the defendant was deprived of the right to 87 

appeal through no fault of the defendant. 88 

(7) If the trial court finds by a preponderance of the evidence that the defendant 89 

has demonstrated that the defendant wasbeen deprived of the right to appeal, it 90 

shallthe court must enter an order reinstating the time forright to appeal. Tenters 91 

an order reinstating the time for filing a direct appeal, the defendant’'s notice of 92 

appeal must be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 30 days after the date 93 

the order is enteredof entry of the order. 94 

(g) Motion to reinstate period for filing a direct appeal in civil cases. 95 

(1) The trial court shall must reinstate the thirty-day period for filing a direct 96 

appeal if the trial court finds by a preponderance of the evidence that: 97 

(A) The party seeking to appeal lacked actual notice of the entry of 98 

judgment at a time that would have allowed the party to file a timely 99 

motion under paragraph (e) of this rule; 100 

(B) The party seeking to appeal exercised reasonable diligence in 101 

monitoring the proceedings; and 102 

(C) The party, if any, responsible for serving the judgment under Rule 103 

58A(d) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure did not promptly serve a copy 104 

of the signed judgment on the party seeking to appeal. 105 
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(2) A party seeking such reinstatement shall file a written motion in the trial 106 

court within one year from the entry of judgment. The party shall comply with 107 

Rule 7 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure and shall serve each of the parties in 108 

accordance with Rule 5 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure. 109 

(3) If the trial court enters an order reinstating the time for filing a direct appeal, 110 

a notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days after the date of entry of the 111 

order. 112 
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