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Rule 34. Award of costs. 1 

(a) To whom allowed awarded. Except as otherwise provided by law, if an appeal is dismissed, 2 

costs shall be taxed against the appellant will be awarded to the appellee unless otherwise agreed by the 3 

parties or ordered by the court; if a judgment or order is affirmed, costs shall be taxed against appellant 4 

will be awarded to the appellee unless otherwise ordered; if a judgment or order is reversed, costs shall 5 

be taxed against the appellee will be awarded to the appellant unless otherwise ordered; if a judgment or 6 

order is affirmed or reversed in part, or is vacated, costs shall be allowed will be awarded as ordered by 7 

the court. Costs shall may not be allowed or taxed awarded in a criminal case. 8 

(b) Costs for and against the state of Utah. In cases involving the sState of Utah or an agency or 9 

officer thereof, an award of costs for or against the state shall be is at the discretion of the court unless 10 

specifically required or prohibited by law. 11 

(c) Costs of briefs and attachments, record, bonds and other expenses on appeal. The 12 

following may be taxed awarded as costs in favor of the prevailing party in the appeal: the actual costs of 13 

a printed or typewritten brief or memoranda and attachments not to exceed $3.00 for each page; actual 14 

costs incurred in the preparation and transmission of the record, including costs of the reporter's transcript 15 

unless otherwise ordered by the court; premiums paid for supersedeas or cost bonds to preserve rights 16 

pending appeal; and the fees for filing and docketing the appeal. 17 

(d) Bill of costs taxed after remittitur Costs in an appeal from a trial court. A party claiming costs 18 

shall, in an appeal from a trial court a party must claim costs in the trial court under Rule of Civil 19 

Procedure 54 within 15 14 days after the remittitur is filed with the clerk of the trial court, serve upon the 20 

adverse party and file with the clerk of the trial court an itemized and verified bill of costs. The adverse 21 

party may, within 5 days of service of the bill of costs, serve and file a notice of objection, together with a 22 

motion to have the costs taxed by the trial court. If there is no objection to the cost bill within the allotted 23 

time, the clerk of the trial court shall tax the costs as filed and enter judgment for the party entitled thereto, 24 

which judgment shall be entered in the judgment docket with the same force and effect as in the case of 25 

other judgments of record. If the cost bill of the prevailing party is timely opposed, the clerk, upon 26 

reasonable notice and hearing, shall tax the costs and enter a final determination and judgment which 27 

shall thereupon be entered in the judgment docket with the same force and effect as in the case of other 28 

judgments of record. The determination of the clerk shall be reviewable by the trial court upon the request 29 

of either party made within 5 days of the entry of the judgment. 30 

(e) Costs in other proceedings and agency appeals. In all other matters before the court, including 31 

appeals from an agency, costs may be allowed awarded as in cases on appeal from a trial court. Within 32 

15 14 days after the expiration of the time in which to file a petition for rehearing may be filed or within 15 33 

14 days after an order denying such a petition, the party to whom costs have been awarded may file with 34 

the clerk of the appellate court and serve upon the adverse party an itemized and verified bill of costs. 35 

The adverse party may, within 5 7 days after the service filing of the bill of costs file a notice of an 36 

objection and a motion to have the costs taxed by the clerk to the cost bill. If no objection to the cost bill is 37 
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filed within the allotted time, the clerk shall thereupon tax will award the costs and enter judgment against 38 

the adverse party. If the adverse party timely objects to the cost bill, the clerk, upon reasonable notice 39 

and hearing, shall will determine and settle the costs, tax the same, and enter a judgment shall be 40 

entered thereon against the adverse party for the amount awarded. The determination by the clerk shall 41 

be reviewable will be reviewed by the court upon the request of either party made within 5 7 days of the 42 

entry of judgment; unless otherwise ordered, oral argument shall is not be permitted. A An abstract of a 43 

judgment under this section paragraph may be filed with the clerk of in any district court in the state, who 44 

shall docket a certified copy of the same in the manner and with the same force and effect as judgments 45 

of the district court under Rule of Civil Procedure 58A. 46 

 47 
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