Rule 14-705. Admission by motion.

1

2	(a) Reciprocal admission . An Applicant is eligible to be admitted by motion if the Applican
3	meets all the requirements of this rule. Admission by Motion is not a right; the burden of proof is
4	on the Applicant to establish by clear and convincing evidence that she or hethe Applicant:
5	(a)(1) has paid the prescribed nonrefundable fee and filed the required Complete
6	Application as a Motion Applicant;
7	(a)(2) is at least 21 years old;
8	(a)(3) has been admitted by bar examination to practice law before the highest court of a
9	U.S. state, territory or the District of Columbia;
10	(a)(4) holds a First Professional Degree in law from an Approved Law School;
11	(a)(5) has successfully passed the MPRE;
12	(a)(6) has demonstrated that the U.S. state, territory or the District of Columbia that
13	licenses the Applicant reciprocally allows the admission of licensed Utah lawyers under
14	terms and conditions similar to those set forth in this rule;
15	(a)(7) has been Actively licensed and lawfully engaged in the Full-time Practice of Law
16	as defined in Rule 14-701 in the reciprocal jurisdiction(s) where licensed for 60 of the 84
17	months immediately preceding the date of the filing of the application for admission is filed.
18	For purposes of admission purposes under this rule, with the exception of lawyers practicing
19	in Utah with a House Counsel license, any time practicing at an office located in Utah will
20	not be counted as time practicing in a reciprocal jurisdiction;
21	(a)(8) is a member in good standing in all jurisdictions where currently admitted;

22	(a)(9) has a proven record of ethical, civil, and professional behavior and has never been
23	disbarred or resigned with discipline pending, or their equivalent, in any jurisdiction and is
24	not currently subject to lawyer discipline or the subject of a pending disciplinary matter; and
25	(a)(10) is of good moral character and satisfies the requirements of Rule 14-708;
26	_(b) Continuing legal education requirement. All Applicants admitted to practice law
27	pursuant to this rule shall complete and certify no later than six months following the
28	Applicant's admission that she or he has attended at least 15 hours of continuing legal
29	education on Utah practice and procedure and ethics requirements.
30	_(b)(1) The Board may by regulation specify the number of the required 15 hours that must be in
31	particular areas of practice, procedure, and ethics. Included in this mandatory 15 hours is
32	attendance at the Bar's OPC ethics school.
33	(be) <u>Application</u> Form and content of application. The Board may require additional
34	proof of any facts stated in the application. In the event of the failure or the refusal of the If the
3435	proof of any facts stated in the application. In the event of the failure or the refusal of the If the Applicant fails or refuses to furnish any information or proof, or to answer any Board inquiry of
35	Applicant <u>fails or refuses</u> to furnish any information or proof, or to answer any <u>Board</u> inquiry of
35 36	Applicant <u>fails or refuses</u> to furnish any information or proof, or to answer any <u>Board</u> inquiry of the Board pertinent to the pending application, the Board may deny the application without
35 36 37 38	Applicant <u>fails or refuses</u> to furnish any information or proof, or to answer any <u>Board</u> inquiry of the Board pertinent to the pending application, the Board may deny the application without hearing. (cd) Timing of application and admission . An application may be filed at any time but the
35 36 37 38 39	Applicant <u>fails or refuses</u> to furnish any information or proof, or to answer any <u>Board</u> inquiry of the Board pertinent to the pending application, the Board may deny the application without hearing. (cd) Timing of application and admission . An application may be filed at any time but the Applicant must be able to demonstrate that <u>the Applicant she or he</u> satisfies the requirements of
35 36 37 38	Applicant <u>fails or refuses</u> to furnish any information or proof, or to answer any <u>Board</u> inquiry of the Board pertinent to the pending application, the Board may deny the application without hearing. (cd) Timing of application and admission . An application may be filed at any time but the
35 36 37 38 39	Applicant <u>fails or refuses</u> to furnish any information or proof, or to answer any <u>Board</u> inquiry of the Board pertinent to the pending application, the Board may deny the application without hearing. (cd) Timing of application and admission . An application may be filed at any time but the Applicant must be able to demonstrate that <u>the Applicant she or he</u> satisfies the requirements of
35 36 37 38 39 40	Applicant <u>fails or refuses</u> to furnish any information or proof, or to answer any <u>Board</u> inquiry of the Board pertinent to the pending application, the Board may deny the application without hearing. (cd) Timing of application and admission . An application may be filed at any time but the Applicant must be able to demonstrate that <u>the Applicant she or he</u> satisfies the requirements of this rule as of the date the application is filed. Processing of the application and the character and

44	(cd)(2) Upon approval the Applicant must comply with the provisions of Rule 14-716
45	concerning licensing and enrollment fees.
46	(de) Practice pending admission. Only persons who are active, licensed members of the
47	BarBar licensees in good standing may engage in the practice of law in Utah. However, a Motion
48	Applicant with a pending Bar application may be eligible to practice for a limited period upon
49	satisfaction of all of the requirements of Rule 14-809 and receipt of a Practice Pending
50	Admission Certificate.

51

Effective September 1, 2020.