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Rule 26. General provisions governing disclosure and discovery.

(a) Disclosure. This rule applies unless changed or supplemented by a rule governing

disclosure and discovery in a practice area.

(1) Initial disclosures. Except in actions governed by Rule 65B, and unless otherwise
directed by the court, a party must, without waiting for a discovery request, serve on

the other parties:

(A) the name and, if known, the physical address, email address, and telephone

number of:

(i) each individual likely to have discoverable information supporting its
claims or defenses, unless solely for impeachment, identifying the subjects of

the information; and

(ii) each fact witness the party may call in its case-in-chief and, except for an

adverse party, a summary of the expected testimony.

(B) a copy of all documents, data compilations, electronically stored information,
and tangible things in the possession or control of the party that the party may
offer in its case-in-chief, except charts, summaries, and demonstrative exhibits that

have not yet been prepared and must be disclosed in accordance with paragraph
(@)();
(C) a computation of any damages claimed and a copy of all discoverable

documents or evidentiary material on which such computation is based, including

materials about the nature and extent of injuries suffered;

(D) a copy of any agreement under which any person may be liable to satisfy part
or all of a judgment or to indemnify or reimburse for payments made to satisfy the

judgment; and

(E) a copy of all documents to which a party refers in its pleadings.
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(2) Timing of initial disclosures. The disclosures required by paragraph (a)(1) must

be served on the other parties:

(A) by a plaintiff within 14 days after the filing of the first answer to that plaintiff’s

complaint; and

(B) by a defendant within 28 days after the filing of that defendant’s first answer

to the complaint.
(3) Expert testimony.

(A) Witnesses who must provide a written report. A party must serve on the
other parties a written report from any person who may be used at trial to present
evidence under Rule 702 of the Utah Rules of Evidence and who is retained or
specially employed to provide expert testimony in the case or whose duties as an
employee of the party regularly involve giving expert testimony. The report must

contain:

(i) a complete statement of all opinions the witness will express and the basis

and reasons for them;
(i) the facts or data considered by the witness in forming those opinions;
(iii) any exhibits that will be used to summarize or support those opinions;

(iv) the witness’s qualifications, including a list of all publications authored by

the witness in the previous ten years;

(v) alist of all other cases in which, during the previous four years, the witness
testified as an expert at trial or by deposition, and all cases in which a report

authored by the witness was disclosed to any other party; and

(vi) a statement of the compensation to be paid for the witness’s study and

testimony in the case.

(B) Summary of non-retained expert testimony. If a party intends to present

evidence at trial under Rule 702 of the Utah Rules of Evidence from any person
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other than an expert witness who is retained or specially employed to provide
testimony in the case or a person whose duties as an employee of the party
regularly involve giving expert testimony, that party must serve on the other
parties a written summary of the facts and opinions to which the witness is
expected to testify in accordance with the deadlines set forth in paragraph

(@)(3)(C). Such a witness cannot be required to provide a report pursuant to
paragraph (a)(3)(A).
(C) Timing for expert reports and summaries. A party must serve expert reports

and summaries at the times and in the sequence that the court orders. Absent a

court order, the reports and summaries must be served as follows:

(i) The party who bears the burden of proof on the issue for which expert
testimony is offered must serve on the other parties the report or summary
required by paragraph (a)(3)(A) or (a)(3)(B) no later than 28 days after the close

of fact discovery.

(ii) The party who does not bear the burden of proof on the issue for which
expert testimony is offered must serve on the other parties the report or
summary required by paragraph (a)(3)(A) or (a)(3)(B) no later than 56 days
after service of the written report required in paragraph (a)(3)(A) or the

summary required in paragraph (a)(3)(B).

(iii) If the party who bears the burden of proof on an issue wants to designate
rebuttal expert witnesses, it must serve on the other parties the report required
by paragraph (a)(3)(A) no later than 28 days after service of the written report
required in paragraph (a)(3)(A) or the summary required in paragraph
(a)(3)(B). The court may preclude an expert disclosed only as a rebuttal expert

from testifying in the case in chief for the proponent of the expert.

