## 1 Rule 34. Award of cCosts.

2	(a) <b>To whom allowed</b> . Costs are awarded only in civil cases. Except as otherwise
3	provided by law <u>or court order:</u> ,
4	(1) if an appeal is dismissed, costs <del>shall<u>must</u> be <u>taxed</u>awarded against for the</del>
5	appell <del>ant<u>ee</u> unless <u>the parties agree</u> otherwise <del>agreed by the parties or ordered</del></del>
6	<del>by the court</del> ;
7	(2) if a judgment or order is affirmed, costs <del>shall<u>must</u> be <del>taxed</del>awarded <del>against</del></del>
8	<u>for the appellantee unless otherwise ordered</u> ;
9	(3) if a judgment or order is reversed, costs <del>shall<u>must</u> be <u>taxedawarded</u> against</del>
10	<u>for</u> the appell <del>ee<u>ant</u> unless otherwise ordered</del> ;
11	(4) if a judgment or order is affirmed or reversed in part, or is vacated, costs shall
12	are awarded only as the court ordersbe allowed as ordered by the court. Costs
13	shall not be allowed or taxed in a criminal case.
14	(b) <b>Costs for and against the <u>s</u>State of Utah</b> . In cases involving the <u>sS</u> tate of Utah or an
15	agency or officer thereof, <u>the court has discretion to</u> an award of <u>award</u> costs for or
16	against the <mark>s</mark> State <del>shall be at the discretion of the court</del> unless specifically required or
17	prohibited by law.
18	(c) Costs of briefs and attachments, record, bonds and other expensesCosts on appeal.
19	The following <u>costs</u> may be <del>taxed as costs<u>awarded</u> in favor of the prevailing party in the</del>
20	appeal:
21	(1) the actual costs of \$3.00 per page of a printed or typewritten brief or
22	memoranda and attachments not to exceed \$3.00 for each page;
23	(2) actual costs incurred in the preparation and transmission of preparing and
24	transmitting the record, including costs of the reporter's transcript unless the
25	<u>court orders</u> otherwise <del>ordered by the court</del> ;

- 26 (3) premiums paid for supersedeas or cost bonds to preserve rights pending
  27 appeal; and
- 28 (4) the fees for filing and docketing the appeal.

29 (d) **Bill of costs taxed** awarded after remittitur. A party claiming costs shallmust, within 30 154 days after the remittitur is filed with the trial court clerk of the trial court, serve 31 upon the adverse party and file with the trial court clerk of the trial court an itemized 32 and verified bill of costs. The adverse party may, within seven<sup>5</sup> days of service of the 33 bill of costs, serve and file a notice of objection, together with a motion to have the trial 34 court award costs taxed by the trial court. If there is no objection to the cost bill within 35 the allotted time, the trial court clerk of the trial court shallmust taxaward the costs as 36 filed and enter judgment for the party entitled thereto, which judgment shallwill be 37 entered in the judgment docket with the same force and effect as in the case of other 38 judgments of record. If the cost bill of the prevailing party is timely opposed, the clerk, 39 upon reasonable notice and hearing, shallmust taxaward the costs and enter a final 40 determination and judgment which shall thereupon be entered in the judgment docket 41 with the same force and effect as in the case of other judgments of record. The clerk's 42 determination of the clerk shall will be reviewable by the trial court upon the request of either party made within <u>seven</u><sup>5</sup> days of the entry of the judgment. 43

(e) Costs in other proceedings and agency appeals. In all other matters before the 44 45 court, including appeals from an agency, costs may be allowed as in cases on appeal 46 from a trial court. Within 154 days after the expiration of the time in which time to file a 47 petition for rehearing may be filed expires or within 154 days after an order denying 48 such a petition, the party to whom costs have been awarded may file with the appellate 49 clerk of the appellate court and serve upon the adverse party an itemized and verified 50 bill of costs. The adverse party may, within seven<sup>5</sup> days after the service of the bill of 51 costs is served, file a notice of objection and a motion to have the costs taxed awarded by 52 the clerk. If no objection to the cost bill is filed within the allotted time, the clerk 53 shallmust thereupon taxaward the costs and enter judgment against the adverse party.

- 54 If the adverse party timely objects to the cost bill, the clerk, upon reasonable notice and
- 55 hearing, shallwill determine and settle the costs, taxaward the same, and a judgment
- 56 shallwill be entered thereon against the adverse party. The clerk's determination by the
- 57 <u>clerk shallwill</u> be reviewable by the court upon <u>either party's the</u> request of either party
- 58 made within <u>seven</u><sup>5</sup> days <del>of the entry of judgment</del><u>after judgment is entered</u>.; <u>U</u>unless
- 59 otherwise ordered, oral argument shallwill not be permitted. A judgment under this
- 60 section paragraph may be filed with the clerk of any district court in the state, who
- 61 shall<u>must</u> docket a certified copy of the same<u>the judgment</u> in the <u>same</u> manner and with
- 62 the same force and effect as <u>district court</u> judgments of the district court.
- 63 *Effective May* 1, 2021.

## 64 Advisory Committee Note

- 65 In an effort to conform with the Supreme Court's directive to use plain language where
- 66 possible, the Court approved changing the term "taxed" to "awarded." No substantive
- 67 <u>change is intended with this amendment.</u>
- 68 <u>Adopted 2021.</u>