Rule 14-104

1 Rule 14-104. Admission to practice law; qualifications, enrollment, oath, and fees.

(a) (a) The Board, by delegation from the Supreme Court, shall have the power to
determine the qualifications and requirements for admission to the practice of law and to
conduct examinations of applicants; and it shall from time to time certify to the Court
those applicants found to be qualified. Qualifications and requirements for admission to
the practice of law shall be as set forth in Chapter 14, Article 7, Admissions.

7 (b) The Board, by delegation from the Supreme Court, shall have the power to

8 determine the qualifications and requirements for the Licensure of the Licensed

9 Paralegal Practitioners and to conduct examinations of applicants, and it shall from time

10 to time certify to the Court those applicants found to be qualified. Qualifications and

11 requirements for Licensed Paralegal Practitioner licensure shall be as set forth in

12 Chapter 15, Article 7, Licensure.

13 (bc) The approval by the Supreme Court of any person certified for licensure to practice

14 law shall entitle him or her to be enrolled in the Bar upon his or her taking an oath to

15 support the Constitution of the United States and of Utah and to discharge faithfully the

duties of an attorney at law-or, foreign legal consultant or Licensed Paralegal

17 <u>Practitioner</u> to the best of his or her knowledge and ability, and payment of the fee fixed

by the Board with the approval of the Court, and thereafter, to practice law upon

19 payment of annual or special license fees herein provided, subject to the provisions of

20 this chapter.

(ed) Upon receiving certification by the Board and approval from the Supreme Court, the

22 applicant shall pay \$50a fee set by the Court to the clerk of the Court for a certificate of

admission, \$30a portion of which shall be retained by the state treasurer as a special

fund for the benefit of the Utah State Law Library, to be expended by the Utah Judicial

25 Council.

26 (de) Roll of licensed lawyers and Licensed Paralegal Practitioners. The clerk of the

27 Court shall keep a roll of the attorneys at law admitted to practice in Utah and Licensed

28 Paralegal Practitioners, which must be signed by each person admitted <u>or licensed</u>

- 29 before he or she is enrolled and receives his or her certificate of admission to the Bar or
- 30 license as a foreign legal consultant or Licensed Paralegal Practitioner.