(D) Depositions of expert witnesses.
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78 (i) Any witness who provides a written report may be deposed by any party
79 against whom the opinion offered by such witness may be used at trial. No
80 such witness may be deposed for more than six hours and the party or parties
81 taking the deposition must pay the expert’s reasonable hourly fee for
82 attendance at, and up to four hours of fees incurred in preparing for, the
83 deposition.
84 Any non-retained expert witness may be deposed by any party against whom
85 the opinion offered by such witness may be used at trial. A deposition of such
86 a witness may not exceed four hours and, unless manifest injustice would
87 result, the party taking the deposition must pay the expert’s reasonable hourly
88 fee for attendance at the deposition.
89 (E) Expert discovery. Expert discovery must be completed no later than 28 days
90 after the last expert report or summary is served pursuant to paragraph (a)(3).
91 (4) Pretrial disclosures.
92 (A) A party must, without waiting for a discovery request, serve on the other
93 parties:
94 (i) the name and, if not previously provided, the physical address, email
95 address, and telephone number of each witness, unless solely for
96 impeachment, separately identifying witnesses the party will call and
97 witnesses the party may call;
98 (ii) the name of witnesses whose testimony is expected to be presented by
99 transcript of a deposition;

100 (iii) designations of the proposed deposition testimony; and

101 (iv) a copy of each exhibit, including charts, summaries, and demonstrative

102 exhibits, unless solely for impeachment, separately identifying those which the

103 party will offer and those which the party may offer.
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104 (B) Unless the court orders otherwise, disclosure required by paragraph (a)(4)(A)
105 must be served on the other parties no later than 28 days before trial. Disclosures
106 required by paragraph (a)(4)(A)(i) and (a)(4)(A)(ii) must also be filed on the date
107 that they are served. No later than 14 days before trial, a party must serve any
108 counter designations of deposition testimony and any objections and grounds for
109 the objections to the use of any deposition, witness, or exhibit if the grounds for
110 the objection are apparent before trial. Other than objections under Rules 402 and
111 403 of the Utah Rules of Evidence, other objections not listed are waived unless
112 excused by the court for good cause.

113 (5) Form of disclosure and discovery production. Rule 34 of the Utah Rules of Civil
114 Procedure governs the form in which all documents, data compilations, electronically
115 stored information, tangible things, and evidentiary material must be produced under
116 this Rule.

117  (b) Discovery scope.

118 (1) In general. Parties may discover any matter, not privileged, which is relevant to
119 the claim or defense of any party if the discovery satisfies the standards of
120 proportionality set forth below.

121 (2) Privileged matters.

122 (A) Privileged matters that are not discoverable or admissible in any proceeding
123 of any kind or character include:

124 (i) all information in any form provided during and created specifically as part
125 of a request for an investigation, the investigation, findings, or conclusions of
126 peer review, care review, or quality assurance processes of any organization of
127 health care providers as defined in Utah Code Title 78B, Chapter 3, Part 4, Utah
128 Health Care Malpractice Act, for the purpose of evaluating care provided to

129 reduce morbidity and mortality or to improve the quality of medical care, or
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for the purpose of peer review of the ethics, competence, or professional

conduct of any health care provider; and

(ii) except as provided in paragraph (b)(2)(C), (D), or (E), all communications,
materials, and information in any form specifically created for or during a
medical candor process under Utah Code Title 78B, Chapter 3, Part 4a, Utah
Medical Candor Act, including any findings or conclusions from the

investigation and any offer of compensation.

(B) Disclosure or use in a medical candor process of any communication, material,
or information in any form that contains any information described in paragraph
(b)(2)(A)(i) does not waive any privilege or protection against admissibility or

discovery of the information under paragraph (b)(2)(A)().

(C) Any communication, material, or information in any form that is made or
provided in the ordinary course of business, including a medical record or a
business record, that is otherwise discoverable or admissible and is not created for
or during a medical candor process is not privileged by the use or disclosure of the

communication, material or information during a medical candor process.
(D)

(i) Any information that is required to be documented in a patient’s medical
record under state or federal law is not privileged by the use or disclosure of

the information during a medical candor process.

(ii) Information described in paragraph (b)(2)(D)(i) does not include an
individual’s mental impressions, conclusions, or opinions that are formed
outside the course and scope of the patient’s care and treatment and are used

or disclosed in a medial candor process.

(E)
(i) Any communication, material or information in any form that is provided

to an affected party before the affected party’s written agreement to participate
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157 in a medical candor process is not privileged by the use or disclosure of the
158 communication, material, or information during a medical candor process.
159 (ii) Any communication, material, or information described in paragraph
160 (b)(2)(E)(i) does not include a written notice described in Utah Code section
161 78B-3-452.

