## 1 Rule 52. Appeals.

(a) Except as otherwise provided by <u>law the Utah Rules of Appellate Procedure</u>, an
appeal may be taken from the juvenile court to the Court of Appeals from a final
judgment, order, or decree by filing a Notice of Appeal with the <u>clerk of the juvenile court</u>
<u>clerk within the timeframes set out below</u> 30 days after the entry of the judgment, order,
or decree appealed from.

- 7 (b)(1) Appeals taken from juvenile court orders related to abuse, neglect,
   8 dependency, termination andor restoration of parental rights, or adoption
   9 proceedings must be filed within 15 days of after the entry of the order appealed
   10 from.
- (2) Appeals taken from juvenile court orders not related to the categories set out
   in paragraph (a)(1) must be filed within 30 days after the entry of the judgment,
   order, or decree appealed from. In non-delinquency cases, a Notice of Appeal of a
   party who is not a minor or a state agency must be signed by each party himself
   or herself.
- (c)(b) An appeal from an interlocutory order may be sought by any party by filing a
  petition for permission to appeal from the interlocutory order with the Court of Appeals
  within 21 days after the entry of the order of the juvenile court.

(c) In non-delinquency cases, a Notice of Appeal of a party who is not a minor or a state
agency must be personally signed by each party.

(d) The Utah Rules of Appellate Procedure shall-govern the appeal process, including
preparation of the record and transcript.

(e) No separate order of the juvenile court directing a county to pay transcript costs is
required to file a Request for Transcript in an appeal by an impecunious party who was
represented during the juvenile court proceedings by court-appointed counsel.

(f) A party claiming entitlement to court-appointed counsel has a continuing duty toinform the court of any material changes that affect indigent status. If at any stage in the

trial or appellate proceedings the court makes a finding that a party does not qualify, or
no longer qualifies for indigent status, the court may order the party to reimburse the
county or municipality for the reasonable value of the services rendered, including all
costs.

**32** *Effective May* 1, 2024