## 1 Rule 4-510.03. Qualification of ADR providers.

- 2 Intent:
- 3 To establish eligibility and qualification requirements for inclusion on the Utah Court Approved ADR
- 4 Roster including additional requirements for designation as a Divorce Roster Mediator, Master Mediator
- 5 and Domestic Mentor.
- 6 Applicability:
- 7 This rule applies in the district court.

## 8 Statement of the Rule:

- 9 (1)To be eligible for the roster, an applicant must:
- 10 (1)(A)submit a written application to the Director setting forth:
- 11 (1)(A)(i) a description of how the applicant meets, or will meet within a reasonable time, the requirements
- 12 specified in paragraph (2)(A), if applicable;
- 13 (1)(A)(ii) the major areas of specialization and experience of the applicant, such as real estate, estates,
- 14 trusts and probate, family law, personal injury or property damage, securities, taxation, civil rights and
- 15 discrimination, consumer claims, construction and building contracts, corporate and business
- 16 organizations, environmental law, labor law, natural resources, business transactions/commercial law,
- 17 administrative law and financial institutions law;
- 18 (1)(A)(iii) the maximum fees the applicant will charge for service as a provider under the ADR program;
- 19 and
- 20 (1)(A)(iv) the judicial districts in which the applicant is offering to provide services and the location and a
- 21 description of the facilities in which the applicant intends to conduct the ADR proceedings;
- 22 (1)(B) agree to complete and annually complete up to six hours of ADR training as required by the
- 23 Judicial Council;
- 24 (1)(C) submit an annual report to the Director indicating the number of mediations and arbitrations the
- 25 ADR provider has conducted that year; and
- 26 (1)(D) be re-qualified annually.
- 27 (2) To be included on the roster as a mediator:
- 28 (2)(A) all new applicants to the court roster must also have successfully completed at least 40 hours of
- 29 court-approved basic formal mediation training in the last three years. This training shall be under a single
- training course from a single, court-approved training provider. The applicant must also complete 10
- 31 hours of experience in observing a court qualified mediator conduct mediation, and 10 hours in either
- 32 conducting mediations singly or co-mediating with a court qualified mediator, or meet such other
- 33 education, training and experience requirements as the Council finds will promote the effective
- 34 administration of the ADR program;
- 35 (2)(B) successfully pass an examination on the Code of Ethics for ADR providers ethical requirements for
- 36 mediators on the Utah Court Roster;
- 37 (2)(C) agree to conduct at least three pro bono mediations each year as referred by the Director; and

- 38 (2)(D) be of good moral character in that the provider has not been convicted of a felony, a misdemeanor
- involving moral turpitude, or any other serious crime, and has not received professional sanctions that,
- 40 when considered in light of the duties and responsibilities of an ADR provider, are determined by the
- 41 Director to indicate that the best interests of the public are not served by including the provider on the
- 42 roster.
- 43 (3) To be included on the court roster for qualified divorce mediators:
- 44 (3)(A) All new applicants to the roster of divorce mediators must also have an additional 32 hours of
- 45 court-approved training specific to the skills, Utah laws, and information needed to conduct divorce
- 46 mediation. This training shall be under a single training course from a single, court-approved provider.
- 47 (3)(B) All applicants must have a minimum of 6 hours of training specific to domestic violence and
- 48 screening for domestic violence which may be included in the court approved 32 hour training referred to49 above.
- 50 (3)(C) New applicants to the court roster of divorce mediators are required to have acquired experience
- 51 specific to divorce mediation. This is in addition to the 20 hours of experience required for the court roster
- 52 of basic mediators. The additional experience includes having observed a minimum of two divorce
- 53 mediations, co-mediating two divorce mediations and having been observed conducting two divorce
- 54 mediations. Each of these includes debriefing and analysis afterward with a mediator who has Domestic
- 55 Mentor status. The Domestic Mentor may charge a fee for this service.
- (3)(D) The Director will maintain and make available a list of those mediators who have Domestic Mentorstatus.
- (4) To be included on the roster as a Master Mediator, the provider must also have completed 300 hoursin conducting mediation sessions.
- 60 (5) To be included on the roster as a Domestic Mentor, the provider must also have completed 300 hours
- 61 in conducting mediation in domestic cases and completed a domestic mentor orientation.
- 62 (6) To be included on the roster as an arbitrator, the provider must also:
- 63 (6)(A) have been a member in good standing of the Utah State Bar for at least ten years, or meet such
- other education, training and experience requirements as the Council finds will promote the effective
- 65 administration of the ADR program;
- 66 (6)(B) be of good moral character in that the provider has not been convicted of a felony, a misdemeanor
- 67 involving moral turpitude, or any other serious crime, and has not received professional sanctions that,
- 68 when considered with the duties and responsibilities of an ADR provider are determined by the Director to
- 69 indicate that the best interests of the public are not served by including the provider on the roster; and
- 70 (6)(C) agree to conduct at least one pro bono arbitration each year as referred by the Director.
- 71 (7) To be re-qualified as a mediator, the provider must, unless waived by the Director for good cause,
- 72 demonstrate that the provider has conducted at least six mediation sessions or conducted 24 hours of
- 73 mediation during the previous year.

- (8) To be re-qualified as an arbitrator, the provider must, unless waived by the Director for good cause,
- 75 demonstrate that the provider has conducted at least three arbitration sessions or conducted 12 hours of
- 76 arbitration during the previous year.
- (9) A provider may be sanctioned for failure to comply with the code of ethics for ADR providers as
- adopted by the Supreme Court or for failure to meet the requirements of this rule or state statute. The
- committee shall inform the public of public sanctions against a provider promptly after imposing the
- 80 sanction.
- 81 (9)A) Public sanctions may include singly or with other sanctions:
- 82 a written warning and requirement to attend additional training;
- 83 (9)(A)(i) require the mediator to allow the Director or designee to observe a set number of mediation
- 84 sessions conducted by the mediator;
- 85 (9)(A)(ii) suspension for a period of time from the court roster; and
- 86 (9)(A)(iii) removal from the court roster.
- 87 (9)(B) Private sanctions may include singly or with other sanctions:
- 88 (9)(B)(i) admonition;
- 89 (9)(B)(ii) re-take and successfully pass the ADR ethical exam.
- 90 (10) The committee shall approve and publish procedures consistent with this rule to be used in imposing
- 91 the sanction. The complainant shall file a written and signed complaint with the director. The director shall
- 92 notify the provider in writing of the complaint and provide an opportunity to respond. The director may
- 93 interview the complainant, the provider and any parties involved. Upon consideration of all factors, the
- 94 director may impose a sanction and notify the complainant and the provider. If the provider seeks to
- challenge the sanction, the provider must notify the director within 10 days of receipt of the notification.
- 96 The provider may request reconsideration by the director or a hearing by the Judicial Council's ad hoc
- 97 committee on ADR. The decision of the committee is final.
- 98
- 99 Effective November 1, 2018