162 (F) The terms defined in Utah Code section 78B-3-450 apply to paragraphs
163 (b)(2)(A)(i), (B), (C), (D), and (E).

164 (G) Nothing in this paragraph (b)(2) prevents a party from raising any other
165 privileges provided by law or rule as to the admissibility or discovery of any
166 communication, information, or material described in paragraph (b)(2)(A), (B),
167 (C), (D), or (E).

168 (3) Proportionality. Discovery and discovery requests are proportional if:

169 (A) the discovery is reasonable, considering the needs of the case, the amount in
170 controversy, the complexity of the case, the parties’ resources, the importance of
171 the issues, and the importance of the discovery in resolving the issues;

172 (B) the likely benefits of the proposed discovery outweigh the burden or expense;
173 (C) the discovery is consistent with the overall case management and will further
174 the just, speedy, and inexpensive determination of the case;

175 (D) the discovery is not unreasonably cumulative or duplicative;

176 (E) the information cannot be obtained from another source that is more
177 convenient, less burdensome, or less expensive; and

178 (F) the party seeking discovery has not had sufficient opportunity to obtain the
179 information by discovery or otherwise, taking into account the parties’ relative

180 access to the information.
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181 (4) Burden. The party seeking discovery always has the burden of showing
182 proportionality and relevance. To ensure proportionality, the court may enter orders
183 under Rule 37 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure.

184 (5) Electronically stored information. A party claiming that electronically stored
185 information is not reasonably accessible because of undue burden or cost must
186 describe the source of the electronically stored information, the nature and extent of
187 the burden, the nature of the information not provided, and any other information
188 that will enable other parties to evaluate the claim.

189 (6) Trial preparation materials. A party may obtain otherwise discoverable
190 documents and tangible things prepared in anticipation of litigation or for trial by or
191 for another party or by or for that other party’s representative (including the party’s
192 attorney, consultant, surety, indemnitor, insurer, or agent) only upon a showing that
193 the party seeking discovery has substantial need of the materials and that the party is
194 unable without undue hardship to obtain substantially equivalent materials by other
195 means. In ordering discovery of such materials, the court must protect against
196 disclosure of the mental impressions, conclusions, opinions, or legal theories of an
197 attorney or other representative of a party.

198 (7) Statement previously made about the action. A party may obtain without the
199 showing required in paragraph (b)(5) a statement concerning the action or its subject
200 matter previously made by that party. Upon request, a person not a party may obtain
201 without the required showing a statement about the action or its subject matter
202 previously made by that person. If the request is refused, the person may move for a
203 court order under Rule 37 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure. A statement
204 previously made is (A) a written statement signed or approved by the person making
205 it, or (B) a stenographic, mechanical, electronic, or other recording, or a transcription
206 thereof, which is a substantially verbatim recital of an oral statement by the person
207 making it and contemporaneously recorded.

208 (8) Trial preparation; experts.
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209 (A) Trial-preparation protection for draft reports or summaries. Paragraph (b)(6)
210 protects drafts of any report or summary required under paragraphs (a)(3)(A) or
211 (a)(3)(B), regardless of the form in which the draft is recorded.

212 (B) Trial-preparation protection for communications between a party’s attorney
213 and expert witnesses. Paragraph (b)(6) protects communications between the
214 party’s attorney and any witness required to provide disclosures under paragraph
215 (a)(3), regardless of the form of the communications, except to the extent that the
216 communications:

217 (i) relate to compensation for the expert’s study or testimony;

218 (ii) identify facts or data that the party’s attorney provided and that the expert
219 considered in forming the opinions to be expressed; or

220 (iii) identify assumptions that the party’s attorney provided and that the expert
221 relied on in forming the opinions to be expressed.

222 (C) Expert employed only for trial preparation. Ordinarily, a party may not, by
223 interrogatories or otherwise, discover facts known or opinions held by an expert
224 who has been retained or specially employed by another party in anticipation of
225 litigation or to prepare for trial and who is not expected to be called as a witness
226 at trial. A party may do so only:

227 (i) as provided in Rule 35(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure; or

228 (ii) on showing exceptional circumstances under which it is impracticable for
229 the party to obtain facts or opinions on the same subject by other means.

230 (9) Claims of privilege or protection of trial preparation materials.

