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Rule 26.4. Provisions governing disclosure and discovery in contested proceedings under
Title 75 of the Utah Code.

(a) Scope. This rule applies to all contested actions arising under Title 75 of the Utah Code.

(b) Definition. A probate dispute is a contested action arising under Title 75 of the Utah Code.

(c) Designation of parties, objections, initial disclosures, and discovery.

(c)(1) Designation of Parties. For purposes of Rule 26, the plaintiff in probate proceedings is
presumed to be the petitioner in the matter, and the defendant is presumed to be any party filing an
objection. Once a probate dispute arises, and based on the facts and circumstances of the case, the
court may designate an interested person as plaintiff, defendant, or non-party for purposes of
discovery. Only an interested person who has appeared will be treated as a party for purposes of
discovery.

(c)(2) Objection to the petition.

(c)(2)(A) Any oral objection must be made at a scheduled hearing on the petition and then
reduced to writing within 7 days, unless the written objection has been previously filed with the
court.

(c)(2)(B) A written objection must set forth the grounds for the objection and any supporting
authority, must be filed with the court, and must be mailed to the parties named in the petition and
any interested persons as provided in Utah Code § 75-1-201(24), unless the written objection has
been previously filed with the court.

(c)(2)(C) If the petitioner and objecting party agree to an extension of time to file the written
objection, notice of the agreed upon date must be filed with the court.

(c)(2)(D) In the event no written objection is timely filed, the court will act on the original
petition upon the petitioner’s filing of a request to submit pursuant to Rule 7 of the Utah Rules of
Civil Procedure.

(c)(3) Initial disclosures in guardianship and conservatorship matters.

(c)(3)(A) In addition to the disclosures required by Rule 26(a), and unless included in the
petition, the following documents must be served by the party in possession or control of the
documents within 14 days after a written objection has been filed:

(c)(3)(A)(i) any document purporting to nominate a guardian or conservator, including a
will, trust, power of attorney, or advance healthcare directive, copies of which must be served
upon all interested persons; and

(c)(3)(A)(ii) a list of less restrictive alternatives to guardianship or conservatorship that the
petitioner has explored and ways in which a guardianship or conservatorship of the
respondent may be limited.

This paragraph supersedes Rule 26(a)(2).
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(c)(3)(B) The initial disclosure documents must be served on the parties named in the
probate petition and the objection and anyone who has requested notice under Title 75 of the
Utah Code:

(c)(3)(C) If there is a dispute regarding the validity of an original document, the proponent of
the original document must make it available for inspection by the contesting party within 14 days
of the date of referral to mediation unless the parties agree to a different date.

(c)(3)(D) The court may modify the content and timing of the disclosures required in this rule
or in Rule 26(a) for any reason justifying departure from these rules.

(c)(4) Initial disclosures in all other probate matters.

(c)(4)(A) In addition to the disclosures required by Rule 26(a), and unless included in the
petition, the following documents must be served by the party in possession or control of the
documents within 14 days after a written objection has been filed: any other document purporting
to nominate a representative after death, including wills, trusts, and any amendments to those
documents, copies of which must be served upon all interested persons. This paragraph
supersedes Rule 26(a)(2).

(c)(4)(B) The initial disclosure documents must be served on the parties named in the
probate petition and the objection and anyone who has requested notice under Title 75 of the
Utah Code.

(c)(4)(C) If there is a dispute regarding the validity of an original document, the proponent of
the original document must make it available for inspection by the contesting party within 14 days
of the date of referral to mediation unless the parties agree to a different date.

(c)(4)(D) The court may modify the content and timing of the disclosures required in this rule
or in Rule 26(a) for any reason justifying departure from these rules.

(c)(5) Discovery once a probate dispute arises. Except as provided in this rule or as otherwise

ordered by the court, once a probate dispute arises, discovery will proceed pursuant to the Rules of
Civil Procedure, including the other provisions of Rule 26.
(d) Pretrial disclosures, objections. No later than 14 days prior to an evidentiary hearing or trial, the

parties must serve the disclosures required by Rule 26(a)(5)(A).



