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Rule 4. Appeal as of right: when taken.

(a) Appeal froem-final judgment-and-erderas of right. Except as provided in paragraph

(a)(1) or (a)(2), }in a case in which an appeal is permitted as a matter of right from the

trial court to the appellate court, the notice of appeal required by Rule 3 mustshall be
tiled with the clerk of the trial court within 30 days after the date of entry of the

judgment or order appealed from.

(1)Hewever, wWhen a judgment or order is entered in a statutory forcible entry
or unlawful detainer action, the notice of appeal required by Rule 3 mustshall be
filed with the clerk of the trial court within 10 days after the date of entry of the
judgment or order appealed from.

(2) When an order is entered denving, in whole or in part, a motion to dismiss

under Utah Code section 78B-25-103, the notice of appeal must be filed with the

clerk of the trial court within 21 days after the date of entry of the order appealed

from.

(b) Time for appeal extended by certain motions.

(1) If a party timely files in the trial court any of the following, the time for all

parties to appeal from the judgment runs from the entry of the dispositive order:

(A) A motion for judgment under Rule 50(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil

Procedure;

(B) A motion to amend or make additional findings of fact, whether or not
an alteration of the judgment would be required if the motion is granted,

under Rule 52(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure;

(C) A motion to alter or amend the judgment under Rule 59 of the Utah

Rules of Civil Procedure;

(D) A motion for a new trial under Rule 59 of the Utah Rules of Civil

Procedure;



https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urap/view.html?title=Rule%203%20Appeal%20as%20of%20right:%20how%20taken.&rule=03.htm
https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urap/view.html?title=Rule%203%20Appeal%20as%20of%20right:%20how%20taken.&rule=03.htm
https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urcp/view.html?title=Rule%2050%20Judgment%20as%20a%20matter%20of%20law%20in%20a%20jury%20trial;%20related%20motion%20for%20a%20new%20trial;%20conditional%20ruling.&rule=urcp050.html
https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urcp/view.html?title=Rule%2052%20Findings%20by%20the%20court;%20correction%20of%20the%20record.&rule=urcp052.html
https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urcp/view.html?title=Rule%2059%20New%20trials;%20amendments%20of%20judgment.&rule=urcp059.html
https://www.utcourts.gov/resources/rules/urcp/view.html?title=Rule%2059%20New%20trials;%20amendments%20of%20judgment.&rule=urcp059.html
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(E) A motion for relief under Rule 60(b) of the Utah Rules of Civil
Procedure if the motion is filed no later than 28 days after the judgment is

entered;

(F) A motion or claim for attorney fees under Rule 73 of the Utah Rules of

Civil Procedure; or

(G) A motion for a new trial under Rule 24 of the Utah Rules of Criminal

Procedure.

(2) A notice of appeal filed after announcement or entry of judgment, but before
entry of an order disposing of any motion listed in paragraph (b), shall be treated
as filed after entry of the order and on the day thereof, except that such a notice
of appeal is effective to appeal only from the underlying judgment. To appeal
from a final order disposing of any motion listed in paragraph (b), a party must
file a notice of appeal or an amended notice of appeal within the prescribed time

measured from the entry of the order.

(c) Filing prior to entry of judgment or order. A notice of appeal filed after the
announcement of a decision, judgment, or order but before entry of the judgment or

order shall be treated as filed after such entry and on the day thereof.

(d) Additional or cross-appeal. If a timely notice of appeal is filed by a party, any other
party may file a notice of appeal within 14 days after the date on which the first notice
of appeal was filed, or within the time otherwise prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of

this rule, whichever period last expires.
(e) Motion for extension of time.

(1) The trial court, upon a showing of good cause, may extend the time for filing
a notice of appeal upon motion filed before the expiration of the time prescribed
by paragraphs (a) and (b) of this rule. Responses to such motions for an extension
of time are disfavored and the court may rule at any time after the filing of the

motion. No extension shall exceed 30 days beyond the prescribed time or 14 days
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beyond the date of entry of the order granting the motion, whichever occurs

later.

(2) The trial court, upon a showing of good cause or excusable neglect, may
extend the time for filing a notice of appeal upon motion filed not later than 30
days after the expiration of the time prescribed by paragraphs (a) and (b) of this
rule. The court may rule at any time after the filing of the motion. That a movant
did not file a notice of appeal to which paragraph (c) would apply is not relevant
to the determination of good cause or excusable neglect. No extension shall
exceed 30 days beyond the prescribed time or 14 days beyond the date of entry of

the order granting the motion, whichever occurs later.

(f) Motion to reinstate period for filing a direct appeal in criminal cases. Upon a
showing that a criminal defendant was deprived of the right to appeal, the trial court
shall reinstate the thirty-day period for filing a direct appeal. A defendant seeking such
reinstatement shall file a written motion in the sentencing court and serve the
prosecuting entity. If the defendant is not represented and is indigent, the court shall
appoint counsel. The prosecutor shall have 30 days after service of the motion to file a
written response. If the prosecutor opposes the motion, the trial court shall set a hearing
at which the parties may present evidence. If the trial court finds by a preponderance of
the evidence that the defendant has demonstrated that the defendant was deprived of
the right to appeal, it shall enter an order reinstating the time for appeal. The
defendant's notice of appeal must be filed with the clerk of the trial court within 30 days

after the date of entry of the order.
(g) Motion to reinstate period for filing a direct appeal in civil cases.

(1) The trial court shall reinstate the thirty-day period for filing a direct appeal if

the trial court finds by a preponderance of the evidence that:



79 (A) The party seeking to appeal lacked actual notice of the entry of

80 judgment at a time that would have allowed the party to file a timely
81 motion under paragraph (e) of this rule;

82 (B) The party seeking to appeal exercised reasonable diligence in
83 monitoring the proceedings; and

84 (C) The party, if any, responsible for serving the judgment under Rule
85 58A(d) of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure did not promptly serve a copy
86 of the signed judgment on the party seeking to appeal.

87 (2) A party seeking such reinstatement shall file a written motion in the trial
88 court within one year from the entry of judgment. The party shall comply with
89 Rule 7 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure and shall serve each of the parties in
90 accordance with Rule 5 of the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure.

91 (3) If the trial court enters an order reinstating the time for filing a direct appeal,
92 a notice of appeal must be filed within 30 days after the date of entry of the
93 order.

94 | Effective May 3, 2023
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