
Rule 9. Detention hearings; scheduling; hearing procedure. 1 

(a) The officer in charge of the detention facility shall provide to the court a copy of the 2 

report required by Section Utah Code section 78A-6-11280-6-201. 3 

(b) If a minor is admitted into a detention facility without a warrant, the court shall 4 

make a determination whether there is probable cause for the minor’s arrest, within 24 5 

hours of the minor’s admission to detention including weekends and holidays. 6 

(c) The court shall hold a detention hearing within 48 hours of the minor's admission to 7 

detention. A minor may not be held in a detention facility longer than 48 hours before a 8 

detention hearing, excluding weekends and holidays, unless the court has entered an 9 

order for continued detention. The officer in charge of the detention facility shall notify 10 

the minor, parent, guardian or custodian and attorney of the date, time, place and 11 

manner of such hearing. 12 

(d) The court may at any time order the release of a minor whether a detention hearing 13 

is held or not. 14 

(e) A probable cause determination and detention hearing may occur concurrently so 15 

long as the probable cause determination and the detention hearing occur pursuant to 16 

the time frames in paragraphs (b) and (c). 17 

(f) The court may order a minor to be held in the detention facility or placed in another 18 

appropriate facility, subject to further order of the court, only if the court finds at the 19 

detention hearing that: 20 

 (f)(1) releasing the minor to the minor’s parents, guardian, or custodian presents 21 

an unreasonable risk to public safety;  22 

 (f)(2) less restrictive nonresidential alternatives to detention have been 23 

considered and, where appropriate, attempted; and 24 

 (f)(3) the minor is eligible for detention under the division guidelines for 25 

detention admission established by the Division of Juvenile Justice Services, 26 



under Utah Code Ssections 62A-7-20280-5-501 and under Section 78A-6-11280-6-27 

201. 28 

(g) At the beginning of the detention hearing, the court shall advise all persons present 29 

as to the reasons or allegations giving rise to the minor's admission to detention and the 30 

limited scope and purpose of the hearing. If the minor is to be arraigned at the 31 

detention hearing, the provisions of Rules 24 and 26 shall apply. 32 

(h) The court may receive any information, including hearsay and opinion, that is 33 

relevant to the decision whether to detain or release the minor. Privileged 34 

communications may be introduced only in accordance with the Utah Rules of 35 

Evidence. 36 

(i) A detention hearing may be held without the presence of the minor's parent, 37 

guardian or custodian if they fail to appear after receiving notice. The court may delay 38 

the hearing for up to 48 hours to permit the parent, guardian or custodian to be present 39 

or may proceed subject to the rights of the parent, guardian or custodian. The court may 40 

appoint counsel for the minor with or without the minor's request. 41 

(j) If the court determines that no probable cause exists for the arrest or the offense or 42 

condition alleged does not meet the requirements in Rule 6 as a basis for admission, it 43 

shall order the minor released immediately without restrictions.  44 

(k) If the court determines that a less restrictive alternative to detention is appropriate it 45 

may place the minor on home detention, another alternative program, or order the 46 

minor's release upon compliance with certain conditions pending further proceedings. 47 

Such conditions may include: 48 

 (k)(1) a requirement that the minor remain in the physical care and custody of a 49 

parent, guardian, custodian or other suitable person; 50 

 (k)(2) a restriction on the minor's travel, associations or residence during the 51 

period of the minor's release; and 52 



 (k)(3) other requirements deemed reasonably necessary and consistent with the 53 

criteria for detaining the minor. 54 

(I) If the court determines that probable cause exists as to the offense or condition 55 

alleged as a basis for the minor's admission to detention but that the minor can be safely 56 

left in the care and custody of the parent, guardian or custodian present at the hearing, 57 

it may order release of the minor upon the promise of the minor and the parent, 58 

guardian or custodian to return to court for further proceedings when notified. 59 

(m) If the court determines that the offense is one governed by Utah Code § sections 60 

78A-6-703.280-6-502, §78A-6-703.380-6-503, §78A-6-703.580-6-504, or §78A-6-703.680-6-61 

505, the court may by issuance of a warrant of arrest order the minor committed to the 62 

county jail in accordance with Utah Code § section 62A-7-20180-6-204. 63 

(n) Any predisposition order to detention shall be reviewed by the court once every 64 

seven days, unless the minor is ordered to home detention or an alternative detention 65 

program. Predisposition orders to home detention or an alternative detention program 66 

shall be reviewed by the court once every 15 days. The court may, on its own motion or 67 

on the motion of any party, schedule a detention review hearing at any time. 68 

Effective September 1, 2021 69 


