- 1 Rule 14-415. Failure to satisfy MCLE requirements; notice; appeal procedures;
- 2 reinstatement; waivers and extensions; deferrals.
- 3 (a) Failure to comply; petition for suspension. A lawyer <u>or paralegal</u> <u>practitioner</u> who
- 4 fails to comply with reporting provisions of Rule 14-414 will be assessed a late fee. [A]
- 5 (a)(1) On September 15, a lawyer who fails to comply with Rule 14-414 or who files a
- 6 Certificate of Compliance showing that [he or she] the lawyer has failed to complete the
- 7 required number of hours of MCLE will be administratively suspended from the practice
- 8 of law, beginning on October 1, and notified [that a petition for the lawyer's suspension
- 9 from the practice of law will be submitted to the Supreme Court unless all requirements
- 10 are completed and reported within 30 days by of the administrative suspension by
- 11 <u>certified mail, return receipt requested.</u>
- 12 (a)(2) On September 15, failure of a paralegal practitioner to comply with Rule 14-414,
- or receipt of a Certificate of Compliance showing that the paralegal practitioner has
- failed to complete the required number of hours of MCLE, will result in administrative
- suspension of the paralegal practitioner's license, beginning on October 1, and
- 16 <u>notification of the administrative suspension by certified mail, return receipt requested.</u>
- 17 [(a)(1) The lawyer will have the opportunity during the 30-day period to file an affidavit
- 18 with the Board disclosing facts demonstrating that the lawyer's noncompliance was not
- 19 willful and to tender such documents that, if accepted, would cure the delinquency. A
- 20 hearing before the Board will be granted if requested.
- 21 (a)(2) If, after a hearing or a failure to cure the delinguency by satisfactory affidavit and
- 22 compliance, the lawyer is suspended by the Supreme Court, the lawyer will be notified

- 23 by certified mail, return receipt requested.]
- 24 (b) Reinstatement. A lawyer <u>or paralegal practitioner</u> suspended [by the Supreme
- 25 Court under the provisions of this rule may be reinstated by the Court upon motion of
- the Board showing that the lawyer <u>or paralegal practitioner</u> has cured the delinquency
- for which the lawyer or paralegal practitioner has been suspended and paid all required
- 28 fees. [If a lawyer has been suspended by the Supreme Court for non-compliance with
- 29 this article, the lawyer must then comply with all applicable rules to be eligible to return
- 30 to active or inactive status.]
- 31 (c) Waivers and extensions of time. For good cause shown, the Board may use its
- discretion in cases involving hardship or extenuating circumstances to grant waivers of
- the minimum MCLE requirements or extensions of time within which to fulfill the
- requirements. Active Utah lawyers will not be granted a waiver of the CLE requirements
- in Utah if they are living outside of Utah and practicing law in other jurisdictions. These
- 36 Active Utah lawyers must comply with the Utah CLE requirements or change from active
- 37 to inactive status. Active Utah paralegal practitioners will not be granted a waiver of the
- 38 CLE requirements in Utah if they are living outside of Utah and practicing in other
- 39 jurisdictions. These Active Utah paralegal practitioners must comply with the Utah CLE
- 40 requirements or change from active to inactive status.
- 41 (d) Deferrals. The Board may defer MCLE requirements in the event of the lawyer's or
- 42 <u>paralegal practitioner's serious illness.</u>
- 43 (e) Petition to appeal. Any lawyer or paralegal practitioner who is aggrieved by any
- 44 decision of the Board under this rule may, within 30 days from the date of the notice of
- decision, appeal to the Board by filing a petition setting forth the decision and the relief

- sought along with the factual and legal basis. Unless a petition is filed, the Board's
- 47 decision is final.
- (e)(1) The Board may approve a petition without hearing or may set a date for hearing. If
- 49 the Board determines to hold a hearing, the lawyer <u>or paralegal practitioner</u> will have at
- least 10 days notice of the time and place set for the hearing. Testimony taken at the
- 51 hearing will be under oath. The Board shall enter written findings of fact, conclusions of
- law and the decision on each petition. A copy will be sent by certified mail, return
- receipt requested, to the lawyer <u>or paralegal practitioner</u>.
- (e)(2) The Board may grant the petitioner an extension of time within which to comply
- 55 with this rule.
- (e)(3) Decisions of the Board are final and are not subject to further contest, unless the
- 57 decision was a denial of a request for a waiver or a recommendation of suspension of
- 58 the lawyer's or paralegal practitioner's license [to practice].
- 59 (f) Appeal to Supreme Court. A decision denying a request for waiver or a decision to
- suspend the lawyer <u>or paralegal practitioner</u> is final under paragraph (e)(3) unless within
- 30 days after service of the findings of fact, conclusions of law and decision, the lawyer
- or paralegal practitioner files a written notice of appeal with the Supreme Court.
- 63 (f)(1) Transcripts. To perfect an appeal to the Supreme Court, the lawyer or paralegal
- 64 <u>practitioner must</u>, at the lawyer's <u>or paralegal practitioner's</u> expense, obtain a transcript
- of the proceedings from the Board. If testimony was taken before the Board, the Board
- will certify that the transcript contains a fair and accurate report of the proceedings. The
- Board will prepare and certify a transcript of all orders and other documents pertinent to

- the proceeding before it and file these promptly with the clerk of the Supreme Court. The
- 69 matter will be heard by the Supreme Court under this article and other applicable rules.
- 70 (f)(2) The time set forth in this article for filing notices of appeal are jurisdictional. The
- Board or the Supreme Court, as to appeals pending before each such body, may, for
- good cause shown either extend the time for the filing or certification of any material or
- dismiss the appeal for failure to prosecute.
- 74 Effective May 1, 2021