231 (A) Information withheld. If a party withholds discoverable information by
232 claiming that it is privileged or prepared in anticipation of litigation or for trial,

233 the party must make the claim expressly and must describe the nature of the
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234 documents, communications, or things not produced in a manner that, without
235 revealing the information itself, will enable other parties to evaluate the claim.
236 (B) Information produced. If a party produces information that the party claims
237 is privileged or prepared in anticipation of litigation or for trial, the producing
238 party may notify any receiving party of the claim and the basis for it. After being
239 notified, a receiving party must promptly return, sequester, or destroy the
240 specified information and any copies it has and may not use or disclose the
241 information until the claim is resolved. A receiving party may promptly present
242 the information to the court under seal for a determination of the claim. If the
243 receiving party disclosed the information before being notified, it must take
244 reasonable steps to retrieve it. The producing party must preserve the information
245 until the claim is resolved.

246  (c) Methods, sequence, and timing of discovery; limits on standard fact discovery;

247  extraordinary discovery.

248 (1) Methods of discovery. Parties may obtain discovery by one or more of the
249 following methods: depositions upon oral examination or written questions; written
250 interrogatories; production of documents or things or permission to enter upon land
251 or other property, for inspection and other purposes; physical and mental
252 examinations; requests for admission; and subpoenas other than for a court hearing
253 or trial.

254 (2) Sequence and timing of discovery. Methods of discovery may be used in any
255 sequence, and the fact that a party is conducting discovery must not delay any other
256 party’s discovery. A party may not seek discovery from any source before that party’s
257 initial disclosure obligations are satisfied.

258 (3) Limits on fact discovery. Fact discovery per side (plaintiffs collectively,
259 defendants collectively, and third-party defendants collectively) is presumptively as

260 follows, but may be modified by the court upon a motion of one or more of the parties.
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261 Fact discovery must be completed no later than 210 days after the first defendant’s
262 tirst disclosure is due. Each side is entitled to:

263 (i) serve the following discovery requests as provided in Rules 33, 34, and 36
264 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure:

265 (a) 20 Interrogatories (including all discrete subparts);

266 (b) 25 Requests for Production (including all discrete subparts); and

267 (c) 30 Requests for Admission (including all discrete subparts); and

268 (ii) take ten depositions as provided in Rule 30 of the Utah Rules of Civil
269 Procedure.

270 (4) Extraordinary discovery. To obtain discovery beyond the limits established in
271 paragraph (c)(3) or by the court, a party must, before the close of fact discovery and
272 after reaching the limits of discovery imposed by these rules or by the court, file a
273 request for extraordinary discovery under Rule 37(a) of the Utah Rules of Civil
274 Procedure, whether or not the request is opposed, establishing good cause for the
275 relief requested.

276  (d) Requirements for disclosure or response; disclosure or response by an

277  organization; failure to disclose; initial and supplemental disclosures and responses.

278 (1) A party must make disclosures and responses to discovery based on the
279 information then known or reasonably available to the party.

280 (2) If the party providing disclosure or responding to discovery is a corporation,
281 partnership, association, or governmental agency, the party must act through one or
282 more officers, directors, managing agents, or other persons who must make
283 disclosures and responses to discovery based on the information then known or
284 reasonably available to the party.

285 (3) A party is not excused from making disclosures or responses because the party has

286 not completed investigating the case, the party challenges the sufficiency of another
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party’s disclosures or responses, or another party has not made disclosures or

responses.

(4) If a party fails to disclose or to supplement timely a disclosure or response to
discovery, that party may not use the undisclosed witness, document, or material at
any hearing or trial unless the failure is harmless or the party shows good cause for

the failure.

() If a party learns that a disclosure or response is incomplete or incorrect in some
important way, the party must timely serve on the other parties the additional or
correct information if it has not been made known to the other parties. The
supplemental disclosure or response must state why the additional or correct

information was not previously provided.

(e) Signing discovery requests, responses, and objections. Every disclosure, request for
discovery, response to a request for discovery, and objection to a request for discovery
must be in writing and signed by at least one attorney of record or by the party if the
party is not represented. The signature of the attorney or party is a certification under
Rule 11 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure. If a request or response is not signed, the
receiving party does not need to take any action with respect to it. If a certification is
made in violation of the rule, the court, upon motion or upon its own initiative, may take

any action authorized by Rule 11 or Rule 37(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure.

(f) Filing. Except as required by these rules or ordered by the court, a party must not file
with the court a disclosure, a request for discovery, or a response to a request for
discovery, but must file only the certificate of service stating that the disclosure, request

for discovery, or response has been served on the other parties and the date of service.
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