
Rule 14-705 

Rule 14-705. Admission by Motion. 1 

(a) Reciprocal admission. An Applicant is eligible to be admitted by motion if the 2 

Applicant meets all the requirements of this rule. Admission by Motion is not a right; the 3 

burden of proof is on the Applicant to establish by clear and convincing evidence that she 4 

or he: 5 

(a)(1) has paid the prescribed nonrefundable fee and filed the required Complete 6 

Application as a Motion Applicant; 7 

(a)(2) is at least 21 years old; 8 

(a)(3) has been admitted by bar examination to practice law before the highest court of a 9 

U.S. state, territory or the District of Columbia; 10 

(a)(4) holds a First Professional Degree in law from an Approved Law School; 11 

(a)(5) has successfully passed the MPRE; 12 

(a)(6) has demonstrated that the U.S. state, territory or the District of Columbia that licenses 13 

the Applicant reciprocally allows the admission of licensed Utah lawyers under terms and 14 

conditions similar to those set forth in this rule; 15 

(a)(7) has been Actively licensed and lawfully engaged in the Full-time Practice of Law as 16 

defined in Rule 14-701(b), (t) and (ff) in the reciprocal jurisdiction(s) where licensed for 17 

60 of the 84 months immediately preceding the date of the filing of the application for 18 

admission. For purposes of admission under this rule, any time practicing at an office 19 

located in Utah will not be counted as time practicing in a reciprocal jurisdiction; 20 

(a)(8) is a member in good standing in all jurisdictions where currently admitted; 21 

(a)(9) has a proven record of ethical, civil, and professional behavior and has never been 22 

disbarred or resigned with discipline pending, or their equivalent, in any jurisdiction and is 23 

not currently subject to lawyer discipline or the subject of a pending disciplinary matter; 24 



Rule 14-705 

(a)(10) is of good moral character and satisfies the requirements of Rule 14-708;  25 

(b) Continuing legal education requirement. All Applicants admitted to practice law 26 

pursuant to this rule shall complete and certify no later than six months following the 27 

Applicant's admission that she or he has attended at least 15 hours of continuing legal 28 

education on Utah practice and procedure and ethics requirements.  29 

(b)(1) The Board may by regulation specify the number of the required 15 hours that must 30 

be in particular areas of practice, procedure, and ethics. Included in this mandatory 15 hours 31 

is attendance at the Bar's OPC ethics school.  32 

 (c) Form and content of application. The Board may require additional proof of any facts 33 

stated in the application. In the event of the failure or the refusal of the Applicant to furnish 34 

any information or proof, or to answer any inquiry of the Board pertinent to the pending 35 

application, the Board may deny the application without hearing.  36 

(d) Timing of application and admission. An application may be filed at any time but the 37 

Applicant must be able to demonstrate that she or he satisfies the requirements of this rule 38 

as of the date the application is filed. Processing of the application and the character and 39 

fitness investigation require a minimum of four months to complete. 40 

(d)(1) An Applicant not eligible for admission pursuant to this rule may qualify for 41 

admission as an Attorney Applicant pursuant to Rule 14-704. 42 

(d)(2) Upon approval the Applicant must comply with the provisions of Rule 14-716 43 

concerning licensing and enrollment fees. 44 

(e) Only persons who are active, licensed members of the Bar in good standing may 45 

engage in the practice of law in Utah. However, a Motion Applicant with a pending Bar 46 

application may be eligible to practice for a limited period upon satisfaction of all of the 47 

requirements of Rule 14-809 and receipt of a Practice Pending Admission Certificate. 48 

Effective May 1, 2018 49 
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