
Rule 4-510.03. Qualification of ADR providers. 1 

Intent: 2 

To establish eligibility and qualification requirements for inclusion on the Utah Court Approved 3 
ADR Roster including additional requirements for designation as a Divorce Roster Mediator, 4 
Master Mediator and Domestic Mentor. 5 

Applicability: 6 

This rule applies in the district court. 7 

Statement of the Rule: 8 

(1)To be eligible for the roster, an applicant must: 9 

(1)(A)submit a written application to the Director setting forth: 10 

(1)(A)(i) a description of how the applicant meets, or will meet within a reasonable time, the 11 
requirements specified in paragraph (2)(A), if applicable; 12 

(1)(A)(ii) the major areas of specialization and experience of the applicant, such as real estate, 13 
estates, trusts and probate, family law, personal injury or property damage, securities, taxation, 14 
civil rights and discrimination, consumer claims, construction and building contracts, corporate 15 
and business organizations, environmental law, labor law, natural resources, business 16 
transactions/commercial law, administrative law and financial institutions law; 17 

(1)(A)(iii) the maximum fees the applicant will charge for service as a provider under the ADR 18 
program; and 19 

(1)(A)(iv) the judicial districts in which the applicant is offering to provide services and the 20 
location and a description of the facilities in which the applicant intends to conduct the ADR 21 
proceedings; 22 

(1)(B) agree to complete and annually complete up to six hours of ADR training as required by 23 
the Judicial Council; 24 

(1)(C) submit an annual report to the Director indicating the number of mediations and 25 
arbitrations the ADR provider has conducted that year; and 26 

(1)(D) be re-qualified annually. 27 

(2) To be included on the roster as a mediator: 28 

(2)(A) all new applicants to the court roster must also have successfully completed at least 40 29 
hours of court-approved basic formal mediation training in the last three years. This training 30 
shall be under a single training course from a single, court-approved training provider. The 31 
applicant must also complete 10 hours of experience in observing a court qualified mediator 32 
conduct mediation, and 10 hours in either conducting mediations singly or co-mediating with a 33 



court qualified mediator, or meet such other education, training and experience requirements as 34 
the Council finds will promote the effective administration of the ADR program; 35 

(2)(B) successfully pass an examination on the Code of Ethics for ADR providers ethical 36 
requirements for mediators on the Utah Court Roster; 37 

(2)(C)agree to conduct at least three pro bono mediations each year as referred by the Director; 38 
and 39 

(2)(D) be of good moral character in that the provider has not been convicted of a felony, a 40 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, or any other serious crime, and has not received 41 
professional sanctions that, when considered in light of the duties and responsibilities of an ADR 42 
provider, are determined by the Director to indicate that the best interests of the public are not 43 
served by including the provider on the roster. 44 

(3) To be included on the court roster for qualified divorce mediators: 45 

(3)(A) All new applicants to the roster of divorce mediators must also have an additional 32 46 
hours of court-approved training specific to the skills, Utah laws, and information needed to 47 
conduct divorce mediation. This training shall be under a single training course from a single, 48 
court-approved provider. 49 

(3)(B) All applicants must have a minimum of 6 hours of training specific to domestic violence 50 
and screening for domestic violence which may be included in the court approved 32 hour 51 
training referred to above. 52 

(3)(C) New applicants to the court roster of divorce mediators are required to have acquired 53 
experience specific to divorce mediation. This is in addition to the 20 hours of experience 54 
required for the court roster of basic mediators. The additional experience includes having 55 
observed a minimum of two divorce mediations, co-mediating two divorce mediations and 56 
having been observed conducting two divorce mediations. Each of these includes debriefing 57 
and analysis afterward with a mediator who has Domestic Mentor status. The Domestic Mentor 58 
may charge a fee for this service. 59 

(3)(D) The Director will maintain and make available a list of those mediators who have 60 
Domestic Mentor status. 61 

(4) To be included on the roster as a Master Mediator, the provider must also have completed 62 
300 hours in conducting mediation sessions. 63 

(5) To be included on the roster as a Domestic Mentor, the provider must also have completed 64 
300 hours in conducting mediation in domestic cases and completed a domestic mentor 65 
orientation. 66 

(6) To be included on the roster as an arbitrator, the provider must also: 67 



(6)(A) have been a member in good standing of the Utah State Bar for at least ten years, or 68 
meet such other education, training and experience requirements as the Council finds will 69 
promote the effective administration of the ADR program; 70 

(6)(B) be of good moral character in that the provider has not been convicted of a felony, a 71 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude, or any other serious crime, and has not received 72 
professional sanctions that, when considered with the duties and responsibilities of an ADR 73 
provider are determined by the Director to indicate that the best interests of the public are not 74 
served by including the provider on the roster; and 75 

(6)(C) agree to conduct at least one pro bono arbitration each year as referred by the Director. 76 

(7) To be re-qualified as a mediator, the provider must, unless waived by the Director for good 77 
cause, demonstrate that the provider has conducted at least six mediation sessions or 78 
conducted 24 hours of mediation during the previous year. 79 

(8) To be re-qualified as an arbitrator, the provider must, unless waived by the Director for good 80 
cause, demonstrate that the provider has conducted at least three arbitration sessions or 81 
conducted 12 hours of arbitration during the previous year. 82 

(9) A provider may be sanctioned for failure to comply with the code of ethics for ADR providers 83 
as adopted by the Supreme Court or for failure to meet the requirements of this rule or state 84 
statute. The committee shall inform the public of public sanctions against a provider promptly 85 
after imposing the sanction. 86 

(9)A) Public sanctions may include singly or with other sanctions: 87 

a written warning and requirement to attend additional training; 88 

(9)(A)(i) require the mediator to allow the Director or designee to observe a set number of 89 
mediation sessions conducted by the mediator; 90 

(9)(A)(ii) suspension for a period of time from the court roster; and 91 

(9)(A)(iii) removal from the court roster. 92 

(9)(B) Private sanctions may include singly or with other sanctions: 93 

(9)(B)(i) admonition; 94 

(9)(B)(ii) re-take and successfully pass the ADR ethical exam. 95 

(10) The committee shall approve and publish procedures consistent with this rule to be used in 96 
imposing the sanction. The complainant shall file a written and signed complaint with the 97 
director. The director shall notify the provider in writing of the complaint and provide an 98 
opportunity to respond. The director may interview the complainant, the provider and any parties 99 
involved. Upon consideration of all factors, the director may impose a sanction and notify the 100 
complainant and the provider. If the provider seeks to challenge the sanction, the provider must 101 
notify the director within 10 days of receipt of the notification. The provider may request 102 



reconsideration by the director or a hearing by the Judicial Council's ad hoc committee on ADR. 103 
The decision of the committee is final. 104 


