Rule 14-806. Admission pro hac vice.

- 2 (a) An attorney who is not a member of the Bar but who is admitted to practice law
- 3 in another state or in any court of the United States or territory or insular
- 4 possession of the United States shall apply to be admitted pro hac vice in
- 5 accordance with this rule prior to appearing as counsel in a court of record or not
- 6 of record.

1

- 7 (b) Nonresident counsel may be permitted to appear in a particular case if the court
- 8 in which the case is pending determines that admission pro hac vice will serve the
- 9 interests of the parties and the efficient and just administration of the case.
- 10 Resident counsel may be permitted only if he or she has received a Practice
- 11 Pending Admission Certificate. Admission pro hac vice under this rule is
- discretionary with the court in which the application for admission is made.
- Admission pro hac vice may be revoked by the court upon its own motion or the
- motion of a party if, after notice and a hearing, the court determines that admission
- pro hac vice is inappropriate. Admission pro hac vice shall be denied or, if granted,
- shall be revoked if the court determines that the process is being used to
- 17 circumvent the normal requirements for the admission of attorneys to the practice
- 18 of law in Utah.
- 19 (c) In determining whether to enter or revoke the order of admission pro hac vice,
- the court may consider any relevant information, including whether non-resident
- 21 counsel:
- 22 (c)(1) is familiar with Utah rules of evidence and procedure, including applicable
- 23 local rules;
- 24 (c)(2) is available to opposing parties;
- 25 (c)(3) has particular familiarity with the legal affairs of the party relevant to the case;
- 26 (c)(4) complies with the rulings and orders of the court;

- 27 (c)(5) has caused delay or been disruptive; and
- 28 (c)(6) has been disciplined in any other jurisdiction within the prior 5 years.
- 29 (d) The attorney seeking admission pro hac vice shall complete under oath and
- 30 submit to the Bar an application form available from the Utah State Bar or court
- 31 clerks' office-. The applicant shall attach to the application form a Certificate of
- 32 Good Standing from the licensing state in which the applicant resides. The
- 33 applicant shall complete a separate application for each case in which the
- 34 applicant wants to appear. The fee for each application is \$250, which shall be
- paid to the Utah State Bar. Fees paid under this rule shall be used for attorney
- discipline investigations and proceedings. The following are exempt from the fee:
- 37 (d)(1) attorneys who are employees of and representing the United States of
- 38 America or any of its departments or agencies; and
- 39 (d)(2) attorneys representing indigent clients on a pro bono basis.
- 40 (e) A copy of the application and a receipt showing payment of the fee shall be
- 41 filed in the court in which the case is pending, with a motion by a member of the
- Bar to admit the applicant pro hac vice and a consent by that member of the Bar
- to appear as associate counsel. Associate counsel shall be a resident of Utah. The
- 44 application form shall include:
- 45 (e)(1) the name, address, telephone number, fax number, e-mail address, bar
- identification number(s), and state(s) of admission of the applicant;
- 47 (e)(2) the name and number of the case in which the applicant is seeking to appear
- 48 as the attorney of record or, if the case has not yet been filed, a description of the
- 49 parties;
- (e)(3) the name, number, and court of other cases pending or closed within the
- 51 prior five years in any state or federal court of Utah in which the applicant or a
- member of the applicant's firm appears pro hac vice;

- (e)(4) a statement whether, in any state, the applicant:
- 54 (e)(4)(A) is currently suspended or disbarred from the practice of law;
- (e)(4)(B) has been disciplined within the prior five years; or
- 56 (e)(4)(C) is the subject of any pending disciplinary proceedings;
- (e)(5) a statement that the applicant:
- (e)(5)(A) submits to the disciplinary authority and procedures of the Bar;
- (e)(5)(B) is familiar with the rules of procedure and evidence, including applicable
- 60 local rules;
- (e)(5)(C) will be available for depositions, hearings, and conferences; and
- 62 (e)(5)(D) will comply with the rulings and orders of the court;
- 63 (e)(6) the name, address, Bar identification number, telephone number, fax
- of number, and e-mail address of the member of the Utah State Bar to serve as
- associate counsel;
- 66 (e)(7) for resident counsel only, a copy of the Practice Pending Admission
- 67 Certificate; and
- (e)(87) any other information relevant to the standards for the admission of the
- 69 applicant.
- 70 (f) Utah counsel associated with nonresident or resident counsel seeking
- admission pro hac vice shall:
- 72 (f)(1) file a motion for admission of the applicant pro hac vice;
- 73 (f)(2) serve the motion by mail, hand-delivery or facsimile on the Utah State Bar's
- 74 general counsel on or before filing with the court and include a certificate of service

- with the motion evidencing service on the Bar's general counsel and upon the
- opposing parties, or, if represented, their counsel;
- 77 (f)(3) file a written consent to appear as associate counsel;
- 78 (f)(4) sign the first pleading filed;
- 79 (f)(5) continue as one of the counsel of record in the case unless another member
- of the Bar is substituted as associate counsel; and
- 81 (f)(6) be available to opposing counsel and the court for communication regarding
- the case and the service of papers.
- 83 (g) The court may require Utah counsel to appear at all hearings. Utah counsel
- shall have the responsibility and authority to act for the client in all proceedings if
- the nonresident attorney fails to appear or fails to respond to any order of the court.
- 86 (h) An attorney admitted pro hac vice shall comply with and is subject to Utah
- statutes, rules of the Supreme Court, including the Rules of Professional Conduct
- and Article 5, Lawyer Discipline and Disability, the rules of the court in which the
- 89 attorney appears, and the rules of the Code of Judicial Administration.
- 90 Effective May 1, 2018