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Rule 108. Objection to court commissioner's recommendation. 1 

(a) A recommendation of a court commissioner is the order of the court until modified 2 

by the court. A party may file a written objection to the recommendation within 14 days 3 

after the recommendation is made in open court or, if the court commissioner takes the 4 

matter under advisement, within 14 days after the minute entry of the recommendation 5 

is served. A judge’s counter-signature on the commissioner’s recommendation does not 6 

affect the review of an objection. 7 

(b) The objection must identify succinctly and with particularity the findings of fact, the 8 

conclusions of law, or the part of the recommendation to which the objection is made 9 

and state the relief sought. The memorandum in support of the objection must explain 10 

succinctly and with particularity why the findings, conclusions, or recommendation are 11 

incorrect. The time for filing, length and content of memoranda, affidavits, and request 12 

to submit for decision are as stated for motions in Rule 7. 13 

(c) If there has been a substantial change of circumstances since the commissioner’s 14 

recommendation, the judge may, in the interests of judicial economy, consider new 15 

evidence. Otherwise, any evidence, whether by proffer, testimony or exhibit, not 16 

presented to the commissioner shall not be presented to the judge. 17 

(d)(1) The judge may hold a hearing on any objection. 18 

(d)(2) If the hearing before the commissioner was held under Utah Code Title 62A, 19 

Chapter 15, Part 6Title 26B, Chapter 5, Part3, Utah State Hospital and Other Mental 20 

Health Facilities, Utah Code Title 78B, Chapter 7, Protective Orders, or on an order to 21 

show cause for the enforcement of a judgment, any party has the right, upon request, to 22 

present testimony and other evidence on genuine issues of material fact. 23 

(d)(3) If the hearing before the commissioner was in a domestic relations matter other 24 

than a cohabitant abuse protective order, any party has the right, upon request: 25 
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(d)(3)(A) to present testimony and other evidence on genuine issues of material fact 26 

relevant to custody; and 27 

(d)(3)(B) to a hearing at which the judge may require testimony or proffers of testimony 28 

on genuine issues of material fact relevant to issues other than custody. 29 

(e) If a party does not request a hearing, the judge may hold a hearing or review the 30 

record of evidence, whether by proffer, testimony or exhibit, before the commissioner. 31 

(f) The judge will make independent findings of fact and conclusions of law based on 32 

the evidence, whether by proffer, testimony or exhibit, presented to the judge, or, if 33 

there was no hearing before the judge, based on the evidence presented to the 34 

commissioner. 35 

 36 

Effective:  37 


