1 Rule 19C. Motion practice for delinquency, traffic, and adult criminal matters.

2 (a) This rule applies to motion practice for delinquency, traffic, and adult criminal3 matters.

(b) Any defense, objection, or request, including request for rulings on the admissibility
of evidence, which is capable of determination without the trial of the general issue may
be raised prior to trial by written motion. A motion must state succinctly and with
particularity the grounds upon which it is made and the relief sought. A motion need not
be accompanied by a memorandum unless required by the court.

9 (c) The following must be raised at least seven days prior to the trial unless otherwise10 ordered by the court:

(1) defenses and objections based on defects in the petition, indictment, orinformation;

13 (2) motions to suppress evidence;

14 (3) requests for discovery where allowed;

15 (4) requests for severance of allegations, charges, minors, or defendants;

16 (5) motions to dismiss on the ground of double jeopardy; or

(6) motions challenging jurisdiction, unless good cause is shown why the issuecould not have been raised at least seven days prior to trial.

(d) Motions for a reduction of criminal offense pursuant to Utah Code section 76-3-402(2)
may be raised at any time after disposition upon proper service of the motion on the
appropriate prosecuting entity.

- 22 (e) Motions to suppress. A motion to suppress evidence must:
- 23 (1) describe the evidence sought to be suppressed;
- 24 (2) set forth the standing of the movant to make the application; and

(3) specify sufficient legal and factual grounds for the motion to give the opposing
 party reasonable notice of the issues and to enable the court to determine what
 proceedings are appropriate to address them.

If an evidentiary hearing is requested, no written response to the motion by the nonmoving party is required, unless the court orders otherwise. At the conclusion of the evidentiary hearing, the court may provide a reasonable time for all parties to respond to the issues of fact and law raised in the motion and at the hearing.

(f) Motions on the justification of the use of force pursuant to Utah Code section 76-2-309
must be filed in accordance with Rule 12(c)(3) of the Rules of Criminal Procedure. Rule
12(c)(3) of the Rules of Criminal Procedure is hereby adopted by the Rules of Juvenile
Procedure. at least 28 days before trial, unless there is good cause shown as to why the
issue could not have been raised at least 28 days before trial.

(g) When the facts in a petition, information, or indictment fail to inform a minor of the
nature and cause of the offense alleged so as to enable the minor to prepare a defense, the
minor may file a written motion for a bill of particulars. The motion must be filed at
arraignment or within 14 days thereafter, or at such later time as the court may permit.

(h) A motion made before trial must be determined before trial unless the court for good
cause orders that the ruling be deferred for later determination. Where factual issues are
involved in determining a motion, the court will state its findings on the record.

(i) Failure of the minor or defendant to timely raise defenses or objections or to make
requests which must be made prior to trial or at the time set by the court will constitute
waiver thereof, but the court for cause shown may grant relief from such waiver.

(j) A verbatim record will be made of all proceedings at the hearing on motions, includingsuch findings of fact and conclusions of law as are made orally.

(k) If the court grants a motion based on a defect in the institution of the prosecution or
in the petition or information, it may order that the minor or defendant be held in custody
for a reasonable and specified time pending the filing of a new petition or information.

- 52 Nothing in this rule will be deemed to affect provisions of law relating to a statute of
- 53 limitations.
- 54 Effective November 1, 2024