CJA 4-907 DRAFT: 8/14/24

- 1 Rule 4-907. Parenting and divorce orientation courses.
- 2 Intent:
- 3 To establish policies for the implementation of the mandatory parenting courses required by
- 4 Utah Code Section 30-3-11.381-9-103 and the mandatory divorce orientation course required
- 5 by Utah Code Section <del>30-3-11.4</del>81-4-105.
- 6 Applicability:
- 7 This rule shall apply to all proceedings in which Utah Code Section 30-3-11.381-9-103, Utah
- 8 Code Section 30-3-11.481-4-105, or a court order requires attendance.
- 9 Statement of the Rule:
- 10 (1) **Judicial education department.** The judicial branch education department shall:
- 11 (1)(A) establish uniform specifications and standards for the courses;
- 12 (1)(B) issue a request for proposals setting forth the uniform specifications and standards;
- 14 (1)(C) award contracts for live courses; and
- 15 (1)(D) produce the courses by effective formats.
- 16 (2) **Attendance.** Each party required to attend a course may attend the live course at any
- 17 location at which it is offered or take an interactive online course. The judicial branch education
- department may approve an equivalent alternative under exigent circumstances.
- 19 (3) **Unmarried parties.** Until the Council approves and implements a mandatory parenting
- 20 course for unmarried parties in a parentage action, an unmarried party in a parentage action
- 21 must attend the mandatory parenting course for married parties.
- 22 (4) **Certificate.** The course provider shall provide the party with a certificate of completion.
- 23 (5) **Notice.** When the petition is filed, the clerk shall notify the petitioner of the course
- 24 requirement. The petitioner shall notify the respondent of the requirement and file a certificate of
- 25 service of the notice.
- 26 (6) **Fees.**

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

34 35

36

37

38

- (6)(A) Any person attending a course shall present a valid form of photo identification and pay the course fee, or present a copy of an order waiving the fee or a motion to waive fees that has been filed with the court. If the court determines that the party is not indigent, the court may enter judgment for the amount of the course fee.
- (6)(B) The fee for attending or taking an online parenting course is \$35.00, which includes \$8.00 for deposit in the Children's Legal Defense Fund. The fee for attending or taking an online divorce orientation course is \$15.00 for petitioners who attend the course within 30 days of filing and for respondents who attend the course within 30 days of service. Otherwise, the fee for attending or taking an online divorce orientation course is \$30.00, which includes \$5.00 for deposit in the Children's Legal Defense Fund.
- (7) **Course provider.** The course provider shall provide the court with an alphabetized list of each party who completed the course on a monthly basis.

CJA 4-907 DRAFT: 8/14/24

39 Effective: May 1 November 1, 2024